My super duper late graduation in 2010 but an official graduate in 2014

23 31
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago
*Off the bucket list* yahoo! Everything paid off!

Associate in Computer Technology - 2

School Year 2005-2007

After 7 years I decided to graduate...

October 18, 2014

The face of a happy graduate!

I really had no intention to walk on stage because I thought last 2010, I was a graduate. I went back to CIT to get my credentials but I found out it was not processed so I have to start all over again.

I didn't expect to attend my own graduation after my Hong Kong trip. I guess it was perfect timing that I only spent a few days in HK and fly back to Cebu. But definitely, I'll go back to HK for a longer trip. I'll continue the digital nomad lifestyle.

Backstory

I took up Information Technology at CIT. When I was in high school, I chose this course because I need to be practical. Taking Information Technology is a 4-year course. In case, I cannot finish this bachelor's degree course, in 2 years, I can have a diploma for an associate degree in Computer Technology.

My aunt (mother's sister) and my uncle (father's brother) helped me with my studies. My aunt helped me with my tuition fees. My uncle with my daily commute fees. One day, my father told me to stop studying because he wanted the money of his brother.

I stopped and I never wanted to argue with him. I decided to find a job. I was working in a sports shop. Moved forward and found a job at IT Park. I resigned and focused on my online job.

Related Article: Why did I quit my office job in 2010?

A previous classmate sent me a message on Facebook asking me how I was. I was totally fine since I was already working online. He asked me why I stopped studying. Or if I have plans to go back to school. I said no. When he realized that I have passed my second year, he suggested that I should process my graduation for an associate degree so that I could have a diploma. He gave me a great idea so I went back to the university. Actually, at that time it wasn't a university.

So many things to do before your graduation. You need to go to different departments or teachers to sign my clearance. I completed everything. The next step is to go to Joecel's Studio, the official partner photographer of the school for graduating students. Based on the first photo above, my hair was long and that was in 2010.

I went back to the university again to submit my photos to be included in the yearbook. I went to the registrar's office but I forgot which department I had to go to. And the last step is to pay the cashier.

Before, I had the option not to attend the ceremony as long as I can collect my diploma and yearbook after. I was talking to the cashier. The cashier was very chatty with me and she asked me so many questions. Until I realized I was being cheated a few years after.

So, this is what happened. She told me I can give her 2,000 pesos as she would process everything for me. I gave her the money without any official receipt in return. She said I don't have to go to the stage to attend the ceremony. I would just return and collect the diploma, transcript of records, and other credentials.

I went back to the university in 2014 to get all my credentials. I went to the registrar's office for ACT-2. I asked the Mister of my credentials, he was looking for my information, and he said I wasn't an official graduate in 2010. I told him what happened to the woman who asked for my 2,000 pesos. He told me that the woman was gone already because of money issues. She had a lot of debt and had anomalies with students because of her tactic of asking for money. Damn, 2,000 pesos was a big money so I had to let go of it. So I need to process my graduation again.

But I had my clearance signed and submitted my graduation photos back in 2010. I went to the department where I submitted my photos. They kept it. What a blessing! So I officially processed my graduation for October 2014.

Then I told the Mister that I had a trip to Hong Kong with friends from October 14 to 16, so I asked him if it was okay if I could attend the practice after my trip. He said attending the practice before graduation is a must.

It was funny because I realized I'd been to 2 countries (Malaysia in 2013 and Hong Kong in 2014) before I officially graduated in ACT-2.

I became an OFFICIAL GRADUATE WITH FLYING COLORS!

My graduation photos with my short hair. And I don't think I felt so old that time. Hahaha!

6
$ 1.36
$ 1.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 2
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

Comments

Congrats sis! Sana all nka graduate College ba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heeh salamat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congrats rox... pwede ra jud d ay 2 years ra noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo pwede ra 2 years. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kay ang skills nakuha na jd nimo rox.. unsay usually work nimo sa upwork before? Or upwork ba to or different?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Odesk sauna ug Elance. Then ge merge nahimong upwork. Lagot ko nag merge kay daghan ko clients sauna Odesk ug Elance pa to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hala noh unsa usually work nimo ddto rox

$ 0.00
2 years ago

VA more on admin data entry, naa pod photo editing job

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahh i see...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations sissy 🎉✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe thanks sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang swerte moh naman sis, sana marami pang mga opportunity nah dumating pah sayo, keep safe lang always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa ngayon, ang hirap dito sa France coz i can't speak the language. pero if malaki na kids ko mag aral ako sa language. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga ehh, mahirap talaga sis bsta hindi kapa marunong sah language Nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo. hirap makahanap ng work dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ganda nmn ng journey mo sis, Traveling another country with great opportunity dn pra sayo nag aantay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How i wish may opportunity ako dati sa ibang bansa. Pero gala2 lang ako that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, yan tlga goal mo sis nuh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, goal ko yan mag travel once a year sa ibang country. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damm scam in education line is the worst thing a student can experience. I hope the scammer gets the punishment for her deeds. I'm a graduate dropout lol too much issues with life, currently working on full digital field. If the issues get better I will go for the degree. But I hope I won't need it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Her punishment was the university kicked her out as an employee so she lost her job. I hoped my $50 was a huge help for her though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was expecting something law based punishment like police haha. Who knows she still does that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's fine. I don't know where she is. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago