6 Things I Learned From My First Year of Blogging.

6 60
Avatar for its_arsl
1 year ago

If I had to list 10 things I learned the hard way in the first year of blogging, these would be them. I've been blogging for about a year now and it's incredible how much there is to learn about blogging. Now and then I'm confronted with a question that no matter how often or how much research you do on it, there still seems to be something you're unsure of. Some questions remain unanswered until you find someone who knows their stuff.

Writing is a skill, not an art. If you choose to be a writer, it's not easy to learn how to write well – but you get better over time. Over time you'll craft a starting point for yourself in blogging and will continue to grow and improve with every post. If you're new to blogging or haven't done much yet – don't worry, I've got some tips for you! Good luck out there in the blogging world, and let me know if anything particularly stood out from this list!

1: I learned how to take better blog photos.

I've always been a fan of photography, but I never really knew much about it until I started blogging. I'd take pictures on my phone and upload them to Instagram, or use an app like Snapseed or Lightroom to edit them later. Now that I have a blog, taking good photos is even more important!

The first step is learning where to point your camera lens. I didn't know what was in front of me when I was taking these photos — that's why they look so weird! But with practice, you'll get better at it by simply looking at your subject and remembering what it looks like from different angles. You can also get help from apps like Manual or Camera+ (Apple) or Snapseed (Android)

.

Once you've got your angle down, start snapping away! If you're using a smartphone camera, zoom in as close as possible without getting blurry — then adjust the focal length of your lens accordingly so that everything comes into focus without blurring out at the edges. This will give your photos a lot more depth than if you're just using one focal length for everything.

2: I learned how to use Canva.

I learned how to use Canva. I discovered that the free plan is enough for most people and that you can save money by creating your own paid account. You can also get a free plan with unlimited images, but I didn't see a reason to invest any more money in this app than it took to create my first blog post.

I also learned that there are many different ways to make money through blogging. Some bloggers have out-of-the-box ideas, while others have more traditional plans they follow along with their blogs. I decided to follow the latter route and offer product recommendations on my site as well as links back to Amazon or other sites where people can buy my recommendations.

I learned how important it is for bloggers to understand what kind of content works best for them given their audience, goals, and brand identity (both personally and professionally). For example, if you're an entrepreneur who wants to sell products online then it makes sense for you to write about those products rather than general content topics like travel or food because it's more likely that people will want information about those specific products instead of generic info about travel or

3: I learned how to design beautiful Pinterest images.

Pinterest is a great place to find inspiration, but it can also be overwhelming if you're not prepared.

Once you get the hang of how Pinterest works, it's easy to make your own boards and pin images that inspire you. But I found that out the hard way — by trying to pin the same thing over and over again.

It's so easy to get trapped by other people's pins, even when they're not particularly good or relevant for your own work. It's important to remember that Pinterest is only as powerful as what you put into it, so don't let anyone else's board become your own!

4: I learned how to format my blog posts for SEO rankings.

I learned how to format my blog posts for SEO rankings. I have been using the same old WordPress template for all my posts since I started blogging in 2009, and it just isn't cutting it anymore. My content was getting lost among all the other blogs in my niche, and I needed a better way to stand out.

I found a great tutorial on how to use headings, subheadings, and images to create a more engaging and eye-catching blog post. If you do want some help with your blog posts, I'd highly recommend checking out this tutorial on how to write an effective blog post.

5: I learned how to promote my blog more effectively on Pinterest and Instagram.

I was told that I was not a good blogger because I didn’t promote my blog enough. I was also told that my audience was too small and they would never find me. Both of these things were untrue, but there is truth in these statements.

The first thing I learned is that you have to put yourself out there and promote yourself more effectively on Pinterest and Instagram. You need to get in front of your audience and make them aware of what you are doing, so they can learn from your experience.

The second thing I learned is that the bigger your audience is, the better chance you have at making a successful blog or website. If someone sees something on your blog once, then they will pass by it again the next day, but if they see something interesting every day for weeks or months, then they will be more likely to read and support your content by sharing it with their friends or followers.

6: I learned that it's okay if you don't know everything at first. There is so much to learn and you have time!

I am a slow learner by nature and I tend to procrastinate when it comes to learning new things. But this year, I set myself a goal of learning at least one thing a day. I read more than ever, watched videos and podcasts, and took notes on everything I wanted to remember.

I'm so glad that I did this because now, I know so much more than when I started. The key is not just to take action but also to commit yourself to doing what you need for the long-term results.

Takeaway: These lessons will help you improve your own blog if you are starting out or even if you have been blogging for a long time!

I hope you've enjoyed reading this post. I learned a lot during my first year of blogging and I'm excited to continue that process in the future. It's been a fun, thoughtful, and exciting experience so far, and I'm looking forward to seeing what the future has in store!

8
$ 1.42
$ 1.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Unity
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Avatar for its_arsl
1 year ago

Comments

What you mentioned are all the help one needs to start blogging. I am using all of the apps except Snapseed. I need to study Snapseed before using itm I edit my picture using Canva and I am free member.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can join Canva Pro by searching for the keyword "canva pro team invite link free" or you can search this keyword on youtube and you will get canva pro

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learn some image manipulation skills on your computer, not on an external website, such as C-a-n-v-a. Follow me for my articles on Linux, Free, and Open-Source Software.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for sharing that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago