After 12 Years

6 40
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
1 year ago

I read @Jeaneth 's article This Is Why I Avoid Barch Reunions.

Her last question was "Are you fond of batch reunions? " My answer is NO. I don't usually join batch reunions because I feel uneasy. I feel small around my batch mates especially when the topic is about job, house, travel goals and the luxurious things they have now.

Personally, I don't judge or look into their status in life. I also don't care what you have or what you don't have as long as we're friends, you are my friend no matter what you are, no matter what you possess.

Why am I saying this? Where is this all coming from? It's because, I have some friends who compare their lives to others. I have experienced talking to some friends who would look down upon themselves because they think they're not enough. They think, they have nothing, which is normal feeling, I guess. There were times I also felt that way but I always look into the positive side of life.

After college we all went into different directions. Most of them worked into private institutions immediately after graduating. Most were hired in banks and some in the sales department, specifically in the motorcycle and cars industry. And me, I was just chillin' around with some new found friends. Enjoying my single life and trying to fix myself because I was so heart broken that time.

It seems that my dad had unlocked me from prison because when I was studying, I've always had a limited time with everything. I can hang out with friends but like Cinderella I have a clock that ticks. When the time is up, the worst thing that could happen is my father coming to where I am and could possibly create a public scandal. Lol! I was like under a Martial Law before, but I know it was just his way of discipline. We are well raised and grew up as good individuals.

Going back, after college, me and my friends barely saw each other. I don't know if I was lost because most of the time, I see them on social media posting their pictures going out without me. I feel like I didn't belong to them anymore. I hang out with old friends and met new ones (including my husband). I tend to hang out more with the new group, almost forgetting about my "used to be" college friends whom I considered as brothers and sisters.

We all found jobs after graduating because that was our first goal. Mine is a little messed up because may pinagdadaanan ako . Broke up with my boyfriend, then found out about my father's kahibangan or kabulastugan , whatever you call it. I was so so down at that time. But I kept going... may halo nga lang kalokohan, though, it's not illegal but that's how I call it because I've never really done something like that when I was studying. It's more of just having fun and hanging out with friends, doing house parties at night 'til morning. That's just it.

I go to bed at four and wake up at 6 to get ready for work. Then after two years of going out together with my new friends and my new boyfriend, suddenly, my life has turned into a different world. Got pregnant, got married and got stuck with an unpleasant situation. Really, that's what it is for me. Unpleasant. Don't know how to describe that properly because that's how I felt.

I became the sole bread winner of the new family that my husband and I created. You know, we both dreamed of travelling together in places. We both dreamed of success. Turns out, he had to quit school to take care of our baby and I had to work hard, do micro jobs online because my salary couldn't afford enough for our needs. But no regrets man. I was happy with that new life. As we became 4 in a family, we are happier. Though life is really tough for me. Had postpartum and got eaten by stress because of too much hard work. We were both stuck. As our friends rise, we stayed in one corner trying to survive each day of our hard life together.

fast forward...

After 10 years of waiting, I was finally given a permanent position at work. Finally, I am able to breathe a little. I bought a new ride, bought some new things then moved out of my parents house which we have long been wanting. Living with my parents was just toxic. I was still so grateful to my parents, though. It's just that they meddle on our issues as couple and as being parents. Now we are living peacefully. And I love that we can stand on our own.

12 years now..

It's been 12 years now that my friends and I have separated ways. We have our own families, we are all married and have kids. Some were working abroad, and just this March, one of them came home to the Philippines with her husband and son. She planned on meeting us and our children.

I was very excited to see them. Even those who are still in the city. We haven't seen each other for years because we are all busy with our own lives.

The plan was to go to a place far from the city. It's where one of our friends had settled. He invited us to his wife and daughter's birthday. We set the same date as our group reunion.

While we were setting the date, I told them I didn't have a car. One answered, "we'll see if we can all fit in the car or if who can offer you some space." I really felt awkward. It sounded like no one's gonna offer us a ride. I felt like I was slapped by poverty straight into my face 😂.

My mood changed suddenly. I was disheartened. My husband told me to just let it go and don't force myself to go with them if we can't really afford it. Because we don't have a car, because our funds are limited at that time. At first I was thinking of ways to increase my funds just to be with them. Because I missed them so much and I'd be really happy to see them.

So, I said I won't go with my motorcycle since it's too hot and unsafe for our kids to be riding for 2 hours. Then I just thought of an alibi. I told them I have a team building on that day and I'm not sure if I can go with them. My friends insisted that I should come and they will find a ride for us. They even agreed to pick us up on my workplace.

For them not to think I was just making alibis (which is true 😂).. I said okay. Lol!


On that day, we had a smooth travel. We came late since one came an hour late. It's so nice to see us all with our kids. They really enjoyed each others company. They look just like our mini versions playing along.

We had so much fun doing karaoke and catching up. We are incomplete, so, we turned on the facebook live for the others to see. The moment was priceless. My heart is full.

The next day, we went to a nearby resort. The kids didn't mind the heat. Everyone enjoyed the cold water in the pool and the breath taking view.

At 3 pm we packed up and went home. My children were asking for their new friends. So we set up another date again.

Credits: photos were grabbed from my friend's page with permission 😊

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hi madam. Aha ka diha sa picture? Hehe. May gani kay gisundo mo nila. Uban imo husband pud?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha! Secret 😂🤣.. Oo kauban akong mga bata pd. Maayo na lang sila pd naningkamot og pangita og paagi makauban mi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow...sometimes I also think fast forwardly and assume that how nice it would be if me and my friends meet after some years of graduating...I wish we do reunions...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will... Time will come you'll miss each other.. That would be the time that you will savour every moment and make good memories

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi rin ako mahilig sumama sa mga batch reunion namin. Umiiwas kasi ako sa mga prangkang tanong nila haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha! Yung iba prangkang yabang eh kaya wag na lang.. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago