First Day of Online Class

35 41
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
3 years ago

Exhausting.

If one word will describe my first day, 'exhausting' would be the perfect term for it.

I admit that I underestimated the online classes. I thought this is easier than face to face education because you're in the comfort of your own house. But I was wrong. We've faced different technical difficulties while performing the test run. Some of us lost their connections, encountered problems with their device compatibility, faulty computer hardware, and even power outage.

Several hours of screen time is not good for our health. Yesterday, we managed to face the computer screen for almost the whole day; starting from 8 am in the morning to 6 pm in the evening. After the class, some of us reported headaches and eye pain.

Our university allotted one-hour asynchronous learning for every subject. Meaning, for between two subjects, there will be a one hour 'vacant' time for us to study off-screen. But I think these 'vacant' hours will not be fulfilled in its original intention. Let's keep in mind that we are 21st-century learners. We use different devices to learn. So, using a mobile phone or computer is inevitable.

Another problem is staying focus. There are different distractions in our home. Since we are online, we are more vulnerable to it. Let say Facebook Messenger for instance. My classmates keep on messaging about random things about our class. As a student who has access to the internet, I can receive the notifications. I can't uninstall it because I also need to keep myself updated.

I am the kind of person who has a short attention span, and because of that, an online class is challenging for me. After several minutes of just watching and listening to my teacher on the screen makes me bored. My yesterday's experience proves it. I tried so hard to keep myself thinking that I need to absorb all the information that my mentor saying.

My first day is indeed exhausting. Maybe I am just adjusting to the situation. Maybe in the next two weeks, we will be used to it. Who knows? Only time can tell.


17
$ 0.00
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Students will face different challenges with online classes. The internet connection in our country is the first thing to give attention to. Good for you if you have a stable internet connection, but I pity those kids who can barely connect to the internet because of financial matters they can't even afford a decent gadget to be used on their online classes.

My sister who's in third grade have their dry run a week ago and it's quite hard because she doesn't have her module yet, she's pissed about not being able to catch up with the activities and there's a lot of distractions too.

I know I can't understand the hardship you're going through with regards to online learning. But stay positive πŸ’•

I hope this article helps: https://www.jw.org/en/bible-teachings/teenagers/ask/distance-learning/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Some of my classmates are also experiencing the same thing. My friend is using mobile data for her online class. In just one hour, her load expired. Imagine we have 4 classes per day and it will cost her P200 per day. The academic freeze should be implemented right now.

Anyways, I read the link you commented. That will surely help. Thank you! ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no! It costs more to learn at home than going to school πŸ˜₯ I feel bad for those students.

As much as we would love to ask for academic freeze, it still depends on the people in charge or with authority whether to implement it or not. Teachers can only follow the instructions of the higher ups.

Anyways, are you in high school or in college? I'm glad that you find the article helpful πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm on my last year on senior high school and I am expecting that there will be more challenges and hurdles along the way. Hays my goal is to have an honor this year. I hope I can reach that. Wish me luck :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. You're still young. I'm sure that this year will be full of challenges. I've seen my sister undergo a lot of challenges with school matters such as sleepless nights and many more but was able to survive. I'm sure you can too! And just looking at how you write and share your thoughts and perspective here, there's no doubt that you can definitely graduate with flying colors!

I don't want to wish you luck because, I don't believe that life should depend on luck but I hope that God will bless all your efforts πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't want to wish you luck because, I don't believe that life should depend on luck but I hope that God will bless all your efforts πŸ’•

Thank you so much! 😭❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome andI hope you succeed in everything you do πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hihihi It's just for fun not for study 🀣😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Subscribe done back me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol sorry,these online classes aren't easy for anyone Can't wait for this pandemic to be over so classes will go back to normal

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck to your first day of your class. Don't get bored. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes this is boring and not so effective... in my last class i fell asleep..after some time i woke up and leaving the class i went to sleep again 😐(camera was always off😌) so this is my condition... n as far I've come to know many are doing this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah i get this enough. I have 2 sisters that are now constantly in front of a computer screen and it is not at all healthy given the blue light radiation. They're both already wearing glasses. It will only make it worse. But besides that, the electric bill suddenly skyrocketed when the bills from thw mecq wasn't even fully paid yet. Plus they get too many activities. More than they would get with physical classes. It's unfair for them to have to learn it themselves because their references aren't enough for that. And it's sad because not every parent will know how to help their kids in the lectures they won't understand. My sisters are lucky enough i used to tutor so i can tech them but what about the others? This academic push is making the students depressed. More so than when they had physical classes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tsaka naisip ko pano kaya yung mga students na skills related strand yung kinuha like TVL. Di naman pwedeng ituro sa kanila yun ng thru internet lang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, and hindi din pwede gawin sa bahay kasi baka gumiba pa yung bahay nila sa ginagawa nila + the safety hazard talaga ng kasama nila. Idk baka ipagantay nila yung lab nila, puro theory lang kaso mas mahirap pag ganun kasi di mo sure yung inaaral mo. Hindi din naman pwedeng memorize lang kasi iba pa rin yung muscle memory

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will be a challenging year for us :(( I am aiming for honor this school year but it seems that it will be too difficult to achieve. But yeah I will persevere. Wish me luck haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Imma pray for you ;;-;; i hope you get honors and i hope this year goes smoothly. You'll just need to make a lot of adjustments and sana talaga the profs you have cooperate din. No need to make it harder on the students

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't understand anything when I take online classes. I don't like online classes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hays yeah me too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

✌✌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like online classes. Subscribe back plz

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ughhh wait for next days, it'll be harder, but you can adjust. At least take some rest from time to time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:(( Hays kinakabahan ako haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya mo yanπŸ€— wala namn ibang choice kundi kayanin diba? Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bakit kasi need pa epush ang online class, di ba pwdng next year nalang, or hanggang sa umunti sana ang cases ng covid sa atin, bukod sa pagtitig ng matagal sa computer na maaring makasa sa mata i mean 10 hours yon, kahit pa mayroon kayong break time masama pa din yun, baka lahat kayo mga mapupula na ang mata, maghapong nakaupo lang, ang sakit non sa binti malamang o Kaya sa pwet, tapos sa likod pa, tapos ang laki din nga gastos sa internet connection palang 😩😩 hayys awan πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo lahat po ng sinabi nyo totoo. Nakakapagod po talaga sya kahit nakaupo ka lang sa harap ng screen. Yung likod at mata namin sobrang sakit after ng class. Kinakabahan nga po si mama na baka umabot sa 5k kuryente namin kasi araw araw kaming may klase. Di ko rin po maintindihan kung bat ayaw nilang sa susunod na taon nalang yung klase :((

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hayysss, si naman mawawala ang edukasyon bakit di nalang next year, 1 month kayong ganyan malamang aabot nga 5k yan, bukod pa sa connection, maaari na kaung magkasakit sa ganyan tapos magagastusan pa kayu ng sobra, kawawa naman ung iba na walang wala talaga 😩😩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't really think online class will be effective for students to learn...i have a student here at home that having online classes..but instead of listening, she's playing her phone... lol.. how can a student learn from that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My younger sibling is also addicted to mobile games. We are worrying if his class starts, he may not take it seriously. Hays. I am still hoping for an academic freeze.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If I where the teacher, i will really required the students full face appearance on screen. And i would interact to the students, not only reciting the lesson... because as what I've observed, it optional to open the cam of the student, so the tendency is, they don't focus on the discussion..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really!!! I don't like this online class..I think there is too many lack in online class. For being A proper graduated person online class isn't sufficient. Practical teaching is necessary here!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right. Our education department keeps on pushing this new normal education πŸ™ Many students are struggling right now. They should implement academic freeze now!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah!!!You are absolutely right dear!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago