The Truth About Taking Labels Seriously

15 45
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Are labels really important? We use labels to have the glimpse of clarity. It's like going to grocery stores and finding a specific item, we look for the label Dairy, Drinks or Breads to easily locate it. When we store items at home, especially in the kitchen, we use labels for us to easily identify sugar from salt, flour from baking soda.

Even in romantic relationships, we use the terms single, married, in a relationship, etc. for us to be clear on how we view the relationship, if we're on the same page.

But does it really matter? Is that a big deal?

My friends and I were having lunch when one mentioned my students. Melody, my friend, who's also a teacher, noticed something between our two active students, Mi and Ann (not their real name). She said that Mi was hurt because she always claim that Ann is her best friend for 4 years and it's just recently when Ann told her that she only sees her as a classmate. Well, that pretty much hurt Mi. For those who take labels seriously, it must've hurt so bad.

That's the time when my other friend shared her sad story.

She had a friend in high school who convinced her to take Education as her course in college even though she really likes Accountancy. That friend cried in front of her to convince her to take Education so they can be together in college. My friend, who has a soft heart and pure soul, agreed. They went through thick and thin during their college days.

It was their fourth year in college when her friend admitted that she didn't see her as her best friend, only an acquaintance. It broke my friend's heart. She had given up something important in order to accompany her so-called bestfriend and yet, she's just an acquaintance to her.

Heartbroken, she distanced herself from her so-called bestfriend and promised herself not to give labels when it comes to relationships, like friendship.

Looking back, I think I have never used the term best friend to associate my friends. I don't like the idea of ranking them who's the best because I have a lot of circle.

For me, they're all the best. The others were there for me when I was struggling when it comes to studies, the others were there when I was wasted after a full night's party, and the others were there for other reasons but all of them were there, in different seasons, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish (lol, it sounds like a vow already 🤣)

I also find it hard to put the label 'best friend' for I don't like the idea of my friends being jealous to the one who'll wear the crown. They are all special to me.

But it was nice to wear the title, to be called the best friend. It's like you're the best among the rest of friends, the one who went an extra mile, who did beyond what's expected of you.

What did I learn from these experiences, well, it's the truth about taking labels seriously. If we are to put labels, on things, in relationships, make sure that we are also ready once the time came when we need to take them off.


Talking about labels...

How about you? Have you experienced the same?
Do you also label someone as your 'best friend'?
How important label is for you?

I'd appreciate it if you'd leave your answers in the comment section ❤️

Thanks for dropping by! 😊

February 10, 2022 | 8:38 pm

8
$ 3.16
$ 3.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ahmadmanga
$ 0.03 from @yhanne
+ 2
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

Ohh, that's very sad! If that happens to me, I'd be mad at her and myself. I gave up something because of a pseudobestie. I can't imagine the pain it brought to her. Even a cold treatment is enough to make as wary, how much more na ganyan na ginawa, diba?

I have three best friends. I'm not sure the last one considered me one, but we know each other's secrets even the other two didn't know. We've known each other since bubwit days. Hehe, long story short, naging partners in crime kami tatlo. hehe But the rest of my classmates, I considered them as my closest friends, like brothers and sisters to me. Kasi some of them classmate ko pa since kindergarten, some sa elementary. But those na naging classmate ko sa highschool, naging close ko rin naman.

Maybe that's why I'm a bit reserved sa college friends ko. We're 40, and I was able to friend two lang, like yung close. Then sa other block, 40 din, but hindi lalagpas ng 5 naging close ko. Yung iba parang normal classmates like. Sometimes, if we cross each other, there was no interaction at all nga. hehe May naging close ako pero I can't call them my best friends. Yung tatlo lang talaga.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

More on acquaintance na lang sa college ano? Same din ako sa friends ko nung high school, as in parang magkakapatid lang ehh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo parang ganun lang. Last night nagdinner yung mga classmates ko, di ako pumunta. Hehe kasi feeling ko maOOP ako. Yung bf ko lang ang magiging bridge. Kasi siya talaga ang friends ng lahat. Ako naman ang shadow. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This made me realize, "best friend" for me is a tier, not a person, and I don't care if the people in it considered me a friend or not. (Though I'll be happy if they were.) A few, only two people ever reached it at different times in my life, (I never told them they were in that tier for me,) I think my brother doesn't count if he did he'll be the third one.

I agree that we shouldn't make labels affect how we feel, but at the same time I don't think we should stop labeling because they make things easier.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm with you on that one. That shouldn't be a hindrance for us to put labels. Ahhh yes, tier it is. That's the word! ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I jave never used the bestfriend term when I reached highschool because all of them are unique and they provide me with different needs. Some are listeners, some are gossipers. Some are comforters, some are givers. All of them are best in their own ways.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like your take, every friend is the best in their own way!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have the same reasons although I admit, there were some really give extra effort.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me I want to have labels, simoly because I want to make sure we are in both page. I don't want to assume, it hurts to be disappointed at the end

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly ate. Ako sa relationships gusto ko talaga may label kasi parang you're lost pag wala Diba. Baka mamaya over na Pala sa bakod haha saka iba rin kasi ung feeling na may label.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Assuming ka lng pala, wala karapatan😂 Nasaktan ka na, napahiya ka pa😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry but she changed her mind from accounting to education for her best friend only to be told that she doesn't see her as a best friend!! I would be mad. but I feel like she learnt that she should never compromise on what she wants for other people especially her dreams!! like what was that.. that was sooo painful

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She really did learn from that experience. I felt the second hand pain from her experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sorry for your friend. Well in my case I only have few friends and there's one friend in college whom I considered bestfriend, we were so close back then and up until now though were miles away apart:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're blessed ate. Bihira ang nagsstick thru thick and thin. Kaya nga po eh, I feel sorry din sa kanya. Ngayon tuloy, naglalagay sya ng boundaries sa kahit anong relationship dahil dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago