The Reason I Was Almost Late at Work

15 35
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

I was at the beach. Not the normal, sandy beach you're imagining. Pebble beach in particular. Lots of rocks, in different shapes, different colors. It was just a few steps away from our home here in the province - La Union. After sitting in front of my laptop the whole week, administering the summative exam of my students, I decided I need a break from everything and nope, k-drama won't do. I needed a breather. We all do.

I asked my uncle if they will go to the sea later at night because I also wanted to go. It's been years since I went with them to the sea and fish. There's satisfaction after fishing even though sometimes, I pity the tiny fishes we caught. They're supposed to grow and have their own off springs but then, their life ended there, on the net.

So, I'm looking forward to my fishing session later on with my uncles. Before I head onto the beach, I made sure I turned off my phone and brought with my my polaroid instax, given by my mom several years back. I'm planning on taking pictures as memorabilia per month using that instax, not because it's aesthetically pleasing but also because I can compile it altogether without the fear of having storage problems in the near future.

As I walk through, I passed by an atis tree. I don't know what's with me but I picked some leaves anyway and brought them with me. My grandma used to say that atis leaves can keep you from being cursed by the ancestor in the anthill (nuno sa punso). She used to tell us scary stories about it so I grew up following this custom.

I can already hear the waves crashing through thousands of rocks. It's was just 4pm but it feels like it's almost night time. The breeze is freezing cold.

Pebble beach in Luna, La Union (a few steps away from home)

I tried to go near the shore so I can pick pebbles for our next bingo session but there's a familiar voice, shouting.

'C! Let's go have some breakfast!'

I looked back and I saw my cousin, Tala, shouting and running. But she was in Palau? How come she's here? When did she come back?

With a lot of questions in my mind, I tried to go meet her halfway.

'Time's so slow, I want to go to the sea already.', she said. I think she heard that we'll go fishing later.

With that, I checked the time. It's 6:19am and I'm running late for work!!!!

So, from that peaceful dream, I hurried to the bathroom, did some sort of ritual for my skin care and went back to the bedroom, on my workstation.

I was almost late for work. My usual waking time is 5:30am and I should be on a meeting video call by 6:30am. Luckily, I checked the time in my dreams or else I'm dead! Lol.

Still grateful for that dream though, I was able to go to my province once again and saw my closest cousin who now lives in Palau. I miss her dearly.

Thanks for dropping by! Til the next! 🥰

January 13,2022 | 6:12pm

6
$ 3.99
$ 3.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.02 from @Usagi
+ 2
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

haha, maybe you misses home or her, I also experienced that. Actually, I am always going home in my dreams

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Or both? haha pwede rin miss ako ng province namin okaya ng pinsan ko. You miss home too ate. Dalaw paminsan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dream very often, almost every night. I often have beautiful dreams and I feel sorry when I wake up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all do feel sad to know it's just a dream haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Juskuuu panaginip lang pala ate 🤣🤣 Sayang kala ko literal na nasa beach ka. Buti na lang naka wfh ka no ate? 🙈

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo haha buti at wfh ako, kung hindi, walang time talaga. Pag wfh konting ayos lang okay na, kahit late na maligo hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pag wfh kamo okay na kahit muka lang hilamusan tapos palit lang pang itaas hahaahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

San ka pala ngayon madam? Ang ganda jan sa La Union ay! Surfing Capital of the Pinas yan eh. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm here in Makati. Dito talaga ako pinanganak and lumaki hehe my father's hometown is La Union, we go there from time to time para lang magbakasyon. I guess gusto na ako pagbakasyunin ng katawan ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That could be a sign. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will share some of my experience for being late..when I was studying I almost feel asleep and I fight for it so I could answer the exam for tomorrow so what I did I drink coffee to fight for dizziness and that I can study all the coverage of exam. But when I woke up it almost 8 am . I was shock and change clothes rushly. All to found out I checked messages there was no class today. Hahah such a wonderful experience of mine

$ 0.01
2 years ago

lol that happened to me too when I was in college, kaya di ako nagrereview sa gabi. I don't trust myself. One time lang ako nagpuyat na as in walang tulog, di ko na inulit haha buti na lang wala kang class, or else, lagot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga buti nalang talaga ...pero nagmumuka akong ingot dun haha...pero nag try na ako mag study nang maagan para Hindi ma late ulit .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko talaga totoo na eh. Haha. Ishare ko nga din ang reason bakit lagi ako nagmamarathon sa umaga. 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Akala mo? haha akala ko rin totoo eh Kala ko makakapagbeach na ulit ako. Gora! Wait ko yan hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago