The Second Part - Life in Two Years

1 17

When lockdown began to ease a bit, we're allowed to go outside but it's never the same. I had the chance to walk at the park close to our home, and rarely any people can be seen. Business establishments are closed too. When some businesses are allowed to re-open, there are some which has permanently closed. In fact, one of them close to our home was already demolished.

With some establishments being demolishes, I can see new buildings or structures which I haven't seen since two years ago. New businesses came out. In fact, delivery services became one of the top earners since Covid days, as well as food businesses.


Covid positives, and loss of lives

I am glad that I never got Covid, however, there's a time when Covid got closer to us. In two months, we are surrounded by Covid positive individuals, mostly are my relatives. More than 10 from homes surrounding us got the Covid, and that was the time when I decided not to go out. Even buying our necessities, we never left home. Thank God there are delivery services which I had availed, and they are the ones who bought our groceries, and paid them what is due.

For two months, we relied on delivery services. Though it's not as good as going to the supermarket in person, I still appreciated such services existed.

Before we're surrounded by Covid positives, I loss two of my uncles. The first one died while undergoing dialysis. It's an unexpected news when one morning while with my wife, my cousin called and told me the news.

Two months after my uncle's passing, his brother, the youngest from my mother's siblings passed away too, this time with Covid. It's also unexpected because he received the Covid test that he's positive, and after two hours, he died from it. The LGU was informed earlier that he's positive but the response is quite late.


Some of my close friends became positive of Covid as well. One of them even bid his farewell to his wife. Gladly, he survived, and he seemed he's fully recovered. Actually, a lot of them suffered greatly, and thank God they survived.


At the moment, our town is at Alert Level 1, and no new cases was recorded for several days already. The question is, are they still conducting testing towards individuals who manifests symptoms? Companies do conduct testing towards their employees. They may be the ones who are counted as Covid cases. LGUs seemed has stopped to do more testing, probably the election is coming in just a month? We don't know, but it seems some politicians try to please the people even disregarding laws just to get the votes.


My friends also suffered from loss of a loved one. My close friend's father died at the age of 89. The last time I saw him, he still looks so strong even at his age. Despite being at old age, losing a parent is very painful as I even lost my parents.

Three weeks ago, these three siblings who are so dear to me, their mother died in a sudden. She died of aneurysm, which survival of patients is rare in such a case.


I'm able to go outside already, and funny that there are many road constructions. Is it really for the good of the many? Partly. Some reconstructions are not necessary since the roads are still okay. They do it, as many people complains, because elections are coming, and it will be the source of campaign money.

What's funny is a road in Dagupan City which construction was started before Covid isn't finished yet. Parts of that road which are already concrete are newly plastered with asphalt, which speaks volumes with regards to the quality of the project.


Gradually, we are going back to our normal lives. Before Covid, I'm still single. Less than a year ago, I got married. I'm happy spending my life with my wife now. I am with someone who will help me in adjusting as we both go on our journey to normalcy.


Thanks to my sponsor/s below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 1.10
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Aw, that's sweet to have a companion that brings you joy. I laughed when you stated the truth that the government set aside some facts about covid for the sake of election 2022 and how they are now doing things as constructions to please the people. After election, will their promises be realized? Will politicians recognize or ignore the needs of the people after getting the position they ever wanted?

$ 0.00
2 years ago