The Three Things Before I Sleep

12 42
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Writing has been one of the habits I recently developed and would love to develop more this year. This platform really helped me to pour my thoughts and feelings into writing and process every thought, every word, every feeling, better.

Part of being into journal and planners, before I go to sleep, I write three important things at the end of the day - lessons I've learned, things I'm grateful for and things to look forward to.

Lessons Learned

As a life-long learner I aspire to be, I make sure I learn something new every day. It could be as small as just exploring an application I'm not familiar with or as big as learning something about my field. It doesn't matter if it's a just a bit of knowledge or a big one as long as I've learned something new.

Here are the lessons I've learned today:

  • a small 'how are you?' chitchat with a friend goes a long way

    I asked a friend this question, I wasn't able to get in touch with her for weeks now. It so happen that this friend is going through a hard time and messaging her with just this question really comforted her.

  • healing takes time, don't rush it

    This is the advice I told my friend when she asked for one regarding her break-up from a 5-year relationship.

  • the meaning of the word voimia

    As I scroll and watch videos on tiktok, I encountered the finnish word voimia. TO feed my curiosity, I searched for its meaning. Timely, the meaning is somehow a message for me to carry. The meaning of voimia in English is strength. But it's not just strength, it's a word that when you utter it to other people, you're wishing and hoping for them to have the strength to go through what they need to deal with. Not necessarily positive, it's like an acknowledgement that what you're going through is tough and not easy but I still wish you the strength to go on.

    Pretty, isn't it? I always wanted to name a baby using a name with good meaning. This one's good so I'll include it on my list lol.

Grateful For

One way to end the day is to be grateful of today. So here are the things I'm grateful for today:

  • my friends who acknowledges me as someone they can lean onto

    I don't know what's with the vibes but some of my friends messaged me awhile ago, asking for advices, asking for comfort.

  • the food we had today (my father cooked one of my favorite dishes, pork steak)

  • the sun rays that touched my skin

    Since it's been gloomy and cold these days, I'm so happy when rays of sunshine peeked my bedroom window, touching my skin.

Looking Forward To

As I end January 18, I write the things I look forward to for tomorrow. Since there's no work this week, I disregard any work related activities.

  • reading a book (1st for this month)

    Another challenge I'm getting into, reading 52 books this year. Hopefully, I get to read one tomorrow. I bought books last December but I haven't read them yet.

  • watching a new movie with friends via video call

    My friends and I scheduled a video call just to watch movies with a side of chika. We miss each other but we can't afford to go outside and meet since we live far from each other and of course, COVID is still lurking.

  • see the sun rise

    Hopefully, I get to see the sun rise tomorrow while sipping a cup of coffee. The thought of this makes me so excited!


What are your lessons learned, grateful for and looking forward to? I'd love to read them ❤️

Special thanks to @LuaDesamor for the sponsorship 🥰

Thanks for taking the time to read this routine of mine.

Voimia! ✨

9
$ 2.33
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.02 from @keeneek
+ 2
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

Awww the journaling is kinareer to the highest level. So organized

Gratitude is one of my favorite words in the dictionary.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes ate hehe pag bored at nagninilaynilay, ayan ang nagagawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka doon sa healing takes time ate. Wag natin madaliin yan. Kung masakit pa din, wag natin pilitin maging okay..

Not a fan of journal-ing or what. Pero madami kami ditong planner sa bahay 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Trulala. Dapat talaga hayaan pa kung masakit pa, damdamin hanggang mawala.

Daming pwedeng sulatan, daming planner! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

andaming planner pero wala akong plano sa buhay ate saddd hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am doing devotion and then I read your article. You know what by just writing what you are grateful and what you've learned today will make you day ends with happiness and satisfactory

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a great coincidence. Do you also write yours at the end of the day?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lets all be grateful for what the Lord has given us today and everyday. It is hard to have nothing and to be sick these days. always take care

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Healing takes time. Yon talaga binasa ko ng paulit ulit. Haha. If I have more time in this world then I may be healed for longer but if not, I wish to be healed instantly. 🤧 I have books to read also but don't have the time yet, maybe if I'll go on vacation again kay mama. Voimia sis! Hwaiting!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hoping na pwede ang instant healing, parang instant noodles lang, just add water haha pero parang wala eh. I don't want my friend to use someone to heal, which is ginagawa nya haha kasi masakit un for the other person. I only have a week to read, busy na ulit next week. Voimia!🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

While reading the meaning sa Voimia, nag-iisip na ako ng possible names para sa anak, tapos sa last part, sinabi mo na i-aadd mo sa list. hahahahaha, ang funny lang kasi I have a friend na ganyan din, pagmay naencounter na magandang word, i-add na sa list. Hehe

Wow! 52 books in a year. Are you participating in Goodreads challenge? Kaya mo yan! Jan panaman, tapos dapat talaga basahin na yung pinagbibili. hehe. When I was at my peak in blogging, my reader mode tried to keep up and was on peak, too. Now that I've been on a major writer's block (char, kung makapagwriter's block hehe), I'm also too lazy to read. But I listen to audiobooks, most of the time. Anyway, I haven't tried that number as far as I can remember, until 45 lang ata ako sa isang taon.Last year, I aimed 40 books. Mid-2021, I decided to downgrade it to 12. Grabeng downgrade. hoho

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Would you believe, I also included Hermione's name? Haha Kala mo talaga mag-aanak ng marami in the future haha daming nasa listahan eh.

Yes, I do! Kaso never na ulit ako nakafulfill simula nung grumaduate ako ng college. Back then masipag pa at ang daming time kahit hectic ang sched. Tinatry ko pa makaget over sa reading slump. Hopefully, maachieve ko this year. At yes, dapat talaga binabasa ang mga libro haha magkaiba ang satisfaction ko sa pagbili at pagbasa ng books lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago