I'm a Proud TESDA Scholar

4 37
Avatar for jstjylrd_
1 year ago

________________________

At first glance, there are things in life that we anticipate as impossible, yet, turns out later on that it is not. My experience as a TESDA scholar, being closely akin to this, can be sought as an abrupt decision. I never really had a fix move, and, just went with the flow. It was also 1 month ago when I participated and now, I am very close to having my first national certificate II (NCII) that will be freely provided by TESDA. Perhaps, questions like “what are those terminologies?”, “what are the advantages of having an NCII? ”, “what specific course is he training under TESDA? ”, “what were the travails had he experienced? ”, and “how was his journey all in all? ”, are now building up in your mind. Now, let's answer and discuss all these questions one by one.

NCII

A National Certificate (NC) is a type of certificate that will be issued when a candidate has demonstrated competence in all units of competency that comprised a qualification under a desired course. Just like me, if I'll pass the assessment, I will surely receive an NCII afterwards . A National Certificate (NC II) will be issued to students who passed an assessment related to their desired and chosen course.

TESDA

Source: The Pinoy OFW | TESDA Shielded Metal Arc Welding (SMAW) NCII

Source: CarGuide. Ph | TESDA Auto Mechanic Training Center

The Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) is the government agency which is tasked to manage and supervise technical education and skills development in the Philippines, usually, the technical-vocational courses like SMAW. Furthermore, they strengthen ties with the Department of Education (DepEd), another government agency in the country, through a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that establishes a Joint Working Group in order to harmonize technical vocational education and skills training in the country.

What are the advantages of having an NCII?

Having an NCII will make it easier for me to have a job under my field of expertise, or a job I really wanted. Most skilled jobs require this certification for faster processing of job application. It will also be a great advantage, especially working abroad. I can remember our trainer who used to remind us that the NCII saved him from being nothing. He also urged us to acquire it so that we can also be like him someday.

What specific course am I training in TESDA?

My first time of handling a handheld electrode.

Me scratching the electrode for the first time.

Since the course being offered for free by the Provincial Training Center (PTC) of Davao del Sur is SMAW, I am training it for a month. SMAW or Shielded Metal Arc Welding is a process of welding utilizing coated electrode. This type of welding is the most basic, at the same time, the most in-demand kind of welding process inside and outside the Philippines.

What were the travails have I experienced?

Honestly, when the proper training began, I still had an ongoing modular classes which I needed to finish. Since the training would start from 8:00 in the morning and would end by 5:00 in the afternoon, I only had the opportunity to answer all my modules during night time. Aside from that, we were only given one (1) week t retrieve all the thirteen (13) modules together with the answer sheets. Thankfully, I was able to manage my time, even though I am not a night owl, and not even used to staying up late in the evening. One challenge as well is that, I am youngest among all the trainees. Their ages ranged from 20-35 years old, and, I'm only 17. I had to interact with them, although, I felt it very odd. As time passed by, I just get used to them and was also able to blend with their attitude.

How was my journey all in all?

These are my fellow TESDA scholar. I'm the first first one on the left side.

All in all, I must say that the journey was very worth-it and enjoyable. I also gained a lot of learnings I have not encountered before. Welding was really not my thing, so, I had to get out of my comfort zone work along with my team. It may had been very sudden and unexpected, notwithstanding, we managed to last ‘till the end: very near from the NCII we've all been waiting for.

I am a proud TESDA scholar. With the great opportunity they have bestowed upon us, we can now see a brighter future ahead. Years from now, conceivably, I can see myself being the person I have been aiming to be. It may still be a long run, but, I am sanguine that I can make iy happen. I am and will always be proud to say thay I'm a proud TESDA scholar.

________________________

5
$ 4.07
$ 3.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Sydney2
$ 0.03 from @ZehraSky
Avatar for jstjylrd_
1 year ago

Comments

Ohh I was a tesda scholar also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wowww, may I know what course did you take?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Food and Bevearage Services

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woww. Congratulations!

$ 0.00
1 year ago