Buko Pie

5 14
Avatar for jojoroxasb
3 years ago

When we were kids, our parents would always take us to our province whenever it's All Saints' Day. It's there where our grandparents were buried and we pay a visit every year until we were teens. Before going to the cemetery, we would first go to our Aunt's house which is just a few kilometers away. We would fetch them and go straight to our Lolo and Lola's tomb. If we are lucky, we would stay there for two days, given that November 1 and 2 falls on a weekend. And after visiting the cemetery, we then go back to our Aunt's place before going back to Metro Manila.

But before we go back here, it's been a tradition already for us to buy some pasalubong. There's macapuno candies, espasol and my favorite, buko pie. The shop where we always buy it is just across the entrance of the cemetery. I could still remember the price of each box, which is just 30 pesos. So, we buy atleast 6 boxes for us. We are also six in the family. So it's like one box for each member. I already forgot the name of the buko pie, but I can still remember the tagline "The Original Buko Pie".

Well, i grew up knowing that the one we were buying was the original one. And if ever we buy from a different shop, the taste kinda not the same anymore. We were used to the same old buko pie we were buying from Los Baños.

Decades past and you can already purchase a buko pie at the mall. But still, doesn't taste authentic. There are even fake buko pies that tasted like paste. And the price now not only double or tripled. The last time I asked for the price of a buko pie in a mall is 350 pesos. Just imagine if I buy 6 boxes with that price.

A few days ago, I saw somewhere near our place, selling buko pies. I didn't even dare to inquire. For me, it's still the Original Buko Pie or nothing.

Have a great day ahead!

5
$ 0.00

Comments

I love buko pies too. 😍♥️ I particularly love the buko itself. So, any recipe, or juice made with buko are great for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where do you buy your buko pie? Is it the original one? Haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How will it justify the fake ones and the original? Is it the recipe? Or where it came first? Or was there really fake buko pie in the first place? 😁

I can't determine if the shop selling my favorite buko pie was the original one, but it tastes so good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As long as it doesn't taste all flour, it's not the fake one. Haha. Coz I bought one from Batangas, someone was selling buko pie in the bus. It tasted like there were no coconut meat inside of it, all flour.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I get that. But, what I meant is generalizable.

So, for you, the taste and the way it was made can justify if it's fake or original? Imagine this, you ate a buko pie and it tasted better than the other one you said you bought on a bus. Would you say it's the original one?

$ 0.00
3 years ago