Eating Bad Food in Spain

2 19
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago
Topics: Spain, Travel, Food, Holiday

For the first two nights we arrived here in Spain, we also dined out twice. It should be fun and enjoyable because we never eat a lot since covid times. Although the salad and potato was a great meal, the burgers and pizzas were not. As my husband told me, the beef meat is not correct and the hams and cheese used in the pizzas are so-so. But I went to the toilet 4x in a day already and so was my husband. You know, we always enjoy our home-made burgers and pizzas.

The next night, we chose another restaurant. The plates we ordered with its price are correct. But the French fries were not crazy. Spain is well-known for their tapas and some way of cooking is somewhat similar in the Philippines, more on oily and deep-fried. Knowing the Philippines was under Spain for 365 years but don’t let me discuss about history. I’m just saying we got some our influences from Spain especially with food. I used to eat oily and fried food in the Philippines so it shouldn’t be the problem in Spain. But not the case now as we had another several trips in the toilet.

Both have gas pains and I’ve been drinking hot coffee to help me for a relief. It was really bad I don’t want to move. I told my husband I missed our normal meals back in France.

My husband and I love to eat a lot when we first met in Thailand and during our times in Bali, Indonesia. We are so critical with food and we justify if the price is valuable on what we eat. We always come back to the restaurant and become avid fans. Knowing Thailand and Indonesia, they have the best authentic meals in their country you want to eat more and more. And my husband being French and being the cook in the family, French people love to enjoy their meals and they’re actually very critical.

Somehow, my stomach and my tongue have adjusted to a French palate. My husband and his parents do not cook food with too much oil, too much salt and too much sweets in the preparation (unlike the Filipino way of cooking). So we have salt and pepper in our table to adjust the taste according to your likeness. I’ve been eating healthy in France, thanks to my husband for being a great cook and preparing healthy meals for us. 

Eating Now Back to Normal

Yesterday, we drive to a town 46 km away from us to find an affordable supermarket. It took us 3-4 hours to do our food shopping with the kids. Our son was with him riding the shopping cart and our daughter with me in the trolley. In between, I have to breastfeed her.

The product quality is not the same as France so my husband needs to read the label. That’s how critical and meticulous he is. Then we went to the cheapest gasoline station in town.

We went back home at 7PM and went swimming for 30 minutes. After long 48 years, I was able to swim for 6 laps. My son’s lips we’re shaking because he felt the cold while the daughter was just sleeping.

My son and I enjoyed ourselves in the bathtub while the husband prepared our dinner. Pasta, ratatouille, and chicken. The chicken was bad as the water got out of the meat.

No More Gas Pains

Since we are now eating back to normal, we are happy we don’t have gas pains anymore. At least what we eat for home-cooking is better than eating out.

FYI

I will publish some photos and update the previous posts once I can transfer the files on my laptop. 😁

3
$ 1.07
$ 1.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Sequoia
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago
Topics: Spain, Travel, Food, Holiday

Comments

I remember one time where my spiritual mentor who happens to be a foreigner serve us a pasta. And to be honest, para kasi talaga syang spaghetti and I love pinoy spaghetti. Ang ginawa ko, kumuha ako ng marami and nung tinikman ko na, halos masira yung mukha ko sa lasa huhu. Di naman sa hindi sya masarap. Di ko lang ma appreciate kasi bago pa sya sa panlasa ko eh. Tas expectation ng utak ko is lasang spaghetti sya na nkasanayn ko. Still, pinilit ko kumain tas maya2 pabalik balik na ako sa cr ahhaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha Yong spaghetti bolognese dito di naman typical Filipino spaghetti yong nakasanayan natin

$ 0.00
2 years ago