Mysterious Shadow

1 32
Avatar for itscrowbar04
3 years ago

I grew up in the 52 year old house owned by my grandmother. People don't like that house, especially those that set foot in it for the first time. They said that it had a bad aura and that it was haunted. On my part, i was not afraid, maybe because i haven't seen a ghost yet. But I've seen a shadow of a man more than a couple of times, walking to and fro in the kitchen while i made myself a cup of coffee. I remember a long time ago when that same shadow brought chaos to our home and left us a frightful experience that we won't forget.

It was a hot summer night and my sister Jane and Heather asked my cousin Lizzie to hang out with them in their room. Our nanny, Tessa, soon joined them. They talked for hours, sharing different jokes and stories. They finally dozed off at quarter past midnight.

Suddenly, Lizzie leapt from the bed and woke them all up. The four of them stared at each other with puzzled looks on their faces.

"What's your problem? It's only one in the morning," Jane asked her, rubbing her eyes.

Lizzie swallowed hard, her face ashen white. "Something cold touch my back and caressed my hair," she said. Lizzie looked really frightened.

"Me too," added Tessa, "But i just ignored it. I didn't want to scare anyone. Someone touched my feet and legs and it was really cold."

Everyone exchange glances. "Don't try to scare us," Heather told them. "This isn't a good joke."

"Shhh...," Jane interrupted. She ordered them to be quite for a moment.

There was silence​. Then they heard something that made the four of them jump out of bed. They squeezed themselves into one corner of the room, their mouths hanging open.

"How is that possible?" Jane muttered under her breath.

It was the old electric floor polisher that was outside their room. Somebody had turned it on. No one else was there and my brother was fast asleep in the other room. How could the floor polisher work even if it was a broken?

After about 5 seconds, it stopped. Nobody was able to utter a word.

But that wasn't all. They didn't know what was happening in the other room.

My brother John thought that he was dreaming. He woke up, sweating all over and could hardly breathe. He suddenly froze; he couldn't move his body, as if someone was holding him tight. Then he found himself floating a few inches from his bed. He tried to reach the rosary under his pillow but someone was stopping him. He couldn't move his hand. He opened his eyes to see who it was. He was shocked to see a man's figure, lifting him up. The man had no face. In fact, he saw nothing but a man shadow beside him.

My brother gave out a very loud scream. He immediately fell back on his bed. The shadow was gone in an instant. Without another word, he ran out of his room as fast as he could without looking back. He knocked on my sister's door before he headed downstairs. "Jane, Heather, get out of your room now!" he cried.

Jane, Lizzie and Tessa exchanged frightened looks, save for Heather who was frozen in her seat, looking blankly at the window. Lizzie and Tessa got up and were on their way out. Jane was grabbing Heather's hand but Heather did not move.

"What's wrong?" Jane asked her, terrified.

There was no reply.

"Come on! We must go now!" Tessa shouted at them. Tessa and Lizzie were the first ones to leave the room, followed by Jane who was pulling Heather along.

I was awakened​by a loud knock on my door. I was in my parent's room at that time. It was half past one in the morning. My parents asked the girls what had happened. Lizzie told us everything - from the cold hands touching them to the electric floor polisher. Then my brother told us what happened to him in great detail.

"A shadow?" Heather finally managed. She was silent all this time. John nodded. "Why?" he asked.

" I saw him too. He was at our window."

Jane, Lizzie and Tessa looked at her at the same time. I was scared from hearing their stories. They all stayed in my parent's room until morning. None of us dared sleep. We talked about it over and over again. We were all scared that man's shadow might show up again.

It has been a long time since this happened but I'm sure the man is still in our house; I already saw him with my own two eyes. Every time i see him walk behind me at night, i wonder how long he's going to stay with us. Our house had already been blessed but he's still there. Until now, we don't know who he is and what message he want to tell us. I wish i knew what it was.

Note:

  • All the names that includes in these article is not there true name i used an alternative name for them.

  • Thanks gor those who takes time to read this i hope @TheRandomRewarder will see it one day.

  • Have a nice day😇.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of itscrowbar04
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itscrowbar04
3 years ago

Comments

Wow, love your story, hope you can write more . check out my today's writings bro. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago