A Hopeless Superhero

3 31
Avatar for kamirucorella
3 years ago
Topics: Animals, True Story, Hope, Future, Purpose, ...

"My greatest dream is to have a huge land where I can put all of the stray animals and give them unconditional love and care."


When I was a kid, I always think of becoming a "SUPERHERO". But not the typical superhero kids' wished to be.

As a kid, you were hoping to save the world and all the people in it, to make it a better place where people always love each other. A place where there is no bad and all is good, a place where there is no sad and all is happy. A kid wants to be everyone's superhero. Every humans' superhero.

Well, I was hoping the same thing. A better place, a happy place. But I as a kid think differently. I always thought humans don't need superheroes to save them, that they can always make the world a better place by not becoming one. I mean, if they're hungry they can just ask someone for food, if they're hurting, they can just go to hospitals and ask for treatment, what I'm trying to say is they can always get someone to help them just by asking them, just by simply telling them what they need. I mean they can make the world a better place just by helping each other.

But how about animals? Animals can't talk. Animals can't complain. Animals can't verbalize what they need to live happily without pain.

If they're hungry, they can't just ask someone for food. If they're hurting, they cannot just go to hospitals on their own and ask for treatment. And if they need shelter...Well, there's a shelter for them but what happens when no one adopts these poor creatures? They are forced to go to sleep...forever. How is that fair? How is that fair that they are forced to die because nobody wants them? It isn't fair. That is why as a kid I always wanted to be their superhero.

The Animals Superhero.

My greatest dream is to have a huge land where I can put all of the stray animals and give them unconditional love and care. Give them all the help they need. And give them a place where they can live happily and freely. Where there is no fear that anytime someone will hurt them. No fear that anytime, someone will put them to sleep and never wake up.

These poor creatures just want to be loved and have a place they can call "home". And that's what I want to give and provide them.

But how?


Let me tell you a story.

In the Philippines, there was this kid who really has compassion for animals. Especially dogs and cats. She loves them so much that every dog and cat she sees, she always had the urge to pet them and make them feel loved even for a short period. She always feels the need to help these poor animals even in the simplest ways. The people around her know that, they know how much she gets easily attached to these animals around her even if it's not hers.

In the early 2000's, the Philippines is known for eating dog meat even the R.A. 8485 was implemented in 1998. They raise and breed dogs just to eat them for "pulutan" (appetizer taken with alcohol) mostly.

Imagine the little kid, who was 7 years old at the time, living in that cruel world. Imagine the trauma and horror she was forced to face because she can't do anything to stop those cruelties because SHE WAS JUST A KID and nobody will listen to her.

Her cousins and friends will instantly warn her that there will be a dog slaughter nearby because they know how much this event will hurt the little kid's feelings. After all, she's the one that raised most of the dogs they slaughter. Raised them with so much love and care just to get them killed and eaten by those heartless people around her.

So, what the kid will do next is to lock herself in her room and cover her ears as much as she could just not hear those cries from the poor animals she raised. It pierced through her heart to hear them crying for help. Calling her for help. Images of how they get killed plays through her mind over and over again. She will cry her eyes out until she gets tired and falls asleep out of exhaustion. Mentally.

She didn't eat properly or play with her cousins weeks after the slaughter because she still feels guilty about not saving them, because she didn't protect them. The guilt she feels is just agonizing.

Another weeks had passed, a set of puppies came. After seeing them, her heart was full again. But she was hesitant to go near them at first, thinking that if she will love and care for them, someone will eventually take them away from her and there's nothing she can do about it. That thought broke her little heart to pieces.

But the more she tried to stay away from them, the more she feels that she have to be with them. She thought that they deserved to be loved even if it meant to hurt them both in the end. So she continue to care for them with the idea that they are going to face the same faith as those who came first. She did this for years. Enduring the pain year after year.

Same with cats, they were killed just because they exist. And there are people don't want them exists. The kid witnessed all these cruelties against animals but none of it changed her mind about saving them someday from all the horrible people there is.

That kid, WAS ME.

I grew up in a world where dogs and cats were slaughtered day after day. Hearing they're cries night after night. But that doesn't stop me from dreaming that one day I will be able to save each and every one of the strays and neglected animals there is.

Again... But how?

I don't have the resources and money to pursue this dream. I have tried taking some strays home in the past but it's not enough. I live in a place where keeping animals isn't safe. There are lots of kids roaming around the place and most of them are allergic to furs. I can't risk the kids and the animals well-being.

And I ended up thinking that maybe I'm still that little kid who can't protect these animals from our cruel world. That little kid who just lock herself in her room and doing nothing but cry.

If only I fixed my life sooner, maybe I am now happy with those animals I saved.

I lost my way in my early 20's. Not thinking of the future or how my life will be. Forgetting all the dreams I have when I was young. Living the life I thought was good. I am just LOST.

But now, seeing those poor animals in the street. Starving and hurting makes me want to beat myself to death. And I always ask myself, "Where is that little kid who promised and swore to herself that she will make the world a better place by saving these poor animals from hurting?"

And I realized, that I can't do this dream by myself. I need help. Help from people who has the same compassion THAT LITTLE KID has. A pure compassion for these poor creatures. Because without help I am just... A HOPELESS SUPERHERO.

---

SPEAK UP FOR THOSE THAT CANNOT!

---

Photo Credits: Google

5
$ 0.74
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @shamrye17
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 3
Avatar for kamirucorella
3 years ago
Topics: Animals, True Story, Hope, Future, Purpose, ...

Comments

Napalaki kitang magaling na bata. I'm so proud of you kams. Ang haba, pero still worth reading. Tamad ako magbasa ng mahahaba. Haha 👍👌😁😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha! How I wish I have the power to do that. Hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and touching story. Dogs are supposed to be man's bestfriend.

I thought at first that the girl will be the one to formulate the republic act banning the eating of dogs. Hahaha

$ 0.01
3 years ago