Virtual Internship: My Journey as an Intern in a Local TV Station

Avatar for itsCbitC
2 years ago
Sponsors of itsCbitC
empty
empty
empty

It was tough, yet it was all worth it!

This is itsCbitC, and I am going to share with you through this blog my experience as an Intern in a Local TV station in the Philippines.

To give you some personal information of mine, I am currently a Bachelor of Arts in Broadcasting student in the state university somewhere in the Philippines, Bulacan State University. I am a fourth-year student, and will be graduating this year!

Eversince childhood, I have been dreaming of becoming a reporter, media anchor and anything related to mass-communication job. I was and still dreaming to work on a broadcast media company. I must say that I was able to experience it for I was given a chance to be an intern in a local TV station.

My overall virtual internship journey was a rollercoaster ride. I belong to the first batch of K-12 curriculum in the Philippines, which is also the experimental batch. My 3 years and a half of being a mass-communication student is spent virtually because of the pandemic, and so is my internship, and that is the purpose of this content.

In my almost four years in college, so far, I am amazed how I able to cope with the triumphs, especially since the pandemic began. Too many ups and downs, and there were a lot of points in my life I thought of giving up and stop myself from schooling— but I did not let myself swallowed by uncertainties so here am I, still fighting for what I started.

Every college student has to experience immersing themselves to a corporate world as their pre-training before graduating and entering real-life battles. And I am one of those students. I spent my internship in a local TV station in the Philippines— Radioworld Broadcasting Corporation-CLTV36. My internship was to render an overall 200 hours, which I started to work from November 18, 2021 up until January 7, 2022.

photo credits to CLTV36.TV

My roles as an intern in that company were; a transcriber, media researcher and a content writer. To give you insights what these roles mean, here are the job description to each role;

  • Transcriber

Transcribers create written transcripts of live proceedings, as well as audio and video records. They operate in a variety of businesses as freelancers or full-time employees, although those in the legal or medical fields will require particular knowledge. Transcribers use a variety of software and are often responsible for administrative duties.

  • Media Researcher

Information from news organizations, government reports, online forms, blogs, news sites, and other sources is collected and analyzed by media research experts. These analysts use this publicly available data to develop research, marketing, and planning reports for businesses, governments, schools, universities, and other organizations.

  • Content Writer

When customers or clients ask for modifications, you should revise your content. Assisting with the creation of style guides or making suggestions for revisions to ensure that material is consistent and understandable. Assisting consumers in defining their content requirements. Performing research on any subject.

The aforementioned roles above were my parts as an intern. During my virtual intersnhip, I was able to encounter difficulties. There were times that I was given a short-period of time to submit the given task to me while I was experiencing technical difficulties on my end. There were times that I was far from the end of the project, but I was running out of time. Despite all that, I was able to survive it.

The struggles since the overall 200 hours were done virtually, my patience was tested. My time-management skills were put to the test. Additionally, I have learned that there are a lot of things I will get to experience when I start to work on a real corporate world.

Morals:

  • Accountability is essential. It avoids unproductive behavior.

  • Responsibility is significant because it gives people a feeling of purpose while also helping them build resilience in the face of hardship on a personal and societal level.

  • Dedication is important since it keeps you going no matter how difficult the job or task is. You will always find a cause to keep doing what you are doing if you are dedicated to it. You will eventually achieve success if you constantly looking for reasons to continue forward.

  • Time management allows you to prioritize your duties and guarantee that you have adequate time to finish each assignment. When you're not hurrying to finish anything before a deadline, the quality of your work improves.

  • Being happy and enjoying what you do at work boosts productivity and improves performance.

  • Patience improves your ability to accept setbacks and greatly increases your enjoyment of life. "Good things come to those who wait," as the saying goes. Patience allows you to persevere and make more productive decisions, which can lead to greater success.

I must say that it was maybe a rollercoaster ride, but I was able to, somehow, fulfill my dreams to experience working in the media industry. As a person who has a lot of dreams, as a person who is passionate of her course of study, as a person who loves mass-communication... IT WAS ALL WORTH IT!

For more articles from itsCbitC, check out the following links below:

Wholesome Netflix Movie Recommendations to Watch During Your Leisure Time https://read.cash/@itsCbitC/wholesome-netflix-movie-recommendations-to-watch-during-your-leisure-time-ad924830

Some Kind of Crypto-thing for Newbies Like Me https://read.cash/@itsCbitC/some-kind-of-crypto-thing-for-newbies-like-me-d5bf8082

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of itsCbitC
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsCbitC
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments