Saying 'I love you' Without Actually Saying It

11 40
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Flowers. Chocolates. Red. Pink. Couples. Date. These are just some of the things that we can associate with Valentine's Day and how do we really show our love to our loved ones?

Now that Valentine's Day is over doesn't mean that showing our affection and love toward our loved ones is over too. Love doesn't work that way.

If you're going to ask me how I showed my love for my partner, friends, and family this Valentine season, and even if it's not the month of February, let me tell you how.

For me, saying 'I love you' is a big deal. I don't just utter them out of nowhere. Words of affirmation is not really my love language. So, does it mean I don't use these three words? I do, only to limited persons.

Spending Time

You cannot hear me say 'I love you' often but I plan and organize dates and travels.

You'll see me holding a pen with a notebook full of places we should check out, food to try, festivals to attend, dates for reservations, and places to explore.

You'll hear me talking to one of the care takers of a certain lodging, making arrangements, settling appointments.

You'll hear me laugh while we're spending time together, with undivided attention. You'll see my gallery full of blurred pictures for it's difficult to take pictures when we're really having fun.

Acts of Service

You cannot hear me say "I love you' often but I would sacrifice my sleep if it will make your burdens lighter.

You'll see me do your least favorite household chore unexpectedly.

You'll see me preparing a cup of coffee or a meal when you're having a busy day or even finishing that task that's stressing you out.

Giving gifts

You cannot hear me say 'I love you' often but I would give you everything you need.

You'll see me buying that vacuum cleaner you've been eyeing since last year.

You'll see me saving then eventually buying that laptop even though it'd cost me most of my salary for months.

You'll see me buying that dress you put back in the rack after looking at its price.

You'll see me looking and bidding for that limited edition collection of your favorite animation movie.


Receiving Love

And this is how I know my friends, family, and partner love me despite not being told 'I love you'....

My father cooks my favorite meals - when I'm happy, when I'm upset, and when I'm busy.

My mom buying every single thing I need, take note, not wants but needs.

My younger sister who always do the assigned chores to me when I'm busy and when she feels like I'm upset.

My youngest sister who keeps entertaining me (and annoying me) when I'm feeling down.

My friends who travels just to see me (from Cavite to Makati (about 2 hrs travel time)- just to see me for 30 mins), my one-call away friends who would really go an extra mile to make me happy.

My partner who randomly gives me coffee, surprises me with dates, who finishes the tasks that stresses me out, who'd always make time for me.


There are a lot of ways on how they show their love for me, if I'd list them all, it'll probably be a lengthy article.

All of these are done with love without expecting anything in return. Afterall, love isn't just about saying 'I love you', it's also about showing them as well in our own little ways.

Happy Hearts Month, peeps! ❤️


All images, including the lead image are from Unsplash.

February 15, 2022 | 8:44pm

10
$ 3.18
$ 3.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 2
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

Aww so cute. Siguro giving gifts din yung love language ko

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun yung top na love language mo? Sa akin quality time and physical touch 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di natin need na isatinig lagi but by doing some action, they will know how much they really mean to us diba 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tamaa, saka pag puro sabi lang at walang gawa, wala rin sense. Show it to them na lang thru actions 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makikiuso din po ako, happy heart's day po ma'am. Let the action do to say this 3 words that's hard for me say even in my parents. cause I'm the one who is act and do for me to say that person is really important to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako rin po, di ako palasabi nun sa parents but I always show it to them. Ramdam naman kaya for me okay na yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes actions work more than words. I agree on it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Makes me want to sing 'More Than Words' :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love is not actually what we say but it's what we do..Keep loving dear...I love your mentality

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, words are not enough. We should also need to act. Thanks for the kind words, AngeloMario ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago