Why We Should Say 'I Will' instead of 'I'll Try'

14 38
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Can you think of scenarios when you uttered these words - 'I'll try' ?

I'll try to come on time.

I'll try not to eat junk foods.

I'll try to become better this year.

I'll try to get good grades this semester.

I'll try to lose weight this week.

I'll try to be good this time.

I'll try my best.

I'll try.

I'll Try

Trying leaves a lot of options.

When you say 'I'll try', not doing a certain task is an alternative.

Trying can be an excuse as well for us not to try so hard, to not give our best.

I'll try to come on time means you have the alternative not to come on time, to be late.
I'll try not to eat junk foods means you have the option to eat junk foods.
I'll try to become better this year means you have the option to be stagnant and just be good, not better, this year.
I'll try to get good grades this semester means you have the option to fail this semester.
I'll try to lose weight this week means you have the option not to lose weight this week, to stay with your current weight or gain some more.
I'll try to be good this time means you have the option not to be good this time.
I'll try my best means there's a possibility that you'll do just the bare minimum.

It's understandable because life happens sometimes. You said you'll try to come on time, you left home 20 minutes earlier but emergency happened, you forgot something while you're on your way or you stepped on a dog's poop along the way or worse, your wallet got snatched, containing all the IDs you need. You tried your best to come early yet life happened.

When we say we'll try, we're somehow leaving an option for us to fail. Do we want to fail? Of course not. So why should we settle for that? I don't want myself to try because trying means you'll keep on doing it. It's the process itself.

Failure

I tried my best but I failed. Sound familiar?
We used to express these words whenever we feel like we failed.

But what is failure anyway?
Was it negligence?
Should we call it a failure when we did not meet our goals?
But would you call it failure when you discovered something new about yourself and the situation throughout the process?
Would you call it failure when you became better after the experience?
I don't think so.

Failure is giving up without realizing, reflecting and learning from what had happened.

I will

If we really want to do something, do it. If not, then say NO.

One of the things I've learned in life is to just say YES or NO. No in-betweens.

Don't commit to something you cannot do.

You can't commit to a relationship yet? Say No.
You don't say 'I'll try' because it gives a different impression.
You'll try, so you're not sure? You're not confident?
Would you want a partner like that? I bet you don't.

The phrase 'I'll try' would make us think you're not capable of committing yet.

If you're so sure that you can commit or accomplish something, then say 'I Will'.
Saying this means you're being accountable. It inspires you big time, to do better.

I WILL OR I'LL TRY

Saying I Will or I'll Try probably has their own importance. Whatever works best for you is what's important. We have different discipline styles and motivation to do better.

If you haven't figured it out yet, try to mix different styles - it could be just consistently trying, talking to yourself for better discipline, committing to certain tasks or exploring before you commit.

Do what you've got to do. Be honest with yourself and it will give you the best results. Remember that when you set and utter those goals, it's not about the goals anymore but the making and process of making the better version of yourself.

After all, in life, all we can do is do our best. That goes without saying. Our best is relative - it may not be enough for others but more than enough for some. Only you can distinguish if you did your best or not.


Hola, hoomans! This topic came to mind as I talk with one of our pastors. He used to interrupt me whenever I say those words - I'll try, and tells me 'You're more capable than that'.

Stay awesome, hoomans! 'Til my next article 🤗

January 20, 2022 | 6:00 PM

8
$ 2.63
$ 2.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 4
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

Guilty ako dito. In Bisaya, 'tanawon lang' is parang I'll try na rin, and I always say that. That's why last year, a friend of mine will not stop until I say, "I will...". May strong sense of conviction kasi pag sabihin na I will, I can, I must.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right, sa english kasi ung mga modals na yan diba have different meanings depends on the usage. Thanks for leaving a phrase in Bisaya, may natutunan din ako 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will be more kind to myself. Kapit lang, nakikita ko na ang liwanag. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Guilty ako for always saying I'll try. Lalo na kapag di ko gusto ung gagawin ko hehehe. Maybe I should start reminding it to myself na. Thank you ateeee..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here. I was guilty too. Parang ang easy kasi sabihin na we will try diba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag kasi we will try, parang ang dating eh mapipilitan ka lang gawin un. Pero ung I will kasi is parang obligado kactalaga nad balak mo talagang tupadin sya. Yan ung mostly kulang satin,, kulang tayo sa will to do things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You trying to do something you’re not sure of sometimes yields positive results

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do agree with that. Sometimes. There's no harm in trying, especially when you want to explore something new.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah Btw you’re still watching “our beloved summer ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do! Haha still waiting for the Episode 14 this coming Monday. How about you? While waiting, I'm watching Record of Youth. Have you watched it already?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Episode 14 is out on Netflix already, yeah I’ve seen “record of youth too “ very captivating you would definitely enjoy it .Have you seen “iteawon class ? Forgive my manners Thank you so much for your sponsorship, really appreciate your kind gesture

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lost count hehe I'm waiting for the 15th episode. I did watch Itaewon Class! I like the plot. What's your thoughts? No worries, BigShegs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I loved the plot too amongst others The story telling was top notch likewise the casting l, the casts were amazing There I got to really love “Kim da mi She’s my favorite Korean actress Have you seen “The witch ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Kim Da Mi since her Itaewon days but I love her acting now in Our Beloved Summer. I haven't seen the witch yet. Was it good?

$ 0.00
2 years ago