Memories of the Day Before the Lockdown

3 31

March 2020 is the month which completely changed our lives. Covid19 became a pandemic, and lockdown was imposed during the middle of the month. We heard new terminologies of quarantine like ECQ, GCQ, etc. We have no idea what to expect.

Lockdown was announced in our town Monday at that time, and it was effective Tuesday, March 17. However, some places has started strict protocols prior to that date. I went to Dagupan City for our meetings in sign language Sunday, March 15. I am not supposed to travel because of a fake news regarding activities with crowds being prohibited. Only few people are around. They are already aware of the virus, and conspiracy theories doesn't have that much influence back then.

It took me almost an hour waiting for a bus ride. I have worries, and I was thinking of just taking a tricycle ride, and I'll pay with higher fare.

As seen in the picture, there are few vehicles in one of the main streets of the city. It is so clean, and no other people in the street. It seems Covid scare has already started. Yet, I am confident that our usual life and activities will continue that week.

Monday came, I have to prepare for our needs. Just in case lockdown was imposed, at least we have our necessities at home. I went to my brother's house as I'm going to buy their needs in the market too. I admit I'm getting paranoid of the coronavirus already that I decided to walk instead of taking a tricycle ride.

Walking from home to the market as seen in the picture. Not so much people around. I had already worn my masks while many people are still complacent. I also have my alcohol which I spray all over. However, disinfectant such as alcohol or hand sanitizers are hardly found in pharmacies and supermarket at that time because of the shortage. People are hoarding, while employees of groceries are hiding them to reserve for themselves.

I went to the market around 9am. I finished buying the foods and other necessities around 10am. I have to go to supermarket to buy stuff that are not available in the public market. Because of the long line, I finished around 12:30pm.

The long line I am stuck in to. I have walked around looking for alcohol before that but I cannot find one. Until I saw some individuals carrying alcohol, and I asked them where did they get those, and I was told it's in a certain area so I went there. Gladly, I am able to get one.


When I got home, I took a bath to disinfect. In the evening, the President announced the lockdown, curfew, and the guidelines while under quarantine. I am worried what will happen, and my usual activities will be halted. Curfew would be at 7pm, and I have been calling my brother who's not home yet.

It came as a shock. It was also announced in our town's Facebook page that there are two cases in our town already, and one of them is in our barangay/village. The home of the Covid positive is just around 200 meters from our house. Instead of Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ), our village was placed under EECQ or Extreme ECQ. It means our village will be completely closed, and we are not allowed to leave our homes. We are not given a schedule to go to the market as well.

That time, I was worried how are we going to survive. Our stock at home is not enough for one month. Yes, Extreme ECQ in our village will be 28 days. But I have my hopes that God will not let us starve. So that night of March 16, I prayed that everything will be alright. I have no idea what it will be like the next day. All I can do is just hope.


Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my sponsors below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 2.32
$ 2.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.03 from @Fyangzee24
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I also remember what I did the last day before the quarantine started. I met with a friend who had time without seeing for a coffee. And then I had to queue for hours at a supermarket to buy supplies. I remember later looking for my son at school. At that time, we couldn't even imagine that all of this would last so long.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered also the time when it was first announced that our town will undergo lockdown. I was working far from home, so since every border is not allowed to pass through I was stuck for a month in the apartment I am staying in. I was bored to death, and the feeling of wanting to go home is making me sick. Good thing the LGU from my town helped me to cross the border. When I got home, I was even quarantined for 14 days, well at least I'm almost home. This pandemic really bothered us all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yan din yung mga nababasa ko na experiences sa FB. Napakahirap ng sitwasyon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago