My Deer Feeding Experience in Nara, Japan

10 42
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Japan

Day Trip to Nara, Japan from Osaka

I stayed in Osaka for 5 days but I haven’t blogged about it. We woke up the next morning and visited Nara, Japan to experience the politeness of our deer(ie) friends. Thus, I experienced deer feeding in Nara, Japan.  I was excited to see them in person. From Osaka, we went there by car. Thanks to the Kitagawa family, with my cousins and nieces.

Took this photo while inside the car. This area is not even fenced so if you want to get out of the car, you can stay near them and pet them for a while. I’ve seen a warning sign that says, ‘Watch out for crossing deer.’ A hit and run is a criminal offense so drive safely.

Video: Deer Feeding Nara Japan

Here’s a video of our experience of the deer feeding Nara Japan. We bought some crackers as a snack for the deer. I was amazed at the bowing deer. A deer was waiting for us as it knows we got some crackers.

How to Feed the Deers in Nara, Japan

There is a proper way of feeding the deer in Nara. Hold the crackers overhead and the deer will bow its head. They say that bowing three times is ideal before giving them. Next, hide the cracker behind your back and wait for the second time to bow. Lastly, hold the crackers overhead for the last time and it will bow for the third time. This is the best time to give them the reward, the cracker.

Obviously, we had fun feeding the deer in Nara, Japan. When I was running out of crackers, one deer was behind me waiting for me to give him. The others say that the little ones will become aggressive just nipping on your clothes and snatching the crackers out of your hands.

Deer Feeding just in front of Todaiji Temple


Our goal for that day was to experience the deer feeding in Nara, Japan, and visit the Todaiji Temple. It was very hot that time in the month of May. Later on, we just walked our way to Todaiji Temple.

Please check out more photos:

Originally published at: https://www.itravelrox.com/2018/01/14/deer-feeding-nara-japan/

Check out my Japan travel series, here's a previous article:

I met Draco Malfoy in Tokyo, Japan for real!

5
$ 0.07
$ 0.03 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Japan

Comments

One of my dream travel destinations, Japan! Ang cute ng mga deer mukang maaamo. Indeed a fun day for you, sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

napaka polite nila pag binigyan ng food. as in super cute. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I aspire to become like you. A travel blogger/vlogger. Keep it up and more travels po <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yon nga, dami ko pa old trips di pa na update.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow Japan is on my bucketlist. Your trip seems so fun!!! Btw, I just followed you on noise.app recently <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i will follow you, sis. yes, super saya ng japan. dapat puntahan mo. japan jafun. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sarap ng buhay sis yung dami munang napuntahang lugar more places to go sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo nung dalaga pa inenjoy ko muna mag travel. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami m na npuntahan sis.. yt mo yan? Follow kta ,😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes po. it's my YT. thanks. dami ko pa need upload. hehe mga lumang vids from old trips.

$ 0.00
1 year ago