On Writing and Writer's Block

1 103
Avatar for kinchai
2 years ago

I have been writing all my life, from high school to elementary and even on to College, although my course wasn't about writing. My mom wouldn't let me take up that course...

Anyways, I have written for fun and have written for pay. Writing for pay burned out my creativity and so it has become an effort to write something just for fun. Yes. Imagine that. So, I call that writer's block. When I look at blank page, both online and offline, things start to tick off in my head on what I need or want to write, but when I see them on screen or on paper. I tend to click select all and delete or if on paper, crumple the darned thing. I feel that the work is so subpar, it makes my eyes water. I cannot find the flowery words no more.

But these days, during the pandemic and the lock downs when no one is allowed to go out I realized that writing has been my avenue to vent out all my frustrations and so I write. Mundane, senseless things. Even grammatically wrong passages. I just write and write and write. Well, eh... type and type and type. Just to let all the steam out, let all the energy out, bad or good vibes. I just type it all out. Whatever comes into my mind I type and get to read. Then I become my own editor, correcting out those that needed them. After I've spent my time writing all those mundane, "silly" stuff. I begin to write out the more "serious" writing. If I need to write a story or an article, if I finish a paragraph. I'm happy. At least there is progress in my writing.

Unlike when I push myself to write out what I need to write and just end up deleting or crumpling paper. Allowing myself the chance to vent off and let off steam. I find myself becoming more productive and I am able to write what I need to after giving myself the space.

If I'm all written out (ha! is that a term?) I read books, both fiction and non-fiction again to refresh my creative juices and allow my mind to roam around words and then I can write some more. I find myself being able to complete a whole story or an entire article (like this one!)

I hope that this continue to help me and maybe help others too. When our mind seems to go out on its own chaos and won't allow us to focus on what needs to be written. Let it go and allow it that opportunity. You will be healthier for it. I know I am. ^_^

0
$ 1.31
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for kinchai
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for providing this important information. I'll put it to use the next time I write an essay, but for the time being, I'll rely on writing services. According to an article https://www.tmcnet.com/topics/articles/2022/02/24/451626-best-essay-writing-services-2021-everything-should-know.htm I read, this is the most effective method of achieving flawless scores.

$ 0.00
1 year ago