ONLINE CLASS: The Struggle of the Less Privilege PART 3

0 22
Avatar for jshidg
Written by
3 years ago

On the second part of this topic, we talked about the problems that the professors and mostly the students do encounter during the online class that interfere the online discussion as well as the learning of the students.

Feel free to read the previous part:

ONLINE CLASS: The Struggle of the Less Privilege PART 1

ONLINE CLASS: The Struggle of the Less Privilege PART 2

Additional on both part, As a student, online class is way harder than the usual or the face to face type of learning. It's disappointing when your internet connection is too slow to connect in the online class. You will definitely missed the most important topics that your professor is discussing. Bonus? You can't answer the recitation even you know the question is basic. And this kind of situation, I think it adds on the problem of the students.

Photo courtesy: DZ Breaking

I just encountered it today when the internet connection is so slow that I tried multiple times to get reconnected. I lose the most important part, the lesson, the explanation that the professor is discussing that is not written in the module. I also lose my time. Yes, the time I spent waiting to reconnect until I just realized that the class is already done. I haven't learn anything. It's kind so disappointing because I just wasted my time.

I just observed that the use of of google meet, zoom meetings and other electronic learning platforms really affect the speed of internet connection. While I was in a google meet, I can't access messenger and so is while I'm using the zoom meetings. If you're a student and is using wi-fi, try to observe.

Even though I don't leave in a remote area but the internet connectivity here feels like we're leaving in the mountain. It's a blessing to have a fast internet connection but to enjoy a bit the data connection, your phone must be 4g lte. It's arrrg!

Online class is really so hard. I am also the non privilege one who don't have the capability to pace with the other students who have the opportunity to buy the fastest internet connection which I think is still so slow.

I remember when we chose between the modular or the flexible mode of learning. I did choose the flexible, both module and online. I chose it because through online, the professor will discuss what's in the module, will expand the topic and will feed us information that is not written in the module.

I know that even it is really so hard. I just always believe that all things will go back to normal soon when I, a student, and we, the students who is facing the struggle will no longer feel to be left behind.

Sorry if this article is likely a rant of a student who do encounter problems in the online class but believe me, there are millions of students who feel the same. And I feel like i'm still lucky that I have internet connection even it's too slow but how about those students who can't afford to buy the learning materials? I always thought of when will the things will go back to normal when education is really so accessible. When no students will be left behind, when all the students don't really need to face this kind of situation.

_________________________________________________

If you're a student and reading this one, please let me know your experiences in the online class.

Feel free to comment down below and share your thoughts, insights, feelings or opinion and let's have small discussion because for me it really matter.

WE HEAL AS ONE

WE HELP AS ONE

WE LEARN AS ONE

NO STUDENT LEFT BEHIND

_________________________________________________

2
$ 0.16
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of jshidg
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jshidg
Written by
3 years ago

Comments