Cause of Sadness

3 27
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago

I have been involved in sign language community by which we educate deaf people. As there is a huge percentage of deaf people are unschooled, we took that responsibility to help in practical things and teach them without any payment.

Being a volunteer, I do work for myself, and support in teaching even traveling before the pandemic came. Since 2020, lockdown and quarantine was imposed globally so we have no choice but look for some ways to reach our deaf students. We're able to do so through videoconference like Zoom, Messenger, etc.

Some of our students has finally passed a phase by which they will help other deaf too. However, I was saddened on their actions by which they decided to cut their ties with us. We didn't take it seriously because many of them decides impulsively so my fellow signers (those who can communicate with sign language) are reaching out to them. I can't just restore the kind of communication I had with them before because what they towards me is something I can easily forget.


I have this deaf student whom I had taught for years. Let me call him "A". Among the four deaf people in his group of friends, he is the kindest and I have no issues with him. When he needs help, I'm never reluctant to lend my hand. I feel bad for him because aside from being deaf, his one eye is almost blind. There came to a point when his vision is dark.

Back when he's still schooling, one of his classmates has unintentionally thrown a stone in his eye. He never told anyone from his family, and it even happened twice. After several years, his parents didn't know until they brought him to the doctor by which I served as the interpreter. His mother can't understand her son fully when signing, and I decided to assist them. Only then that his mother learned about what happened.

He had his eyeglasses yet it didn't help that much. Gladly, he's not experiencing the slight blindness anymore.

I am supposed to invite him on my wedding, along with his three other friends. However, the current condition and his distance won't allow me to do so. I decided to invite them via Zoom by which my wedding is broadcasted. I also sent money for him and his three other friends. No one from the three ever messaged to thanked me. Only this deaf person (whom I call "A" has messaged me the night after the wedding with a "Thank You" message. He's always been grateful to me.

Until recently, he decided to cut ties with me(us). It's not his personal decision I think, rather his three other friends with the influence of their acting leader, the only woman in their group. I had a feeling because he's not responding or even looking at my chats. They just included him, but he never said anything by himself. The video they sent, it was rehearsed.

The sad thing is, the acting leader is using his account to commit cyber bullying and online harrassment. She uses other accounts to make it appear that the message didn't come from her, rather "A" did.

I wanted to talk to his mother soon, and warn that her son is being used by the acting leader, and so that "A" won't be affected when issues or cyber bullying or any legal issues will arise.

I am positive though that my friendship with "A" will be restored. I know he's just being pressured by his friends. Hoping he will decide for himself someday, and not by anyone's influence. Of course, it is part of my prayers being his teacher before. I hope he will wake up someday, and realized he made the wrong decisions. He's just being used by his being friends being from a family with a good financial status. His social media account is even being used for cybercrime. He's being betrayed without him knowing.


Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my sponsors below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 2.17
$ 2.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago

Comments

That's sad.,i do hope your friendship will be restored soonest and that you can warn his mother too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I feel sad that he is just used. If only he can decide for himself. There is a good opportunity for him in a sign language world and he was just used

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too many reasons dear. You explained it perfectly. Loved it. And hello dear, the Devil is happy to meet you. I admire your writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago