I've been underestimated many times that I can not do it!

3 28
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago

How many times many people make me feel weak. Many times I've been underestimated. That I cannot do it. Just because I am a girl. Just because I was dependent from my mother. Just because I never discovered the world alone.

I had so many examples but I am not sure if I could remember everything. I hated the fact that their way of underestimating me made me feel not confident. I lost my self-esteem.

Not sure why I was surrounded by people whom I felt invalidated me. It could be a parent, a relative, or an acquaintance.

Let me share a few examples:

  • My mother discouraged me to learn how to crochet

My mother was right-handed and I am left-handed. I was eager to learn because I was interested to make my own bags and cellphone pouches. At first, it was difficult. I need to mirror her. I was impatient but I made it.

In high school, I taught some of my classmates to learn how to crochet even though a lot of them were right-handed. I encouraged them that it would be easy for them since it was originally for right-handed persons.

  • My father discouraged me to learn how to drive a motorbike

I was 12 years old when I got interested with motorbikes. My used to have a motorbike and he taught his son at 8 years old. It was summer so it was time to learn a new skill. I told him I wanted to learn. He discouraged me just because I am a girl, underweight that I could not handle a motorbike. I insisted and cried. I learned.

In my solo travels in different countries, I was able to drive a motorbike alone. It felt so good to drive a motorbike while traveling as I can do my tour alone without the help of a tour guide. I have the freedom to go where ever I want to.

That's why we should encourage women how to drive a motorbike and a car. I regretted for not learning to drive a car. It could have been a useful skill here in France.

  • An acquaintance told me I could never go to Europe

I booked a one-way ticket to Myanmar for my backpacking journey in 2018. I posted it as a status and suddenly, an acquaintance left several comments the way I travel.

Before the incident, he asked me advice on how to get a Japan visa but I told him and his girlfriend that it would be easy for them since they work in an office. They have good salary and they got their Japan visa.

They got their Schengen visa for Europe. I am happy for them since they could actually afford.

Suddenly, he just told me that it would be impossible for me to go to Europe since I never work in an office. I've been working as a freelancer that it would be difficult for me to be granted a visa. He humiliated me in the comments.

He was questioning me why I keep on staying on cheap hostels? Unlike them, they stay in good hotels worth of their money. I am a budget traveler. Him and his girlfriend are luxury travelers. Do I need to explain more?

So many things have been said already that it felt I had no right to go to Europe just because I got denied my South Korea visa and Canada visa. He preferred to discourage me and humiliate me.

I met my French husband and he did his best to enter Europe. I did many research as well. I got denied on my first Schengen visa. I learned my mistakes. I lacked proper documents so I need to meet all the requirements to get a visa. I got a Japan visa for multiple entry. Having a ME visa helped a lot. I did my second try to get a schengen visa. I got it.

Well, thanks to my researching skills and to the other people I really don't know who gave me tips to get that schengen visa. It's funny how strangers encourage you to get that visa but not your acquaintance.

What's the point? People you know may discourage you but don't stop, don't quit, don't give up. Always persevere and do the things that were impossible to make it possible. There's no harm in trying. You may fail many times. But if you spot your mistakes and correct them, it would help.

Help yourself. Encourage yourself. Don't mind other people when they say it is impossible.

I am a person who loves to encourage other people. If nobody encourages me, then, I have no choice but to encourage myself.

6
$ 1.10
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 2
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago

Comments

People gets surprised din how I handle stuff alone. I have internet to look for tutorials, and I got used to dealing with stuff alone. That's why nagugulat sila usually sasabihin nila "Tapos ka na sa ganto ganyan? Paano?"

Hahaha, proud moments.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just need to believe that you can do it. Now, look at you ate. Just remembering those moments already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kani raba noong discouragement sis maoy mag pa encourage natog samot nga suwayan og buhaton jud nato unya e prove sa atong self nga kaya nato.

$ 0.00
1 year ago