My Dream To Become Santa

10 33
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Love, Children, Thought

I wrote this last December but can't really focus on it. I will still post this article.

It was a days ago when I read @Pachuchay article about her online shopping cart. A certain feeling came back to me. I was inspired to write about how I wanted to become Santa Claus. One of my crazy dreams.

I grew up with a very generous person. Maybe it all began in there. We are a big family, maybe a hundred members, more or less. I was two when my parents lived with my aunt (mom's sister).

As kids, we are fond of fairy tale stories and including the story of Santa Clause's generosity to kids. Every month of December, my aunt would start decorating her home with Christmas decors to make us feel and see the spirit of Christmas. She's the one who made us believe that Santa is real. Like she would make us all prepare and hang our socks no matter if it's not red just like how we see it in movies, as long as we got socks ready for the presents that Santa Clause would bring us.

On Christmas day, we wake up with our socks filled with presents. Just what a typical kids Christmas should be. Later, we started to understand that our real Santa could be our parents and most of the time our aunt. Growing up, I have become one of her elves. Wrapping those gifts for our cousins, aunts, uncles and other relatives.

We have our yearly family reunion and she buys a lot of stuff be it the simplest or the smallest as long as she has something to share to everyone. She receives gifts from her clients who are business owners. They give free shirts, bags, umbrellas, etc.. She wraps them and put our names in it. She also buys little white envelopes which she inserts different amounts of bills depending on your age. Kids 0-5 will get an envelope with a five peso (Php 5) bill. 6-12 will get Php 10, 13-18 gets Php 20, 19-25 will have Php 50. Above those ages will get a hundred peso bill and her siblings will get Php 500 each which is a really big amount way back in the 90's.

These are the bills we used to receive from our aunt Santa during our family reunions. Different colors would paint different smiles in our faces. The biggest smile is sure to have gotten the blue bills. Yellow would give our eyes that twinkling look and the kid who gets purple will feel like the luckiest of the night. We get purple, yellow bills mostly on parlor games, so one should not miss that moment no matter how sleepy you get since games starts at night and goes on until midnight. Blue bills appear on raffles and some group or team activities.

Aside from cash, kids will get toys and stuffs, the adults gets t-shirts. You can see a big smile in her face. She gets fulfilled whenever she's able to give presents to her family and friends. Everybody has witnessed the generosity of my aunt.

Growing up with her, I feel like I got her ability, trait or whatever you call it. I'd love to become a generous person. It makes me happy and would give me satisfaction. I don't know why but that's just how I feel. Even my cousins, I have seen them become more generous to everybody when they started earning their own money. I guess, everybody wants to continue my aunts legacy which is "generosity" and being a soft and warm hearted person to the needy.

As for me, when I started working and getting even the smallest income, I was able to shop for stuffs that I have distributed during the family reunion on my first Christmas as an employee. My cousins and uncles asked me how I was able to give each one of them those things in low budget. Well, "it's the thought that counts" as the saying goes, so I looked for quality products in affordable prices or should I say, cheapest item, which worked really well for me. My aim is to atleast give someone a decent present he/she can open for Christmas. Small things doesn't matter as long as they are presentable and something that one could give much appreciation.

When I got married, things went really tough for me so I was like skipped few Christmases which is sad for me. As time passes, life changes and I got the opportunity to become simple Santa that I can be again. And I learned a simple strategy by buying things little by little ahead of time. That way I am able to complete all those things before Christmas comes. It's pretty convenient since I don't have to rush like the others and stand in a very long line of shoppers during December. Plus this online shopping thing is a great help for me.

I was able to save a few Php 20 and Php 100 just for the kids. I chose to give tiny tokens to the adults and I was happy to see their big smiles. At least one could never say he/she didn't have or wasn't able to open any present during our family reunion.

Above all these is my Almighty Father God, who always never fail me. I may have fallen a lot of times but here I am still loved and blessed with my ability and capability to make people happy in my own simple way.

So, I would like to show you guys some of my shopped items online. Just like any other shoppers, I have 99+ in my shopping cart after a few previous purchases. And due to surge of Christmas orders I'm still waiting for the delayed items which are supposed to be given on December, but they are already very very late.

My wish to become Santa is 80% fulfilled as the other presents are delayed. 😂😅Lol!

4
$ 0.64
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Love, Children, Thought

Comments

God bless your generous heart, madam ❤ welcome back! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

andami.. Bait naman 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe.. nakakagaan ng loob yung ikaw ang dahilan ng pag ngiti ng isang tao.. char..heehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namiss ko bigla un bills natin noon, llo na un 5 pesos.. Naabutan mo pa ba un 2 peso paper bill?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi na.. hehe. . yung five lang. .ang saya ko pag may baon akong 5 na papel

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naabutan ko pa un, 8 yrs old yata ako noon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

anong year ba yun? yung malaking piso na may kalabaw tas, pentagon yata na dos tas may niyog sa likod tapos yung 25 cents na parang shape ng bulaklak..hehe.. pati yung 50 cents na malaki tas may eagle sa likod, 1 cent na may bulaklak ( sampagita ata yun) at 10 cents na may isda,,haha! yan yung mga naabutan ko non.. nakakatuwa naaalala ko pa..heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

87-88 yata yun... Naabutan ko din yan lahat at meron pa ako nyan 10 cents na parang bulaklak gang ngayon. Meron din ako dati nun piso na malalaki kaso di ko alam saan na napunta.. Nawala na sa mga collection ko eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga ako din may mga naipon ako non.. ewan ko din kung asan na.. lumipat kasi kami ng bahay, di ko na malocate yung mga coins na yun..hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang noh, who knows na magkavalue ng malaki in the future. Kaya sinasabi ko sa anak ko na ipapamana ko sa kanya tapos ipamana nya sa magiging anak nya and so on. Malay mo yan pa ikayaman nila,hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago