To make life more livelier.

0 15
Avatar for joow
Written by
9 months ago

It is still raining, and it hasn't stopped since earlier this afternoon. The air has turned cold, and the frogs are singing beside and behind our house. So, I made myself a cup of hot chocolate to warm up a little in this weather. I know the photo shows a cup of tea, but I couldn't find a picture of hot chocolate. :P

As I was sipping on my drink, I realized something: I've always been on my phone but haven't done anything productive. I think I'm one of those people who have internet addiction, and it's not a good thing. I've spent six months here, but there has been no progress or development in my character whatsoever.

Maybe I've learned new internet slang, kept up with the latest music and TikTok trends, and even adapted my favorite author's writing style. But that's about it. It's not something significant or grand that I can be proud of.

So, I messaged one of my internet friends and mentioned that I will be taking a break from the internet. She was very supportive and suggested taking at least a week off to do something else. She recommended reading a book and starting journaling again. I thought to myself, why not? It's been a while since I held an actual physical book. Perhaps it's time to put down my tablet and phone, pick up a book, and spend the whole day reading.

And so, I did just that. Earlier, I cleaned my room and then picked up the book I borrowed from my sister's friend. It's been with me for two months now, and I hadn't started reading it until just an hour ago. It's about traders, assassins, and a man who ventured to another country to earn money. It's quite interesting, although a little challenging to read because it's narrated in a style that feels like you're in 1799.

If I had read this book back when I was in 10th grade, I wouldn't have had any trouble reading it straight through. But because I've been on my phone all the time, my vocabulary has deteriorated, and now I have to read and reread to rebuild my vocabulary.

And so, here begins my dream to read a lot of books and expand my vocabulary. I want it to be so extensive that I have no trouble with big or long words, and I can read faster.

From now on, I will see myself as a cat. Out of nine lives, I've already spent one, leaving me with eight. And i will make sure to use those remaining lives wisely. I will not be like puss in boots.

( Actually, I added that cat thing at the end of my post because I saved this cat picture from Pinterest and wanted to include it. Hahaha! I just couldn't think of a way to incorporate it, but there you go! )


ps. All images are from pinterest!

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of joow
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for joow
Written by
9 months ago

Comments