The Truth About My Eyeglasses

18 55
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Do you wear eyeglasses? If you do, when did you get your first pair of eyeglasses? If you don't, then why not?

Eyeglasses are essential nowadays especially if you're just like me, working from home and uses gadgets all the time.

picture from unsplash

The History of My Eyeglasses

It was the era of Mara Clara - the teleserye of Kathryn Bernardo and Julia Montes, and one of the minor characters there was wearing a cute, Rayban eyeglasses. Since it was the trend, I somehow wished I have mine too.

Whenever I see my classmates wearing eyeglasses with prescription, I somehow envy them. They look cute and cool, and when you're wearing eyeglasses before, you're a nerd and it automatically means you're smart. We have this connotation that those who are wearing eyeglasses love to read! Lol.

I was in gradeschool when I wished I had one. I was in high school when I had my first pair of eyeglasses. My seat was placed on the right side, second row. Our teachers in high school always let us write what was written on the textbook. We cannot complain so we just copy whatever the lesson is. I can still see some of the notes on the blackboard. It's either I'm the one who writes on the board or my assistant. I was always the secretary, from highschool to college. That day, I was tired of writing that I asked my assistant to do the writing on the board. I don't know what happened that day, I was just guessing all the words while I'm copying the notes on the board to my notebook.

My seatmate, who used to be my crush, was teasing me for writing words that doesn't make sense (since I'm just guessing what was written on the board). We had this game that the one who will finish last in writing will treat the other. It's our way of flirting back then lol so I agreed, I didn't know that I need eyeglasses already. I finished last. And if you know me in real life, I really am competitive. I hate losing though I accept defeat. From then on, I asked my parents to have my eyes checked.

It was a dream come true.

It was a dream come true. I had my first ever eyeglasses worth Php 2000 or approximately $80. I am nearsighted (myopic) with 150/150 vision.

At first it was cool, because I can now see what's written on the board clearly but sometimes it gets too demanding. Like when we need to order in a restaurant or a fast food chain, I need to use my glasses to see the menu. By the way, I don't use it always as the doctor said before, it helps if you don't depend on it much. If you always use your eyeglasses, there's a tendency that you'll be dependent on it. I took the advise of my doctor back then. It helped. Until recently, my vision was still 150/150. I don't know if I'm grateful that it's just 150 or be sad because it is still 150 after all these years? Haha Do you feel me? 😅

There are pros and cons of having eyeglasses. My friends and acquaintances thought I'm a snob whenever I don't wear my eyeglasses because I can't see them waving from afar. Blame my eyes! Hahaha

Another thing, my partner used to say "don't trust your eyes" whenever I thought I saw someone I know, most of the time I was wrong hahaha.


Why did I choose this topic for today's article? Because I just got my eyeglasses from Quiapo (for the first time!). Well we usually go to well-known eye clinics but this time, my mom and I tried to avail in Quiapo. Actually, we don't know where to avail in Quiapo because we don't go there since Manila is well known for crowded places and when it's crowded, it's a place where pickpocket is known.

I asked for my friends first on which clinic in Quiapo is reliable. We don't want to have eyeglasses with wrong prescriptions, do we?

So, there we were, in Abesamis. Abesamis is the name of the eye shop. The staffs were friendly, they even give guides on how to clean and take care of our frames and lenses.

Upon checking, my vision went up from 150/150 to 200/225. The doctor said it's not bad for me who always uses my laptop and other gadgets since it is essential these days.

This is the frame I've picked. It's rosegold. After availing our eyeglasses, I wanted to go back to avail another one so that I have a back up eyeglasses if ever I lost/broke this one.

my eyeglasses

How about you? What's your eyeglasses story? Let me know ❤️

9
$ 1.16
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Usagi
+ 4
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

20/20 pa yung vision ko last 2018. But ngayon, not sure if 20/20 parin. Kasi hindi na HD nakikita ko pagmalayo na. Haha. Medyo blurry na mga letters eh. Binili ko lang is antirad, parang di pa ako ready mag-glasses if ever man hindi na 20/20 talaga vision ko.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Whoah, you're lucky! I think nakasira sa eyes ko ung pagbabasa while riding a car tapos pag madilim din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kakapunta lang namin sa Raon kahapon ate, nagpa bago din ng lens si jowa ko mas mura doon at 1k lang inabot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Diba sa Quiapo din yan? Lol di ako familiar sa Quiapo part eh, alam ko lang medyo malapit lapit sila ng Divisoria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo quiapo part lang din pero pag hahanap ka ng eyeglasses na mura lens, sa may raon ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had glasses since 2010. I use this when reading but when not, I just put it on its casing. I am now taking lutein and eyedrops to make my eyes healthy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How was it so far? Mataas na ba grado mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha mine just wearing glass for protection against radiation. Pero more on arte lng😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dyan ako mapapasabi ng sana ol haha ganyan din ako dati kasi kala ko arte lang mga nagsasalamin hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a interesting story of your eyeglasses. I have eyeglasses too but it is for anti-radiation only.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mine also have anti-radiation but it also has prescription lens. Good thing yours is not like mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a nice story of yours about your eyeglasses sis, maybe I need to buy and use that too because my eyes suddenly blurred out when I look at the words from my phone tsk! Eyeglasses is very helpful then but truly that we must not depend on it. Nice meeting you here by the way ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello po, thanks for dropping by ❤️ Buy one sis, helpful kasi talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing has something to do with the mind! I see better when I am in a good mood. An ophthalmologist was banned (censored) by the ophthalmology community for saying and practicing this principle. Search for the book by William Bates - "Better Eyesight without Glasses." It has advice on how to relax and improve your normal vision.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ohhh, this is new to me! I'd definitely check that out!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, please check it. The book is helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Started wearing mine when I was working. 100/150 naman sa akin. It never decreased nor increased. Haha. Tsaka sinusoot ko lang siya if I'm in front of my pc. Nearsighted din ako C kaya kung may kakilala akong Di ko namukhaan while walking, panigurado snob na naman sabihin nun. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan ang ginagawa ko noon, pag magbabasa lang ng book and pag gagamit ng pc/laptop pero ung sakin tumaas ng konti haha Truuu diba snob daw eh di naman talaga nakita nyahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago