How Much Will You Spend for a Wedding?

7 34
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago

Every woman would wish a "dream-come-true" like wedding. We all have that fairy tale wedding wishes.

If you are a married person how much did you spend on your wedding day? Or if you're still planning, how much would you think you could spend for a one day ceremony?

During my time, I never spent a single penny. Sorry to say this but, yeah, everything is so sudden that I didn't even know I was getting married. It was a long story. This one is not something to be proud of because honestly my parents spent money for it. It cost more or less than $250 which is already a lot of money when converted to my country's currency. The civil wedding ceremony itself was free. The amount spent was only for the food.

I was a little upset for not experiencing the kind of wedding that I wanted but it was all my fault anyway. Still I planned for that dream wedding. After 8 years of marriage, I realised that's not my priority anymore.

4 years passed, it was my older brother's turn to get married. They planned everything. An amount is set for that grand wedding they liked. As someone with little skills, I volunteered in making the invitation cards. That' s the only help I could offer since I'm financially struggling. The wedding ended well. The decorations were there, the food and the program was fun. Everyone enjoyed the wedding. Little did they know, they encountered a big problem. They lost $200 to a dj whom they hired to be the program host and did not show up after getting fully paid. Good thing they had a friend who used to be good at hosting programs.

After the wedding my brother confessed that they exceeded $1000 (Php 50,000) and the decorations was a total flop. Although it looked so perfect, but it was not the one they expected it to look like. It was different from what the decorator showed to them and it was upsetting for the bride since she knew what's missing and a lot of things are missing! Their wedding coordinator stood like a light post and did nothing.

For that wedding the initial budget was $3000 (Php 150,000). They exceeded and it went up to $4000 (Php 200,000) which is already too much for a simple ceremony. The excess is tolerable, though and it became a lesson to this family that one should stick to the budget.

Now, it's my younger brother's time. We learned our lesson from what happened to my older brother, so as concerned family member, my mom and I advised him to stick to his fixed budget as much as he could.

I pledged for the souvenirs and I made it myself. I even offered for the invitation cards but they told me it's included in their wedding coordinator's package.

That way I'm happy I was able to help them save money. Right now, they are having a big problem. And seems like it's bigger that what our older brother had encountered. The initial budget for this upcoming wedding is doubled. And now, they need to raise $3000 more! 😱😱😱 This one is a little frustrating since what we can only offer them are ideas on how to resolve this issue. The budget is always beyond our control and in the first place, it's not my wedding so I don't have the right to manipulate their budget.

The only last help I could offer is pay for the wedding cake. What happened to my lil' bro is that their money was overspent. Money was not well handled. He gave away all his money and still they lack budget. 😓

No question as to why he gave it all. Not on how they spent it. The problem is that they are doing it far from our place where they need to pay for everything. They might have hired without doing a survey. They hired high pricing packages and we couldn't assist them or even give them idea how to lessen their expenses.

Well, there's nothing we can do anymore since everything has been set. The only way to resolve this is pay the remaining balances. No one should be blamed but the idea is just not practical specially during this time of pandemic.

Lesson:

Overspending is a big NO. Although it's your wedding and it is your own money, always think of what will you spend after your wedding day. Always stick to your fixed amount and stop thinking of add ons that are not on the plan.

It is true that weddings only happen once but it's only for one day. You can always have a grand wedding, a fairy tale, or a dream come true wedding theme with great decorations but less expenses.

I couldn't explain it properly here but I hope you readers get my point. What's important in weddings is the life after that one day ceremony. Make sure you spent well for a successful marriage.

It doesn't matter how expensive or how cheap your wedding day is. The most important thing is that you both understand about married life. It's not all the spending and dating anymore. It's about living a new life with your parnter and creating a family with him or her.

6
$ 12.53
$ 12.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I haven't spent much it was a house wedding indoors just immediate family then we cooked and celebrated with the poor and homeless people... For spending less on our wedding we going strong now married 15 years...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd rather not spend too much! Have to thibk about what's gonna happen after the wedding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel bad for the money gone to waste.. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe, dakoag gasto sa kasal oy. 🥴 Kung kaslon man galing ko, simple church wedding lang then reception. Di nako anang mga prenup2x kay oahan ko. 😆🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek! Grabe jd as in murag magnganga na lang ni sila paghuman sa wedding. Makaguol lang kay sa ila nagasto wala pay maskin isa na fully paid.. Naluoy nako sako manghod. Hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao na lage. That's overspending. Just spend what your wallet can bear. Ka utang-utang na hinuon imbis na magmalipayon 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Problema na hinuon.. Haha! Dili pod mi kabuot nila kay ilaa mana wedding.. sila ra jud naglisod lisod.. Eheheh.. Ikatawa na lang para dili mastress..

$ 0.00
2 years ago