Cousins Of The Same Age: The Highlights And Challenges

15 42
Avatar for itsmeCguro
1 year ago

Do you have cousins who have the same age as you? Lucky you if you do have them.

They say cousins who have the same age as you have a special relationship because you get along with each other more than the other cousins who are younger or older than you.

In my father's side, unfortunately, I don't have a cousin of the same age. My father is the eldest so we belong to the eldest and youngest set of grandchildren. My youngest sister is the youngest among the grandchildren while I came second. Our eldest cousin is 4 years older than me.

In my mother's side, fortunately, I have two guy cousins of the same age. Lucky! We were born at the same year but they were older than me in months. In my mother's side, we belong to the youngest set of grandchildren because my mom is the youngest in their family. All our cousins in her side has their own families already aside from me and my other two guy cousins.

Having cousins of the same age has its pros and cons and in this piece, let me share with you some of them.

Last month, we were informed that our ate, who's 2 years older than me, is getting married. Actually, we treat her as if she's the same age as me and my two boy cousins.

Our Ate who's getting married is in the middle, on the left side is my boy cousin who has the same age as me and that's me, bungisngis girl on the right side, holding a doll.

The two kids on the left are siblings. The boy has the same age as me and that's our ate, who's two years older than us.

They live in Cagayan because that's where their father works. My uncle there is a politician and they have several businesses there so they can only go here in Manila during their free time. Whenever they go here in Manila, they always make sure to visit me even if they're here for business trips most of the time.

When I heard the announcement that she's getting married, I was excited and shocked at the same time. Excited because finally, she's having her own family. Shocked because I realized we're getting old already. I mean, it feels just yesterday when we were just playing and having trips in Manila Zoo as kids and now, I'll attend her wedding ceremony in a few weeks.

That realization hit me once again. We are getting older. I am getting older.

All my cousins have their own families already except from me, and my two boy cousins. The pressure is real, can you feel it?

For sure, in her wedding, most of my aunties and uncles will surely ask us when we will get married as well as if we had plans already lol. So, what's the best thing to do if people ask questions regarding this matter?

My cousins of the same age are also in a relationship. Event so, we don't like to be asked regarding marriage. Perhaps this is one of the challenges if you have cousins of the same age, when they get married, you too is expected by the family or the society to get married as well as if you have the same timeline in life.

We only share the same experiences when we were younger but definitely we have our own aspirations and goals in life.


Do you have the same experience? What did you do when your relatives asked you about marriage just because your cousin got married?


July 4, 2022

8
$ 1.85
$ 1.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ching
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
1 year ago

Comments

having a cousin the same age is really fun, but it's a different story with me, I have a cousin who is not far from me, but my cousin often invites me to make noise for useless things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah... I and my cousin used to plan on getting married the same day with the same color and style of jackets. Hahaha, now he's a father of two and I'm still single. But no hard feelings, we may have the same dreams but we woke at different points.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That would've been fun! We used to plan the same haha but here we are, taking different paths.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, my cousins same as my age have also families. I also have a child, but unfortunately not married yet became single. Now, they are eyeing me every time if I have new a love. They pressure us but they are not the one who will live the life. Why would I listen? Haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I like your reason ate. Tama nga naman, why would you? My cousin who's getting married also has a child already now lang sila ikakasal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di naman sila yung maghihirap eh, kaya just get married if you are ready.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have cousin we born the same month and year June 1999, we were close yeah but my second cousin that was female also born 1999 is my sister in crime haha. Dami naming mga kagagohan even now we're both 23, we never changed haha. Isip bata padin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dibaaa! Haha parang tropa lang pero relatives. Kakatuwa ung ganyang bonding.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a cousin on my mother's side who has the same age as me and I hate it because the two of us are always subject to comparison by our aunts. Plus, she also treats me as her competitor. Whatever I do, she would copy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww that's a challenge. Siguro kaya di ko yan naranasan kasi only girl ako sa mga ka age ko na pinsan. Ang sad lang na kinocompare kayo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The bonding with an age mate cousin is exceptional, Sometimes you find your closeness with them so thick more than your the bonding with your own siblings

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, it's like having a friend for life by default.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not close to my cousins except sa mga naka tira din dito. Ung sa Lola side ko Kasi nasa bicol and then sa Lolo side ko Depende sa status sa buhay 😂. Puro sa mother side ko Yan. Sa father ko totally Wala

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aigooo, hirap pag ganon ang basehan ate haha Now lang kita nakita yata dito? Ikaw pla yan hhahaha buti napadpad ka here sa article ko. Di rin kami masyado close sa father side except sa pinaka panganay na magpipinsan kasi she used to live here sa amin before she went to Palau

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakalimutan ko din bat Ako napadpad dito 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago