Let's Talk

0 19
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago
Topics: Experience, Brain

I had this habit of talking to my self and not just an easy exhortation to motivate me or what. It's that sort of talk wherein I create a particular character for myself being in several situations. After creating the 'plot', that's when the talking would start.

I would strike a conversation with myself, as if I'm acting although the characters are all me but in my head they're different persons involved. i would usually do that while I'm not doing anything, I'm on a bus, or I'm washing the dishes. This has been a habit which sometimes concerns me if it just normal. So I did a touch research. And here's what I learned.

Talking to ourself, either in our head or talking loudly, is named imaginary conversation. According to psychologenie.com, loneliness, preparation, dissatisfaction, childhood habit or a mental disorder , imaginary conversations can stem from any of those reasons. The society we sleep in doesn't consider imaginary conversations with oneself, normal. And other people who carry such conversations, tend to feel awkward about this habit. However, not all who talks to himself suffers from a disorder.

According to Dr. Jessica Nicolisi, a psychotherapist based in New York, talking to ourself is normal. Talking to ourself isn’t just normal, it’s good for our psychological state .

Psychologenie.com listed down some instances when talking to ourself is completely normal (and probably everyone does it):

You are brooding about your past

Almost every individual has faced some situations within the past that we're dissatisfied with, followed by the wish of adjusting what went on . When somebody fails to easily accept that the past can’t be changed, they goes to stay repeating this instance in his mind.

Like what I would usually for some of the events in my life that I deeply regret. I would try to go back to those events in my head and try to make changes, making those choices a much better one, hoping I was able to do it than what I really did.

This conversation doesn't signal a mental disorder , it only signifies discontent and thus the wish to correct a situation that cannot be changed.

Self-motivation

Some people have the habit of motivating themselves, as they believe they need self-motivation to surpass things with better results.

This usually happens to me when I am tryi g to reach a certain goal. I would picture my self being on that situation, doing a self-conversation with my future seld.

Self conversation for this purpose isn't abnormal in any way, neither is it a disorder or disease.

Wishful thinking

In such situations, you'll mention unrealistic things to yourself. This is where I would dream of events in my life that never happened, like imagining myself being a different person from what I really am. This would usually serve as my escape from reality.

Feeling lonely

When a person is lonely and has nobody to talk to, he tends to talk to himself. In most cases, you become your own solver . Conversing with one’s self as a results of loneliness is more realistic in nature. While having such conversations, a person tends to pour out his feelings in words, maybe aloud or maybe in his head. However, they're still within the boundaries of sanity.

Feelings of hysteria or panic

In this case, a person has an imaginary conversation with himself, to raised his situation. As his mind is already full of negative thoughts, the person will plan to have a convincing conversation with himself. The conversation will soothe his fear and lower his level of hysteria and panic.

Dr. Nicolisi explained in an article in nbcnews.com, if we speak aloud, it forces us to hamper our thoughts and process them differently because we engage the language centers of our brain. She also explained that by lecture ourselves we become more deliberate, and this creates a slower process to think, feel and act, rather than being bombarded by our thoughts.

Talking to myself is one way of me in releasing stress as it gives me a sense of happiness every time this 'imaginary conversation' ends well. I may not be the only one who talks to myself but with the help of the pieces of information I got, it relieves me to know that it's not because of a psychogical problem that I am doing this.

Sources: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nbcnews.com/better/amp/ncna918091

https://www.google.com/amp/s/psychologenie.com/what-do-imaginary-conversations-with-yourself-signify/amp

1
$ 7.36
$ 7.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of jekai_88
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago
Topics: Experience, Brain

Comments