This Side of Lingayen, My Hometown

8 45

I live at the town of Lingayen, the capital of the province of Pangasinan. The town is popular for its beach, and parks. The beach and most parks are being taken cared of by the provincial government, instead of municipal. I'm glad our location is very close to the park (approximately 50 meters from Maramba Boulevard Park) and even close to the market and the beach.

In this side of my town, I'll be sharing some trivia and stories through the pictures I'll be sharing.


Maramba Boulevard (Park)

Maramba Boulevard is a two-street highway by which each street is one-way. Between the two streets, is a center island park stretching less than a kilometer until it reaches another park, government buildings and offices, and the Baywalk and the beach.

Captured after early walking and jogging, and heading back home.

Maramba Boulevard Park is a great place to visit if you're living closer, as well as for jogging and walking. Every morning and late afternoon, there are some people jogging there. The trees over the stretch of the park provided such beautification and shelter during hot weather.

During late afternoon walking and jogging

This area is the starting point from south of the park. Yes, there's a parking area often for a known chapel nearby. At that point, there's a statue of Daniel Maramba, a known hero of Pangasinan, whom the park was named after.

At the side of the park, while walking. That's my brother walking ahead of me.
Bantayog Wika Statue

In the middle of the center island park of Maramba Boulevard is this statue, which was inaugurated in 2018. The structure is in a bamboo form with texts in Baybayin. The texts written is the poem of Andres Bonifacio entitled "Pag-ibig sa Tinubuang Lupa". Those texts will illuminate at night. Since it was around 6pm at that time, and the sun had just set, the texts already illuminate.

Sunset can be seen on this side of the park.
It has to gone dark already.
We're now heading home.

There goes the Bantayog Wika statue in the evening. My phone's camera quality isn't good in dark setting so it's quite blurred.

There are a number of U-Turns in Maramba Boulevard

The area which is close to the north end of the Maramba Boulevard Park. Right there is the entrance to the Capitol Grounds.


Mid-afternoon Walks

I usually walk in the park early morning and late afternoon. Since it isn't that hot at that time, I decided to go to our house in Poblacion area. Instead of riding a tricycle, I decided to walk because I felt it's safer from COVID-19, and I got to have outdoor air. There aren't that much vehicles passing by the boulevard at that time.

This is actually my first time to walk since the lockdown was imposed. I miss the outdoor views, and it's so clean outside. At times, I stopped by an area to breathe and enjoy the outdoors. I haven't got to have such air indoors as I spent most of the days at that time inside the house.

The weather is pretty odd. The sun is out, then hides beneath the clouds. I'm closer to the bridge, yes, there's a small bridge right there, and the guard house. Most of the time, that guard house is empty. Back then, there are guards patrolling around the park to maintain order. It isn't the same anymore.

The southernmost part of the boulevard, and the park right there. The streets look so empty at that time. I'm just around 100 meters to the house from here.

There are old houses and buildings in this area which are from the Spanish times. The trees right there are several decades if not centuries old. Some trees are uprooted before by strong typhoons.

In a separate occasion of mid-afternoon walking. . .

I already got married, and I have someone to walk in the park. Back when rains are not frequent yet, we go to the park to walk or visit someone (close to the park).

It's an afternoon sunshine, and I'm with my wife. The first time since our wedding two months ago. At the left area (can't be seen fully in the picture) is the venue of our wedding.

The grassy area. Could've looked better if it was fully covered with bermuda grass. Since it's the transition of the season yet, the grass didn't fully grown yet.

The sun is still up but the temperature isn't too high. Hence, we enjoyed the walking.

We're close to the house where we currently reside. As you can see the Bantayog Wika statue, we just live nearby.

It's been weeks since we walked in the park because we've had monsoon rains for more than a month. If the weather gets better, we might schedule early morning as an exercise because we're gaining more fats each day.


Hoping you enjoyed this virtual tour in my hometown. That's not all, I'll take you on a tour to many parts of my hometown soon. Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my sponsors below.

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 1.00
$ 0.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 2
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Wow ang daming puno. Aba ganda rin pala diyan. Maybe I would visit that place in the future. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Sana wag nila alisin mga yan. Ang tatanda na ng mga punong yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love those trees! It's a pleasure to walk there for sure for they give shade. Ang cool nung bamboo wika :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo sir. Matatanda na rin mga trees doon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sana tumagal pa sila ng mahabong panahon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta wag po magkabagyo ng malakas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag-iba na ang Lingayen. Las ako nakapunta jan cguro 10 yrs ago pa hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo ate. Dami ng changes. Lalo na sa Baywalk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago