My Books Hold Many Stories...

0 42
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago
Topics: Reading, Life

"My book holds many stories,
wrapped tightly in itself
And yet it never makes a noise
it waits upon my shelf
Until I come and take it;
then soon my book and I
Are sailing on a fairy sea
or floating in the sky."

- Annette Wynne

Losing my phone was difficult. It was difficult since I almost spend all my time using it. From the time I open my eyes, I use my phone to check on the time since we no longer use wall clock nor physical alarm clocks. I also use my phone while drinking coffee since I use it on checking the price of BCH. I am also using it on claiming daily rewards. And most especially, I am using it because of noise.cash.

Aside from BCH-related stuffs, I am also using my phone for school stuffs. It is where my fellow parents and teachers communicates with each other especially if there are important updates. So it was really difficult for me when I lose it.

It was difficult, yes, at first. But after a day or two, I feel like its not that bad if I don't have a phone, a smartphone to be exact.

Aside from the times that I am earning BCH, I realize that my phone was only for entertainment purposes. There are a lot more things to do outside the "phone" life.

It was only during that time that I glanced at my books, and it is really shocking to see that I have lots of pocketbooks, since I'm an avid fan of Filipino pocketbooks, especially from Precious Pages. Their stories makes me feel like I am the heroin and it is my story that I am reading. It brings back the "kilig" moments during college days, making me feel like a teenager again. I accumulated a lot of pocketbooks when I was still working in the metro. It was the time when e-book was not still a trend, a time when Wattpad is not yet popular. I have the complete series of the "Stallion Boys" by Sonia Francesca and Sofia. I also has other series written by Sofia Francesca like "Calle Pogi" and "Skylanders". I also have a few books from "Kristine" series written by the late Martha Cecilia. I also have some written by Arielle when she was still part of Precious Pages.

Aside from pocketbooks, I also have books which was originally from Wattpad like "My Facebook Boyfriend For Real", "Campus Royalties", "She's Dating the Gangster", and my favorite "Diary ng Panget", though I prefer the original version of "Diary ng Panget" on wattpad.

Aside from these, I also have a few horror books like "Philippine Ghost Stories" and "Bangungot", though I haven't tried to read them yet, it's not that I'm scared or what but I just don't find it interesting (yeah, I don't find it interesting, that's the real reason, promise).

I also have the most of the books of one of my favorite Filipino author, Bob Ong. From "ABNKKBSNPLAko?!", "Bakit Baliktad Magbasa Ang Mga Pinoy?", Ang Paboritong Libro ni Hudas (which I am currently reading), Stainless Longganisa, Ang Alamat ng Gubat, Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin, Kapitan Sino, to the last book that I have purchased, "Ang Mga Kaibigan Ni Mama Susan". Bob Ong have a few more books that I haven't purchased but maybe I could complete his books someday.

Reading books had always been my favorite past time when I was still studying and losing my phone made me realize that haven't read any books ever since I had a smartphone. Flipping the pages of these books was quite nostalgic since it brings back memories when smartphones was not yet invented and was not yet a thing. It somewhat made me realize that we shouldn't be dependent to smartphones. It has a lot of perks and benefits but we must always remember that our world must not revolve around it. I am still sad and upset that I lost my phone but it somewhat help me be connected to the real world.

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @andrianlover
Sponsors of jekai_88
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago
Topics: Reading, Life

Comments