The Lenten Season

0 9
Avatar for kinchai
2 years ago
Topics: Life

So its the middle of the Lenten Season and next week is already the Holy Week. I am always awed by people who change face whenever the Lenten Season arrives. They tend to be more giving and try at the very least to be better people, well, just because it is Lent.

The Lenten Season is a time for prayer, fasting and alms giving.

The money we save from our fasting is thought to be given to the poor. Our parish has provided parishioners with "Lenten Bags" so as to allow them the chance to really "save their money" This will be given to the church for its pastoral and social action programs. It is such a wonderful pleasure to see people giving as much as they can to this cause. As I said, this is the time when people are more generous of their treasures and even talents for the church and the poor.

However little they, we are able to give, when joined together becomes large, and large enough to accommodate the programs that it will be provided for.

I have never imagined my life will be filled with church responsibilities and activities. But here is where God decided to put me. And this Lenten season, I am reminded more and more of why I am here and why I agreed to be here.

I thank the Lord always for the gift of service and of people who have become an important fixture in my life. I pray that God continues to give us the heart for service and continue to let the fire in our hearts grow and may we learn to trust each other even more.

1
$ 0.44
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments