Caving, Diving and Jumping in Sohoton Cove

11 37
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

It's been a week since my last post here on Read about my caving adventures in Sohoton. I have shared the fun I experienced with the twin caves, and now, I'll be sharing another caving adventure in Sohoton Cove. I intentionally separate these two caves from the other two since they gave me a different level of excitement and fun. It involves rock climbing, diving, and cliff jumping.

En Route to Sohoton Cove

Before entering Sohoton Cove, we enlisted at the tourist registration area of Sohoton Cove. After the registration, we grouped into eight and seven with one guide and two boatmen. Each of us had a helmet and life vest.

While heading to the secret cove, there were islets everywhere covered by trees. It's like Sohoton is a gigantic maze of nature. Also, the water was serene and clear. Because of the lush green islets, for the most part, the color of the water is emerald green.

After 15-minutes of a boat ride, we reached the sole passageway of the secret cove, accessible only during low tide or when the high tide subsides. The cave has a very low ceiling with stalactites that we need to duck in as we enter the cavern. The boatman slowed down and there was no way that we can take pictures in a sitting position while in a cave of 60-meter in length.

HAGUKAN CAVE

Hagukan Cave is labeled as a snoring luminescent cave. The cave's namesake comes from the Cebuano word "Haguk", which means snore. The narrow opening of the cave produces a snoring sound, specifically during a certain period of the tide's regression. As the waves of the tide subside and a splash hits the cavern's ceiling, the air from the cavern rushes out in sync with the waves producing a snoring sound.

During low tide, the entrance is visible where you can go swim into the cave and witness the luminescent water as you keep on splashing. The ceiling is full of stalagmites making the water cold. However, when the water is still not at its lowest, you need to dive and hold your breath for about ten seconds to reach the inside.

Our tour guide led the way into the cave. We were instructed to neither move our legs nor our arms. All we did was hold our breath. My batchmate in ROTC, the husband of my high school classmate, came out of the cave and told me not to enter since I am also asthmatic. He lasted for a few seconds only and instructed the guide to steer him out of the cave. His face was beet red while he was grasping for air. The guide warned me, but I insisted on going in.

I was the last person to enter the cave and had to inhale as much as I can before the guide held the back of my neck. He pushed me as he dived deeper into the cave.

The inside was considerably dark. Our guide instructed us to start splashing. We kept splashing like little kiddos playing around, and then the water started glowing in an electric-blue color. The water was so refreshingly cold, but the area had provided thin air. I was sweating and got tired of the fun splashing.

At the center, there's a big rock where I stood on top of it and rested for a few minutes. Because of the cold water, my leg muscles began stiffening, so I decided to go out and asked our tour guide to lead me out of the cave.

MAGKUKUOB CAVE

From Hagukan Cave, it was another 15-minute boat ride until we arrived at the second cave destination, the Magkukuob Cave. Before jumping off into the water, our tour guide warned us those who will enter the cave would have their way out through cliff jumping. We were not allowed to wear a life vest, only a helmet.

At that time, the water was still high. The tour guide instructed us to form one line and put our arms on the shoulders in front of us. The water became deeper and deeper as we walked like a train at a slow pace. The water reached my forehead, and I had to hold my breath again for about ten seconds.

When we reached the part of the cave with big rocks, our guide flashed the light to the ceiling. It was pitch-black with bats. The only light was from the narrow exit above filled with stalactites and stalagmites. We had to climb our way out of the cave. It was steep, slippery, and dark. Our guide had to flash the light so we can see the rocks.

After exiting the cave, we went down another steep pathway to the wooden jumping board. It was a 16-feet high jumping board and the water was around 80-90 feet deep. While waiting for the others to jump, we enjoyed swimming in the lagoon. I dared myself not to wear a life vest knowing how deep the water was.

Compared to the previous twin caves we visited, the caving adventures we had were more fun and thrilling. The fun adventures never stops when we were instructed again to ride on a two-man capacity paddle boat upon arriving at the reception area.


Related Sohoton articles:


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: Noise • Steemit •  Hive • Blurt • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram

8
$ 2.53
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 3
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

Comments

I'd love to try that!! although gusto ko mabilis lang ako sa loob ng cave kasi dami ko what ifs haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabilisan lang sa dalawa, yung previous two caves na pinuntahan namin, medyo natagalan. hehe pero worth it naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh looks like a really good time. Shoot I want to do that. Thanks for sharing and I could feel your excitement. I bet you rested well after a day out like that. Take care.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ka cool uy lingaw kaau dai!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lingaw jud kay dai ai. Lami gani ibalik jud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hhehe mao ana jd na dai basta lingaw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! A great and enjoyable adventure in caves my friend. I want to visit like that cave also. I felt your happiness and enjoyment there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh super fuuun. I see now they require safety hats?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed a fun time! Nako, medyo claustrophic ako sa mga cave hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yung bf ko, claustrophobic yun, mga 1 minute lang ata. At that time, sa Hagukan, low tide yun kaya no need na magdive. Pero yung sa Magkukuob, baka pwede rin sayo yan. Nasurvive niya yun but siya yung pinakaunang tumalon. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a good place to spend some time relaxing

$ 0.00
1 year ago