How I Gradually Overcome My Shyness

0 21
Avatar for jackandchill
3 years ago

Hands were shaking, knees were trembling, stuttering, neck and all-over the face were getting sweat, and heart beats fast. I do not know if you also have this feeling when speaking in front of the crowd because these feelings are present every time I speak in front of the crowd. I am an introvert since birth. And delivering speeches is one of my greatest weakness. So one day I made something unusual, I pushed my self to do something different. My work assignment during that time was in Bacolod City, Negros Occidental meaning I live away from home. I have no friends and no colleagues except my 2 siblings. My life during that time has no inspiration so I pushed myself to do something unusual, something that could help me to overcome my shyness.

These are the 3 things that I made so I can gradually overcome my shyness:

Searching for a public speaking organization

Yes, I searched "Toastmaster Club" and luckily there are 3 clubs near me. I chose the club that was close to my apartment. I texted the club and they replied me immediately. They informed me about their weekly schedule meeting, in fact, they invited me to visit their club.

Attend the club's weekly meeting

Even though they are all strangers to me I still attended the toastmaster meeting. At first I was anxious because I do not know them and have no idea of the agenda. As the meeting started, the toastmaster of the night introduce me to everyone. They all welcomed me. There was a part of the meeting which they called a table topic, the toast master of the night will chose who among the attendees answer one of the topic, you are only given 1~2 minutes to give your impromptu answer. I was invited to try and yes, I tried, I never refused because that was my goal to start speaking in front of the crowd. My knees trembled, my hands shaked, I stuttered, I got sweat and my heart beats fast but I still pushed myself. I don't care how I delivered my answer, all I cared that time was to speak in front of the crowd.

Officially join the toastmaster club

Yes, I signed up , paid the membership fee and I officially became a member of the toastmaster club last December 1, 2018. I was happy during that time because I was able to mingle different people and speak in front of them.

And I would never forget this picture, because in this picture I delivered my first speech in front of the innovative, smart, intelligent and talented individuals. They let me read my speech because it was my first time but my evaluator told me not to read my speech next time.

I failed to continue my membership in toastmaster club because my mother asked me to go home in Leyte last March 7, 2019. But still I have plan to continue it because I still wanted to enhance and develop my public speaking skill. How about you? What is your public speaking story?

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for jackandchill
3 years ago

Comments