Sportsmanship in Education

53 50
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Education

Hey all. In this article, I will just tell you how we should view education as well as some of my personal experiences while studying.

Photo from Pixabay freely available at Pexels

Sportsmanship, as to what Merriam Webster defined it, is a conduct. Such as fairness, respect for the opponent and the graciousness in winning or losing. Competitions in school can be really tough. May it be the students themselves, and sometimes, their parents also.

There are just those types of student who always want to be on top, and I'm not saying that it's a bad thing, it's actually a good thing, to strive for more but it became so bad when we let this eagerness eat us up. When we can't accept it when someone did better than us.

Primary Days

I was never the studious type of student but honestly, I'm kind of competitive during my elementary days. Well, not the competitive type wherein I see my classmates as an opponent. Maybe it's more like the literal competition like MTAP, journalism, essay writing, and all those contests that you could imagine.

Aside from that, I used to be a top student and it may be the reason why it became natural for the people around me to expect me to be on top every time. And that's where the pressure build up. That's when I started to have the thinking that I should be on top because that's what is expected from me, and in that way, I can make my family proud.

I enjoyed my childhood days when I was in elementary but I guess, if there's one wrong thing that I did back then, it is the fact that I live based on the expectation of the people around me.

Junior High School

They say High School life is the best part of a student's life. It's where you can break free and just do every craziness that came to your mind together with your classmates.

I entered Junior High School and the pressure is still on. We live in a small town with only 11 Barangays and since we're already on High School, almost all of the students from different elementary schools enrolled on the same school as me since there's only limited number of high schools in our town.

I took an entrance exam to be part of the Star section back then and luckily, I passed. And here comes the real competition for every top students from different schools are gathered in one class. All seems to be used to be on top and no one wants to back down.

At the end of my 7th grade, I landed on top 9. Way lower than what is expected of me. So I was sad. 8th grade came, I was an awardee but not on top, I failed them again. 9th grade came and that's the happiest year of high school life.

I did break free. I was not on top and it's okay. Because that's when I realized that I am trying hard not for myself but for the people around me. I lose the top spot and it feels so good to study without expectations and pressure.

9th grade, I learned to skip classes. Just absent, I still never cut classes. Lol. I learned to cheat with my classmates on an exam, we have that so called cheating arrangement and when there's an exam, wonder pets is being activated.

10th grade, last year of my Junior High School and I'm completely free. I go to school without worrying if I'll get a high grade or not, I don't care, as long as I have a passing grade. And so my Junior High School days ended and I was awarded with Honors. This time, I was so happy to receive the award for I know that I did it to myself, I did it without stress, and I enjoyed the process.

Senior High School

This was the year when I finally moved in with my sister and her family that's why I have to transfer school. And I treated this as my clean slate. I'm far from our relatives eyes, there's no expectation so I can just study and chill. No pressure at all.

And that's what I did. Of course, I still do study hard, only when there's an exam. I was just a normal student and I'm happy to be one.

2 years in Senior High School passed so fast. I finished high school with an award, without even burning my eyebrows. Lol

College Days

I'm still currently on college. Well, technically not because it's already our vacation. But I can say that right now, I am enjoying my college life. I don't focus on academics that much, I am just complying on every requirements and I'm just making sure to have a passing grade.

I don't want to pressure myself. Having passing grades is hard enough so I'm being easy on myself. Also, I am more active on other activities. I am an active student. I am the block president, I joined student councils and organizations and so far, I am learning a lot and enjoying the experience.


I didn't know learning could be this fun if only I didn't lose the top stop. And hey, it's okay to aim to be on top and to study hard for it. But we have to make sure that we are enjoying the process.

After all, education us a journey, not a race. Learning doesn't stop, it's a continuous process, a never ending journey. And while we're at it, let's make every step fun, worthwhile and enjoyable, shall we?

Let's practice sportsmanship in education, where we treat each other fairly, where we respect one another, and where we easily accept defeat and be happy for other's achievements.

Learning should be fun, and we can have that fun when we try to eliminate the competition and to just enjoy our journey, may it be our journey in school, or our journey in the outside world. Let's always try to be sport on our every learning journey.


hey all! thanks for reading. and as always, take care. :))

14
$ 5.46
$ 4.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.16 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
+ 12
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Education

Comments

Sana all nalang mare. Ako nung High School ako pachill chill lang 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

chill lang ako nung high school. absent nga ako palagi nung nag gr.9 nako ahahahahaha tapos ayon buti pasado lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hei. Umm i just remembered my educational life through your article. I was also a kind of student like you. I will also write an article on this. Thanks for this article which just took me to my past days 😥

$ 0.05
2 years ago

aww! you're welcome! gonna look forward for that article of yours. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They said when you're a teacher, you never stopped learning. It's true. Learning doesn't have its ending. You give lessons to the children, children learn from you, and teachers as well learn from the children. It's a lifetime activity. One of the characteristics of a human being is able to learn and understand.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I guess I found another teacher in here. Am I right, Ma'am? :) It is true. Learning never stops. So we should be really open to learn new things, to discover new things, for as long as we are living, there are really a bunch of things that we will learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, teaching is a noble profession. The only profession that makes another profession. We should focus on the quality of education we are to serve our children. In the later years, they will be the ones to pass on our teachings to the future generations.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very much true. Salute to y'all. I really have big admirations for teachers. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss senior high school so much! It's my best 2 years ever in my school life. Experiencing college through online class sucks. Hope we'll get back on face to face classes because it is much more fun. And learning should be fun.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

high school life is indeed fun. missing face to face classes too! it's a lot more fun than online classes. glad that I was able to experience college life on the campus even for just 1 1/2 sem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope that this pandemic will end in order to have face to face classes again, and I'll get to experience our campus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

if I may ask, are you a freshie? hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Incoming 2nd year college.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh nice. so sad, you haven't experienced the campus life yet. but let's keep hoping! I assume you still have 3 years to finish college. maybe our country can already recover from the pandemic in that span of time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have 4 years more because my course is 5 years. Yeah hoping for the betterment of our country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh right! you still got lots of time. let's just keep on hoping. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love sports as always.😍 I play volleyball during highschool and college, I started to engage myself to sports when I was an elementary pupil tho.

In college, I toke MAPE as my major also because there were tons of sports there and likewise its acad were just great, tho I not smart.😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

saw it on your bio. you're a volleyball player! I was an athlete too during my junior high school years. I used to play badminton but stopped when I transferred school.

so what's your profession now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I graduated as a teacher but unfortunately I was not able to teach for now because the rankings are still on going. Hoping that I may, sooner or later..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

claiming for that! applying on deped eh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes..😊 Kailangan ko na maging independent at tumulong na din sa parents.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got that. Atta miss independent!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, education is a life long learning. You don't stop learning. Everyday gives sevaral lessons. My high school years was the most joyful days in my life. You are amazing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

High school life is really the best! Heya thanks for dropping by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes this is so right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like games so I just watch them, I'm also not smart so what I always do when I'm studying is to write poems that I learned from my teacher.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. Nice. You really have an imaginative mind even as a kid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakaya imagination ko puro fiction story na nagagawa ko hirap ako i kwento sarili ko 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha masasanay ka din. Try mo paunti unti

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We did not have junior or senior high school back then. Guess I missed the best part of student life? Lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ofc you did not! You still went high school and it's the best part. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha well okaay okaay. And yep. The best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko, pasaway pala ko non. Nakurot ako ni maam ih tapos yung isa pilosopo daw ako sabi ba naman hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ako ba itong kinukwento mo? Hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala pasaway! Hahaha. Pasaway tayo. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah aminado naman ako jan. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di din ako makakatanggi. Leader ata ako sa kautuan dati tapos sa sobrang daldal ko problemado teacher ko kung saan ako papaupuin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha walang effect sakin un. Kaya nilalagay nalang ako sa harapan. Kahit sino kasi itabi sakin, nadadaldal ko . hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha same. Kahit saan iupo. Tapos kahit pinakatahimik katabi ko napapadaldal ko lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah easy peasy. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang sarap kaya makurot ni maam hahaha charot. pero ang pino ng kurot sakin. bawal yun e pero keri lang, uto din kasi ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me guess. Public school? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup yup! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah I feel you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Education is not a race, sana matapos ko na post graduate ko, para wala na akong maraming iisipin. pero, tinatamad pa now. hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Fighting. Matatapos din yaaan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was never active in sports during my school days, I was once engage in soccer football, it's my favorite ball game sport.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. I was an athlete on my junior high school years. I haven't been playing for years now tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Education carrier is best carrier in one's life. Just like you i was also competitive type of student from primary level to high school level.And each time I topped special in Junior high school and senior high school. Still now i am good debater of rank first in my region.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh nice! You really are smart po kuya. :p

Yesterday you learned "po". Now, kuya means older brother hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I share your opinion that studying is never finished. There is always something more to study. Besides, learning is fun and doing it honestly is our best achievement.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

learning is fun and doing it honestly is our best achievement

I love what you have said. Indeed, it is our best achievement. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago