How I got my first Japan tourist visa with a PH passport?

8 37
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago
Topics: Japan, Travel, Visa

Here it is, sharing with you how to get a Japan tourist visa without Income Tax Return. After my Hong Kong trip last October 2014, I found a cheap flight to Japan and booked a flight right away. I wasn’t even sure if I could get a visa but I was really hopeful. This was part of my Plan B if Plan A was a failure. No, I don’t want to tell you what Plan A was.

How to Get a Japan Tourist Visa without Income Tax Return?

In 2015, I tried my luck to get a Japan visa without ITR or without an income tax return just because I am not working for any company in the Philippines. It was also the time I was active doing volunteer work in a non-profit organization.

I booked a flight for May 2015 trip to Tokyo, Japan, and told myself I still have the chance to save money. I did some research on where to go and what requirements I need to prepare.

March 2015 came and I was really nervous. A lot of people telling me that the Embassy of Japan is not really that strict anymore as they are inviting a lot of tourists for the upcoming Olympics in 2020. I still need to gather documents just to get the visa.

Related Article: South Korea Visa Denial – It’s Heartbreaking But Time to Move On

Requirements for Getting a Japan tourist visa without Income Tax Return

I applied for a Tourist Visa and these are the documents that I submitted:

  1. Philippine passport

  2. Visa application form

  3. Photo 4.5×4.5 cm or 2×2 inch with white background

  4. Original NSO Birth Certificate

  5. Original Local Birth Certificate

  6. Daily Schedule in Japan

  7. Original bank certificate(s)

  8. Credit card bank statement

  9. Confirmed plane ticket

  10. Certifications of being involved in Non-Profit Organizations

  11. Letter of Explanation

I don’t have any Income Tax Returns to show but I submitted certifications of being involved in non-profit organizations and a letter of explanation. In the letter of explanation, I explained my interest of going to Japan of being so fond of anime, fashion, and its culture. I also explained why I don’t have ITR to show and I told them how active I am as a volunteer, which is traveling with a purpose.

Related Article: How I Wrote my Letter of Explanation for Japan Tourist Visa

I went to Friendship Tours here in Cebu and the handling fee is P1,200. It will take 5-7 business days for the visa. The next week after my application, I got an SMS notification from the accredited agency that my passport was ready for pick-up. This will be my first solo backpacking in a visa-required country.

Helpful links:

Requirements for Japan Tourist Visa: http://www.ph.emb-japan.go.jp/visiting/new%20visa/tourism.htm

Friendship Manila (accredited agency): http://www.visa.friendshipmanila.com/

I also wrote for Two Monkeys Travel Blog about my experience in Tokyo, Japan

7 Days in Tokyo, Japan

Japan Visa List of Accredited Agencies

  • UHI – Universal Holidays Inc.

  • Discovery Tour Inc.

  • Rajah Travel Corporation

  • Reli Tours & Travel Agency

  • Attic Tours Phils., Inc.

  • Friendship Tours and Resorts Corporation

  • Pan Pacific Travel Corporation

Source: Embassy of Japan in the Philippines

Frequent Asked Questions

How many days the do visa get approved?

It’s usually 5-7 business days. A reader named JB applied for a tourist visa at Reli Tours on January 12, 2016, and got a text from the travel agency on January 15 that his passport was available for pick-up.

What are the rules when it comes to bank certificates?

Bank certificates usually show the total balance + average daily balance of your account for the past 6 months. If you want your bank history to look credible, I suggest establishing first your account and maintaining a sufficient amount for a long time. – mrsbisinyo

How much money should I have in my bank?

During my first application, I showed PHP 90,000 (savings account and time deposits). During my second application, I showed PHP 60,000 (savings account and certificate of stock investment). At least you have to show PHP 50,000  in your bank account and it depends on the activities you can do in Japan.

What are the Guidelines for Writing a Letter of Explanation?

I created a separate blog post on How I Wrote my Letter of Explanation for Japan Tourist Visa.

What if a friend, a family or a boyfriend will shoulder my expenses in Japan?

The Embassy of Japan in the Philippines provided a link for the – Visa Section Information so please check the link.

I am a student, what requirements should I submit?

If you are a student and your parents will shoulder your trip, you need to show bank certificates, the Income of Tax Return to your parents and a letter of explanation about your purpose of the trip, a copy of your study load and school ID as a proof that you are a student.

How to Prepare for your First Solo Trip in Japan?

I created a separate blog about this and you can read this in – Preparation for your First Solo Trip in Japan.

What is your budget for Japan trip? – Japan Visa Without ITR

As a budget traveler, my cash on hand was US$500 or PhP20,000. Find out more about how I did it at – Budget Travel: 14 Days Japan with US$500 Cash on Hand.

How to Request Stock Certificate from COL Financial Philippines for Visa Application?

Please check out my blog about – How to Request Stock Certificate from COL Financial Philippines for Visa Application?

New Update: I got my Japan Multiple Entry Visa (2019 Guide)

You can check out this article now: How to Get a Japan Visa Multiple Entry Without Income Tax Return?

Originally published at: https://www.itravelrox.com/2015/04/02/getting-japan-tourist-visa-in-the-philippines-without-income-tax-return/

8
$ 0.87
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jelena
$ 0.01 from @Jeansapphire39
+ 1
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago
Topics: Japan, Travel, Visa

Comments

Sanaol ui! Kanus a pa kaha ko kaadto ug Japan ba Kang mglaag lng hehehe. Kdghn pud requirements sis mgdugo mn sd ato ilong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

o daghan requirements basta pinoy di kadali2 larga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao Ng mgpuyo na lng sis ui ky magsakit ako bangs ana

$ 0.00
1 year ago

puhon oi adtoa na. libreng mangarap :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana darating din yung time na mag ta travel ako pero hindi para mag work hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo travel travel lang :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing naman sis pwede pala yun? Kapag ba andun kana sa japan pwede ka kaya makahanap ng work dun at dun nalang din magprocess ng working visa??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

BAwal yan sis. dapat pag tourist visa, mag tour ka lang dyan. wag mag TNT. ang strict ng Japan, brutal sila sa mga nag TNT. may mga stories na ganyan di sila nice sa mga TNT. may legit naman na agency na pwede ka talaga mag work sa japan and they will help you process din working visa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago