Living with Music

4 45
Avatar for kthrsys
8 months ago

Ever since I took the lonesome path to self-rediscovery, one of the things I've gone back to is music. It has been one of my friends - and enemies - ever since my younger years. My mom used to blast all kinds of music during our car rides, and of course, we'd sing along to her favorites.

I stopped dabbling with it for a time as life got a bit more hectic and somehow, my music tastes narrowed down to what people around me liked. Don't get me wrong, though. Enjoying what they liked made me happy. However, I didn't have the chance to share what I liked. Didn't know having/not having people to listen to what you're listening to could affect you as well!

Now that I have most of my time for myself, I'm free to find music that suits my taste. I'm also free to put tracks on repeat, so it's also nice. There are also times when I listen to whatever my brother puts on speakers when I'm tired of listening to my usual music.

My curiosity about music production is also growing in proportion to the amount of music I'm exposing myself to. The only thing stopping me is not knowing where to start. My brain might combust if I try to squeeze too much of everything in here!

One more thing that struck me when dealing with music these days is how easily affected I can be with them. Love how my mood brightens up through anything upbeat. Hate it when I start crying to a very emotional song. This effect is a blessing and a curse because my energy could end up somewhere unplanned! Funny how music can be the boon and bane of my overall disposition.

Playing instruments have become one of my sources of entertainment too. I'm starting to have callouses on my fingertips again and I hope I don't start picking on them! For now, most of my ruckus happens during nighttime because those are the times when I'm usually awake. I sing along to my strums and it's comforting to be your only audience. But there are moments when I growl at myself for not hitting the notes right! I am my worst critic.

No matter how long I may seem to be apart from it, music has been, and will always be part of my life. It has been one of the things I have been living for these days. What's your relationship with music?

Banner created via Canva. Background image from Joseph Humphrey from Pexels.

2
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for kthrsys
8 months ago

Comments

Di na ako nakakapag play ng musical instrument but music's always been there. Nakakamiss din tumugtog but I don't have time for it yet.

Most of the time I listen to whatever's new then skip if di ko bet. Lately, I'm into upbeat music, para sipagin.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

So imbis na tumugtog ka, tumu-tugstugstugs ka na lang ngayon?

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Image source? You should add image source for each article you share, Thank you!

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Updated my article. Still unsure why can't I attach links to them! Can I reshare to the community?

$ 0.00
8 months ago