The Child in Me

0 24
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago

Growing up, I had always loved watching cartoons, anime, and movies about fictional characters. Up until now.

My husband would often criticized me everytime I am watching cartoons together with our kids, because I would often get immersed with what I'm watching than our kids. I was actually the one who introduced Frozen with my eldest when she was still 2years old. Good thing though, she got interested in the movie and was even able to memorize the song "Let It Go" all by herself which is pretty amazing. I would often watch alongside my youngest now everytime she watched Disney shows in Disney Junior and Disney Channel like Fancy Nancy Clancy, Vampirina, Mickey's Mixed up Adventures, Upin and Ipin, and Miraculous to name a few (LOL).

When I was still a child, together with my siblings and cousins, watching animes was our favorite hobby. We have watched a lot of animes and other cartoons back on the days when animes and cartoons ruled over the airtime of the TV stations, from Lupin the 3rd, to Flame of Recca, to Julio at (and) Julia, Cedy ang Munting Prinsipe (Cedy the Little Prince), Sarah, ang Munting Prinsesa (Sarah, the Little lrincess, and to the all-time favorite, Dragon Ball Z. I can enumerate more cartoons and anime titles but that would pretty much take up this entire article. We would always rush back home in the afternoon just to watch our favorite show.

Just when I thought that it was just a childhood hobby, I eventually didn't stopped watching animes and cartoons when I became a teenager. While the rest of my friends are busy watching dramas in the afternoon, I would power on our DVD player and would play The Lion King Trilogy instead.

Since animes are only aired then in the morning, I wasn't able to watched animes during weekends. It's a good thing though that one of our neighbors also loved anime so what he would usually do is download the said episode to a CD which we would altogether watch. They would often shoo me away since I'm the only girl but I would always insist on watching it. Who would miss a chance to watch an episode of Ippo Makonochi or Baki the Grappler, or Shaman King and again, ofcourse, the all-time favorite Dragon Ball Z.

Sometimes anime has more drama in it than a drama itself. Take for example episode 483 of One-Piece, when Ace died. I cried river of tears watching this episode in the middle of the night. It was a good thing though that I was all alone since my roomates when out to party that time.

Aside from animes, I also love watching cartoons that has something to do with mythical creatures like mermaids, fairies, unicorns,ogres,witches,anything mythical or fictional characters. I don't know but I always loved and believed in this kind of stuffs. My all-time favorite? TINKERBELL! I have watched the entire series from Tinkerbell to Tinkerbell and the Legend of the NeverBeast. I just loved fairies and also believed in them up until now (LOL!). So when the sequel to the movie Peter Pan, Return to Neverland was aired, the part where Tinkerbell was losing her power since Wendy's daughter, Jane, didn't believe in fairies though she had already seen Tinkerbell, I joined Jane and the lost boys as they chant the words, I do believe in fairies, bringing back Tink's power.

As much as I love these mythical creatures, I also loved Barbie movies since some of them contains mythical characters as well like Barbie in Swan Lake, Barbie in a Mermaid Tale 1 & 2, Barbie in Fairytopia, Barbie and the Magic Pegasus, and Barbie Fairytopia : Mermaidia to name a few. Most of this I have watched when I was already in college and VideoCity was a trend. VideoCity is a rental shop where you can rent VCDs.

There are a lot of things that we find too difficult to outgrew or things we can never outgrew. Things that no matter how old we get,we will never get tired of doing, and in my case watching. I am already 30-something but my passion when it comes to anime and cartoons never wears off. I even feel like it grows more than before cause now, I'm also into reading mangas especially to animes that are already done airing but there's still a lot more episodes that hasn't been aired like Kaichou wa Maid-sama, and I'm getting more patient with animes that had been aired for like a long time but only to be continued now, like rumors in Slam Dunk getting its season 2 being aired, though I'm not sure if this is true.LOL! But all in all, this just proves that loving something that had been a part of your life is really difficult to let go so its either you let go or just accept the pain. Charot!hahah. Kidding aside, watching animes and cartoons and stuffs is something that I knoe that I'll never grow tired of.

How about you? What are some of the things that you're fond of doing when you were still a child that you still love to do until now? Comment down below 😉😉

(All photos are from Dsearch.com)

1
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of jekai_88
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago

Comments