Writer turned to speaker: from the back to the stage

26 48

13 September 2021

I was never the type to speak. I am the type to prefer to work at the back, the one behind the scene, the one running some errands. I would rather do all the works, the paperworks, all the activity permits than have a participation to be one of those who will stand on the stage and speak, or the one who will face the camera and speak.

I hate recitation, I don't like reporting, and I don't have any confidence at presenting. My thoughts are haywired. For some reason, I can speak so fluently at my mind, I can compose nice sentences on my mind but when I try to voice it out, different words will come out from my mouth. Unorganized thoughts that I don't even know if it's understandable.

That's why I prefer to work at the back, to be in charge with other things other than speaking. I don't have the courage. It's not obvious but I'm really shy. I prefer writing, I know I can write somehow, but speaking, oh, my knees are trembling.

Last week, I forgot the exact date but I'm sure it's just last week, one of my orgmate who happen to be one of the coordinators of our organization's first activity this semester messaged me and asked me to be one of the speakers for the said event.

And me, not having the word "no" on my vocabulary answered yes without even thinking. Or I did some thinking and I was really nervous but I just can't say no.

The event.

Event Poster

One thing that comforts me about the event is that this is not really a formal one. As you can see on the poster, this is just a kamustahan for the whole marketing section at our college but it's main purpose is to welcome and gave the freshmen an idea about what to expect on our course, our college, and for us to share some tips and experiences from the previous years of studying at the university.

This is actually not that big but I was just really nervous. Every block section from 2nd year, 3rd year and 4th year was asked to have a representative who will have a 10 minutes talk for the event to share their experiences to the freshmen student. And as the block president, we're the one to be the representative of our block since we have extra experience that we can share than the rest of the class.

In short, all of us who are speakers are all students and it's just a 10 minutes talk but the nervousness that I was feeling won't go away. As I've said, I am not really good at expressing my thoughts through speaking. But since I already said yes, then fine, let's get over it.

The event happened last September 11, Saturday. I was the 2nd speaker and the 1st speaker is from the 4th year, one of my Kuya whom I really look up to. He's wearing a formal attire and he even prepared his own powerpoint presentation, and I almost dig up the ground where I am that time so that I can hide when it's already my turn.

He left such great impact that I didn't know how to follow that. I mean, I'm just me, I don't even know what I am going to say.

But here comes my turn and unexpectedly, words just seem to come out naturally on my mouth. Surprisingly, I managed to speak so clearly, naturally and most importantly, though it's not that organized, it's understandable and the whole 10 minutes talk goes smoothly. I feel like I'm not breathing while speaking but thankfully, my nervousness is not that obvious in the video.

And by the way, did I tell you that the talk is at zoom cloud meetings and we are also steaming live of facebook so that's another factor that adds up to my nervousness. I am just so glad right now that I managed to pull it off.

This is another thing that I made me so proud of myself for I was able to go out of my comfort zone.

The support and the feedback I got from my orgmates, blockmates, participants and other speakers are just so encouraging.

I know I still lack in many ways and if you'll ask me now, I still don't like speaking. But what happened the last time was surely a great and unforgettable experience for me.

Not a big deal, really. Just a casual 10 minutes talk but still, I made it, I did it. I'm looking forward to facing more things that will make me go out of my comfort zone.

And hey to you that is reading this, there are times that we will be forced to go out of our comfort zone, it's scary, yes. But trust me, it is worth the experience, it is worth the try. Just try and be surprised on how you can be able to pull off that certain thing.


Thanks for reading this far. I really enjoyed writing this one, words come out naturally from my mind and my fingers seems to have life on its own that it just started typing all these words that you have read and are reading.

How about you? Are there instances that you was forced to go out of your comfort zone? Mind to share it on the comment section?

:)

12
$ 9.31
$ 8.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Many times, buti nakaya i handle.. at alam ko naman na kaya mo yan eh...ikaw pa...may pambaon ka lagi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sus mommy haha. Kinakaya nalang talaga kasi naka oo nako e haha. Ganon naman talaga, kahit hindi sakin, we will never know if we will not try. Basta try muna bago umayaw haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Face your fear and you'll slowly realize that you are already over with the things that give you fear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti talaga kinaya! Bigla nga bumilis oras, parang kulang pa 10 mins. Lol. Tapos talagang nakahinga ng maluwag after ng talk haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha mabuti naman kung ganon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Biglang ang bilis lang pala ng 10 minutes haha. Grabe, sobrang nakahinga ng maluwag pagkayari e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mga tao talaga na hindi sanay in public speaking, but with right attitude, right mindset and also preparation, you can really do something for that. Congratulations for making the 10 minutes talk a meaningful and worth remembering event.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saka reliance to God! Just like when preaching, it's actually the Holy Spirit that is speaking. Praise God for that!

Thank you so much! Mukha naman silang nasiyahan sa pinagsasabi ko, sana lang talaga may napulot sila sakin na kapaki pakinabang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations mars. 🤗 baka ayan na talaga ang destiny mo. Goodluck. Ako kase takot ako magsalita sa madaming tao eh. Haha shytype ba. 😔😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako man din josmeyo grabe ang kaba. Last minute gusto ko na magback out! Hahaha pero nakaoo na kasi ako kaya sige, bahala na. Buti talaga kinaya!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Impromptu speaking was my strength hehe. Oo nakakaba sa first time but fulfilling at the end of the remarks hehe. Nice need mo tlga yan in the future. Malay mo naging guess ka sa graduation ng other schools hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sanaol! I can do impromptu too, I just lack confidence haha. Yung ang ganda ng sasabihin pag nasa isip palang tapos naiiba iba pag magsasalita na haha saka mukha kasi ako ewan magexplain. Ang bilis pumick up pero di maipaliwanag haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats! Takot din ako sa public speaking pero minsan napapasabak talaga sa mga ganun lalo na kapag reporting. Pero ang ginagawa ko nalang is nagkukunyari ako na hindi kinakabahan hahahaha. Parang fake it till you make it sabi nga nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay taray naols kaya magpanggap! Chour hahaha. Pero ayon nga, bilib talaga ko doon sa mga hindi halatang kabado e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congratulations.. you just faced your fear! ehehe ako din naman ayaw ko talga magface sa maraming tao.. indi ako confident in speaking na kitang kita ang pgmumukha ko.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Elementary graduation ata last time na nagpublic speaking ako haha e makapal pa ng medyo mukha ko non. Ngayon e ayoko na talaga pero buti kinaya hahahaha. Pag andon ka na, eitheir natural mo masasabi lahat o di kaya mabubulol ka nalang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon e ayoko na talaga pero buti kinaya hahahaha. Pag andon ka na, eitheir natural mo masasabi lahat o di kaya mabubulol ka nalang haha

hehe parang mabubulol ako..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

minsan ganon din ako. kaasar pag ang ganda pag nasa isip palang tas iba iba nasasabi pag nagsasalita na haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung time na ni forced nila akong gawing mc for our culmination, pero ayoko HAHAH sinabihan pa akong maarte nong isang teacher namin, kabwisit HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA ay grabe naman yon, di pwedeng ayaw lang talaga? Hahaha. Asar amp

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's no way in hell that I'm gonna do this kind of thing, charowttt wahaha. Seriously, kahit pa para sa mas ikakaboost ng confidence ko never talaga akong mapipilit na mag salita sa harap ng madla kahit pa sampu lang sila o lime ayaw ko pa rin, never. Wala akong confidence sa ganyan Marygoround. Si lanh magsheshaky shaky and tuhod ko pag ganyan baka himatayin din ako wahahaha. Pero buti ikaw nakaya mo, yiehhh keleg yarn for sure. Nangaligkig after the mahabang pagsasalita wahahaga. Start na yan Marygoround, soon mas masasanay kapa nyan 🤩💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayoko na ate! Hahahaha oks nako don. Baka ako e atakihin na chour hahaha. Ayoko talaga ng ganon, oks na sakin na alam ko na kaya ko pala hahahaha. Few years from now siguro kaya na haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhhh, para mga mas masanay kang mag salita sa harap ng madla. Malay mo magiging host pala ang destiny mo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay pass! Hahaha. Ilang beses palang ako nahaharap sa stage talaga. Sa mga play sa school or kahit role play sa class, ako lagi writer or narrator para di ako kasama sa mga nasa stage haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats sis, you are a certified speaker now hehe. Magiging confident ka na kaya mo. Minsan kase umaayaw na agad tayo kahit di pa natin naiitry...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman walang inaayawan hahaha. Thank you! Saka sus, simpleng talk lang yon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago