The Wedding Preparation

4 25

For a couple, their wedding is among the most special day, and as much as possible, they wanted it to be perfect. Far from their expectations, it may have flaws that the couple both knew, while guests may not have noticed. Frustrations are normal in such situations.

Our wedding was held last June 14, and it's actually our fourth monthsary. Time has moved so fast, and I got to look back before, during, and after the wedding. My then girlfriend and I came to a decision last December to get married, and picked June 14 as the tentative date. At that time, we are still considering possibilities because of the current situation. At that time, the minister who will be officiating the wedding suggested up to 12 guests. That's a big challenge because as much as possible, we wanted our families to be there. But eventually, we were told to "wait and see" just in case situation improves. If allowed, we may be inviting a total of 50 and a maximum of 60. Eventually, we decided to invite 50 guests. It includes make up artists and photographers.


Preparation

This is a difficult part. The pandemic still exists, and it's my first time to go to the town proper after being stuck at home for almost a year. I availed of Cedula first, and followed by Barangay Clearance. Instead of going to the PSA, I decided to order Certificate of No Marriage (CENOMAR) and Birth Certificate online though the costs is much higher. I received it after 10 days. It took longer due to the Lenten season.

Afterwards, my then-girlfriend and I went to the chosen venue. We initially considered Lenox Hotel in Dagupan City but we don't have to travel from our respective towns to go to the city. I am from Lingayen, my then-girlfriend is from Binmaley. Both towns has the same way to Dagupan. I considered another hotel in our town but when I messaged them, they had poor communication with potential customers. They don't even provide a copy of wedding packages. Thus, we had chosen an events place just around 200 meters from where I live. The coordinator is, so far, kind and easy to talk with. I gave a downpayment of Php10k, and signed the contract.

The next one is the photographer. I don't want some with SDE, and my wife agreed. I messaged the photographer who did the service on my friend's wedding too. I considered someone I knew but the costs are around Php40-50k. As much as possible, we wanted to save some money so we had chosen for the other one. I asked my brother but he hired a different photographer and videographer. He paid around Php30k I think. When I talked to the photographer, the offer is Php25k, and I think that's already affordable for photo and video services, including prenuptial photos.

I'm glad we got some support, and the one we had chosen to be the witness took charge of the wedding cake. We also did food tasting for the reception. My sister gave me money as her pledge to buy wedding rings because she and her husband are unable to go home due to the current situation. My friend (who is the male witness for the wedding) helped us to get a discount for wedding rings.

Wedding souvenirs are ordered from Shopee. My then-girlfriend messaged the shop owner, and the design and the texts are given as well as the instructions. It was cheap but the end product is good. So far, I am satisfied at that one.


We also started to canvas for wedding gown and suits. We did it separately, and I availed of a known, but overrated, wedding shop. I can say overrated because their suit that I rented is far from amazing. It's a package with long sleeve, vest, and slacks. I decided not to get the long sleeve because it has a ballpen mark, and looks too old. Buying a new one is better so I headed to the mall afterwards, and bought one. They took my size but the slacks ended up needing a belt so it won't drop while worn.

I have a discussion with the minister, and followed by the director of the feast. The chairman is another one, so it is normal to get stressed because there are lots of suggestions needed to be considered. Aside from the wedding at the venue, we also had invited others for the wedding via Zoom. Yes, it is another thing to be considered. I have to assign and have a meeting with the technical team. Their service is free because all of them are my friends, and it included my brother.


Too many preparations. I initially expected it won't be too exhausting because guests are only 50 but I never thought it will take a lot of energy. Thus, you should be prepared in a lot of aspects when deciding to get married.


The lead image was captured during our prenup pictorial.

Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 1.87
$ 1.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
+ 3
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Sweet!!! Congrats ulet, Iyan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, as sweet as it looks. Wedding preparation doesn't come easy because there is a lot of stress attached but the good thing is that yours was successful and I am happy about that.

Looking forward to my day, not fixed yet but hoping it happens soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to know that you both still go for it.. You both are so brave amidst the pandemic. Congratulations to the both of you po. Best Wishes!! Happy 4th Wedding Monthsary..🥰👰🤵

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weddings are exhausting dude, I know it is late but still, God bless you both :) and not gonna lie, you guys are brave to have a wedding during Covid lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago