It's Sunday

0 8
Avatar for lJWSM
Written by
3 years ago

"Every story deserves to be accounted. Every person is composed of different purposes. Lucky are those who see goodness in all situations they encountered." - a priest said

It was sunday and I was guided by the word of God again. Same routine -after attending mass, work again. Being a construction worker is not that easy, we work 8hours a day, 7 days a week and only gain salary not until the contract has elapsed. What should I expect? I'm only high school graduate and I don't have the capacity to apply on a big company. But believe me, when I was a child, I also dream to become a boss of a big and well-known company. However, life is truly hard especially for us who belongs in the poorest among poor family. Honestly, I really dream to go to school and study before, but our finances really can't afford to send us in a university knowing the fact that we only eat twice or sometimes once a day. It is like we're on a diet everyday. People may think I'm lazy for I haven't done anything to improve our status in life but honestly I did everything, I gave my best just to continue my studies. I even applied in different scholarships, I also became a working student before but the real hindrance to me is that I don't get any support from my parents. Being a scholar at the same time working student does not fully satisfy your studies, still, it requires extra money and extra motivation for you to continue, but both cannot provide by my parents the reason why I was force to stop schooling and at my young age I was force to find a job and help feed my family. Hence, from that experiences of mine, I promise to myself that I won't let my children experience the same. I promise to provide everything they need and promise to support them in all activities they want to participate with.

Going back to reality, I was working at the moment when I felt a pain in my chest and I can't breath. But ofcourse as a good worker, I hide everything I felt for I was scared that maybe I lost my job if they knew about it. After work, I immediately went home and felt so blessed when my son and daughter welcome me with a very tight hug. I felt so relief, whereas my tiredness gone quick. Now while eating, Jannah (my daughter) said "Ma, Pa there will be a seminar for our course next week, I would like to attend."

"Ask your father. I don't have money" - my wife said

"Is it required?" - I asked

"No pa but I want to attend. All my classmates will be attending, it's so sad if I'm the only one who's not going" - Jannah's response

"How much do you need? And when will be the deadline?" - I replied

"5,000 all in all pa, tomorrow will be the deadline. Please pa, I really like to join" - Jannah said

"Okay. I'm going to make a way" - I confidently stated

"Thank you so much papa" - her ending statement

On the next day at work, I talk to one of my colleagues

"bro do you have P5,000?" - I asked

"I still have, why?" - he replied

"Can I borrow it? Promise I'll pay for it nextweek when we get our salary" - I said

"Okay but make sure to pay for it on 15, you know even I'm single I also need money bro" - he responded

"Yes, I promise. Thank you bro" - I answered back as he gave the money I borrowed.

Then, I immediately gave the money to my daughter and go back to work again. Afterwards, I texted my wife that this week I will go home late because every after work we need to meet our boss. But the real thing is that I need to sell balut at night for me to be able to return the money I borrowed. It is because my 15th day salary cannot totally paid the P5000 I borrowed for the reason that we only get P290 per day being a construction worker. And if I only rely for that money I don't have anything left for my family needs. Thus, I need to double my effort and workhard for my debt and for our daily needs.

The next day during our breakfast:

"Fish again? Ma, pa aren't you going to buy other kind of viand? I lost my appetite eating the same food everyday. Nothings new. Tsk" - Jannah said and walked out

"Yes pa, can we eat other food except for fish?" - my son added

"No worry nak, if I got my salary I'll buy some meat" - I responded

"That's what I'm saying! If you only send me to school before and if you don't marry me at a very young age, I think I would have a better life today. I should not be suffering, eversince in my life, I never dream to have this kind of family" - my wife said to me as she walked out also

Right after hearing all those words, I felt a pain in my chest again and I cannot breath but still I manage to go to work and think positive. 'Everything will be alright' - this phrase became my motivation everytime I felt distress.

Now on this 15th day of the month, we already got our salary and ofcourse I already paid my debt. And like what I said, I buy some meat. As expected, no more money left for me. Now, my problem is what I am going to used for our daily living and how can I explain this to my wife. So, like what I used to do after work I sell balut every night, this is for me to have something to give for my family though no one in my family knows what I am doing. I still remember one night while selling balut, I saw my daughter Jannah with her friends. And I hide so that they would not notice me. Then, I saw them enter in jollibee, from outside I can see how happy she is having fun with all her rich friends. There I realized that my daughters life today was totally different from my experience before. Hence, I felt so happy seeing her laugh and enjoy her life.

When I went home I saw my daughter again. She hugged me and asked for a favor "Pa, my friends has their own phone. Can I have one too?"

"Nak you know we're not as rich as they are, we cannot afford to buy things like they have" - I replied

Jannah cried and walked away again. As a father, I also felt sad knowing the fact that I cannot provide what she want. Thus, I continue my routine, construction worker in the morning, balut vendor in the evening.

"Pa, your daughter's 16th birthday was coming. What's your plan? She's asking for a simple celebration" - my wife told me

"Ma you know we don't have money. But don't worry ma, I'll try my best to make our daughter's birthday a happiest one" - I firmly said

"Pa sorry to tell you this but I really got disappointed not only unto you but also in myself. When I was young I told myself that I will not just stick to become a housewife nor a maid of anybody else. But see me now, because of your underlying promises that I believe and never been accomplished my dream life was fade away. You promise to provide all your childrens needs, you promise to feed us properly, you promise to make our life the same as your life before, but what's now pa? What's now?" - my wife disgustedly said

I don't know what to say, I don't know what to do instead I just walked away and just go to the work. There I talked with my colleague again

"Bro let me borrow 5,000 again please. I just really need money for my daughters upcoming birthday celebration" - I said

"Why do you need to have bonggacious celebration bro? Remember, we're not billionaires nor high salary earners, instead we're just a professional construction worker, who got paid with a minimum wage per day, so why do you need to aim for a bonggacious celebration? Also we're not born rich, so I think simple birthday celebration is enough and you're daughter must understand that. Anyway, I'm so sorry bro, I cannot lend you money for now because I also need it for my medication." - my colleage responded

"Its okay bro. By the way, I just hope to give my daughter a memorable birthday celebration so that at least once I was able to fulfill my promise to them and at least once they will became proud of me. How I wish one day they'll recognize how much I've done effort just to make them happy. But ofcourse if I really can't give it, I don't have any choice but to say sorry coz I don't made it. However this time I just wanna do everything to pursue her dream birthday, even if its impossible I want to make it possible." - I replied as I cough so hard

"You're such a great father of all time. How lucky is your wife and your childrens to have you as the father of their family. I salute you bro. God bless" - He sincerely said to me

"Thank you bro" - I said and cough so hard again

"What's with that cough bro? It's not ordinary, it seems so serious and severe, try to visit doctors sometimes. - he suggested genuinely

"No, it's nothing I just drink ice water earlier that's why" - I answered

"Do you think I'm going to believe? Hahaha But don't worry I know you need money so I won't tell it to anyone. Get well soon bro" - he stated as he slowly disappeared in my sight

And since I don't have money and I promise to my wife that I will give my daughter a happiest birthday celebration, I continue my routine which is to became a construction worker in the morning and at night a balut vendor. Though chest pain and unstable breathing continuously attacking my whole body system, I still continue my regular habits. This is for me to fulfill my promises and of course to provide my family's needs.

As the sun and moon exchangeably guides my every day, after a month of hardship I was able to earn money which exactly fulfill my daughter's favor on me. And now its sunday and today is my daughter's 16th birthday. Thus, I made it. A great birthday celebration were all settled and at 5pm everything will start but ofcourse I will be late for I still have my work.

In our workplace, a long curved smile I gave to every workers I meet. It is so obvious in me that I was so excited to finished my task today for I can't wait to see how happy my daughters celebrating her sweet 16th birthday. At the same time I'm so excited to give her my birthday gift - her long time wish (cellphone). I can't wait to see her wearing her biggest and grandest smile this evening.

Now after that long exhausting day I was able to go home. Yet while walking my chest pain so hard, I can't totally breath and eveything went black.

The next thing I knew I was standing in front of my body, lying in a white bed and surrounded by my family.

"Your husband is suffering a severe lung cancer because of dyspnea. It looks like his been suffering on it for so long and he never been medicated the reason why it easily weaken his whole body system" -doctor said

I don't know what's exactly happening but I just saw all my family crying and my colleague (the one that lend me money before) gave my birthday gift to my daughter that made her cried even more. Wherefore, in the wind I said "SORRY IF I'M NOT A PERFECT FATHER"

And the last thing I knew, the doctor said "time of death July 11, 1959, Sunday, 11:59PM" then everything fades away as I heard my daughter saying "Nooooooo. Paaaaa Nooooooooo. My father was not dead. Paaaaa Papa wake up, papa wake up please. Papa I dont need phone, I need you. Papa please wake up. Papa you haven't dance me for my birthday yet. Papa this is not a birthday gift I wish. Papa wake up please. Papa you're all I need"

Authors POV

True love really exist, not from the other people around us but from the one who's always there for us. Its our family who truly cares and loves us. Thus, we should BE THEIR STRENGTH and NOT TO BE THEIR WEAKNESSES. WE SHOULD APPRECIATE ALL THEIR DEEDS and NOT TO ABUSE THEM. Always remember you've been love from the first day you've came to this Earth. Whereas, like number 5 in the 10 commandment says always "honor thy father and thy mother". God bless readers.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for lJWSM
Written by
3 years ago

Comments