Memories of a Child

0 14
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago
Topics: Experience

I was 4 years old when we move from Camarines Sur where I was born. We were staying at the camp base where Papa is assigned. He was a soldier then. Me and my siblings were already growing up and we need to go to school so they decided to move to my mother's hometown.

We stayed with my grandparents there along with my half-sister and half-brother and my uncle. Staying with our grandparents was not the best part of my life. I would always remember my grandparents and uncle being mean to us. They would often scold us for even small mistakes that we made us a child. Ate Rona, my half-sister is the only one who was nice to us. Sometimes Kuya Jun-jun would scold us too but not to often. But when both of them left, no one would defend us from our grandparents and uncle since Mama is always scolding us too. I remember an incident where my uncle hit our younger brother with his shirt when he saw him laying down the sofa. We were cleaning the house that time but our youngest brother was sick so we advise him to just lay down and he was just 4 then, so he really can't do much but my uncle doesn't think that way. He thought that my brother was slacking and doesn't want to help so he hit him. My heart ache upon seeing him do that but I can't do anything since we were still young. All I was able to do was get my brother and tag him along with me while cleaning. Another incident was when we were playing , we were taking turns on the hammock that Papa left us. My grandfather wants to use it but seeing us playing on it, he wasn't able to do so. So what my grandfather did was he told Mama that we were so noisy playing on the hammock that he was not able to sleep. I decided to answer back because it was not true but Mama sided with Lolo and slapped my lips for answering. I was hurt, physically and emotionally, but I can't do anything. After that Mama told us not to play in the house. She advised us to play on the vacant slot near our house, just at the back of our school so we did. Mama was sitting there, just watching us play that when I thought that Mama must be sorry for what she did and that she cared about us.

I don't know why they were mean to us, Mama's other siblings were not though. They loved us like their own. The only time that they were kind to us was every time Papa is around. I would often laugh inside bitterly every time that they act so kind towards us. And I hate it every time they act that way. There was a time when I thought that my grandparents and my uncle were mean to kids not until my cousins who were staying in Ilocos Norte then came to visit. They were never mean to them. I have never seen them been so kind not until that day. I never heard them shouted at them or anything. They don't even let them do anything. At first, I just thought that it's just a show, just what they do to us when Papa is around since they were just there for a vacation. But, when they decided to stay with us, that's when I realized that they don't like us at all. It was emotionally painful how unfair they were to us. It was a good thing though that we were no longer staying with them because it would really hurt me more if I 'll keep on experiencing unfair treatment from them.

We don't have a house in Burauen since Papa is not from there. So when we first arrived there, we stayed with our grandparents and uncle. And then we moved and rented a house in a nearby sitio. We stayed there for 3 years I guess. And then we moved again to another house, this time just in front of our grandparents house. We stayed there for a couple of years I guess. And then we moved again for the last time where we rented the land and built our house. This is where we stayed the longest until our parents got separated and moved to Ilocos.

All my memories as a child is here in Burauen. From my first friend, to my childhood crush. It is also where I spent 6 years of my elementary life. I just love my school here in Burauen, Burauen South Central School. Our school was very huge. Some school competitions are being held there. Sports, scouting, marching band, and a lot more. There is a huge Acacia tree in the middle of the main school grounds. We have also a huge garden where we plant different vegetables. We also have a different garden and classroom which is near the rice field. It is where we took our gardening and woodworking class. It's somewhat scary sometimes going there since the classroom is already old and there are a lot of trees but we always enjoy taking class there. We would sometimes play games there. How I miss that school.

When we left Burauen, I felt like I left a big part of me there, especially that Mama was left behind. My experiences with my grandparents and uncle was the worst but I had far more happy memories when we moved out which remains in my heart. I may had experiences difficulties and hardships in life while we were still there but all these experiences are a part of my life that I will never forget. I would sometimes cry every time I recall all these memories and every time I remember Mama. Leaving her was difficult but as a child, I can't do anything. One of my goals right now is to go back to Burauen, to visit Mama and to relive the memories that I have left there. It might not be right now, but I know I'll be able to achieve it one of these days.

1
$ 4.59
$ 4.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of jekai_88
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago
Topics: Experience

Comments