Irresponsible Dog Owners

5 31
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago
Topics: Animals, Pets, True Story

It's good to have pets especially dogs. They can be considered as a best friend. They'll even protect you when intruders attack. There are some people who has treated their dogs as a family member.

Of course, taking care of dogs bear responsibility for the owners. They make sure they're well taken of, and assure no one gets harmed by their dogs. Too bad, some dog owners are not responsible enough, and a lot of people has been harmed.


Here in the Philippines,it is common to see dogs roaming around the streets. There's a law regarding the responsibility of pet owners yet without implementation, it will be in vain. Oftentimes, the local government will act when harm was already done.

As dogs often roam in the streets, for sure many has experienced either being bitten or chased. I had an experience when I was around 7 years old, we are chased by a number of dogs in the street. My cousin told me to open my umbrella however, it was broken due to the chase.

When I was around 11 years old, I used to cross a certain part of the street whenever I go to school (or home) because of my fear of a huge dog freely going out of the owner's gate. My fear was developed since the incident mentioned above that's why I'm cautious. Still, in one incident, the said dog chased me until I'm few meters close to our home. I'm fearful, tired, and lacked breathing when I reached home.

The two incidents gave me fear of dogs but eventually, we had our own dogs. I took care of them preparing and giving them foods, but not to a point that I'll take them with me or even carrying them. They have their own leash, and all I do is take them outside the house to pee or poop. It ended there because the fear remained in me. I also have asthma, and the fur gives me allergy. Still, I grieved when the dogs died. After that, I never took care of dogs despite my wife insisting to have one.

Aside from the two incidents above, I had other experiences being chased by dogs. Dog owners are just irresponsible for allowing them freely walk around the streets. Good thing I always have umbrella as a shield during attack.


Just recently, my close friend was bitten by a dog of their neighbor, who happened to be her in-laws. She's cooking in their dirty kitchen with the door open when suddenly a dog attacked and bitten her. She eventually got injected 26 times to fight off rabies.

She's wondering why she's being attacked. In fact, she gives the dog some foods at times. It just happened that she has her own dogs, who receives the best foods. It might be envy on the part of her in-laws' dog that she was bitten.


There's a story from my wife that she and her brother were chased by dogs often. Her brother is riding the bike while she's on the back. In a house close to their place, they have a number of dogs which chases people including those riding the bike.

My brother in-law was even a victim while being chased while riding the bike when it caused accident. My father in-law came to the dog owner asking for any medical assistance because of the accident caused by the dogs but he declined. My father in-law insisted but the owner gave him merely Php20 which was a big insult. The owner isn't just irresponsible but arrogant as well.


Irresponsible dog owners should learn a lesson. I was so disgruntled in one instance while riding the tricycle, I saw a child being surrounded by huge dogs. I feel bad that I almost stopped the tricycle driver and jumped off to shoo the dogs away. Then I saw the man from the neighborhood who came to rescue, and the dogs ran away.


Dogs should be loved, and humans should be loved too. Dog owners has the responsibility whenever their pet bites anyone. It even caused deaths of many individuals, and prevention is better than remedy. When a person was chased by dogs, it will leave a mark of fear. So be responsible when taking care of dogs.


Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my sponsors below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 1.52
$ 1.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.02 from @Theblackdoll
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago
Topics: Animals, Pets, True Story

Comments

Luh grabe naman yung P20. That's terrible behavior. Ugh. Some people are like that because they have never experienced being in the position of what happened to the other person. Tsktsk.

Also, hirap pag may allergy sa fur di makalapit sa pets much. haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no this is all too painful to read, often times because of lack or responsibility of these stupid dog owners, many dogs lose their lives... it's the mistreatment against those poor animals are the reason why this is happening :/ dogs are animals that act on their instincts and it is the duty of the owners to socialize these pets towards people so that they behave properly... we have so many strays and none of them are violent.. at least in my area... I feel sad for these animals. How hard is it to keep them on leash?? such stupid people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry that you've had bad experiences with my favourite animals (which, no doubt, had bad experiences with my least favourite ones to begin with). I'm a firm believer that there are no bad dogs, only bad owners. Dogs are, at heart, sweet and uncomplicated creatures. Meet them as they are and as they need to be met and they will love you and serve you as the most faithful and loyal companion you'll ever have. But treat them badly and you (and others) will get the same in return.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the problem in my place too. They like to have many dogs but they are not responsible for owning them. Not only is the possibility of getting chased by a dog but also dogs poop everywhere. It's disgusting to look at. I am a homeowner too, but I am well aware of the possibilities that happen if I will let my dog roam anywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really important as the owner of the dogs we have a big responsibility to secure our dogs because if not, it is really dangerous to other people. A big possibility that they will bite if they see other people around them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago