Silly me, childhood memories.

58 765
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago
Topics: Childhood, Memories

I was just sitting, staring out of nowhere, thinking about what to write when I noticed the scars on my knees. It's funny how I can still remember every reasons for it. I was suddenly reminded about those silly days when I was still a child.

Looking back, I can say that I had the best childhood experience. Being able to play many street games, being surrounded with lots of friends and doing all crazy stuffs that a kid can do.

How about you? Can you still remember your childhood?

Photo from Allan Mas freely available at Pexels

Today, join me as I reminisce some of my childhood memories that I enjoyed the most. And oh, you can also find this article relatable and it can make you reminisce to your own memories as a kid.

I can still remember how bully I am as a kid. I actually don't remember it but my older sister always tells this story to us. She said that she hears me one time threatening my playmate that I'll hit her if she won't follow me.

"jojombagin kita dyan" my exact words as to what my sister says.

I was taller than kids my age back then so maybe I have the audacity to bully them. I also remember this one time when I was on my 3rd grade, I had a fight with my classmate and I choked her. I don't really remember why did we fight, she probably don't remember it anymore too and we're actually friends until now.

I am also kind of adventurous as a kid. I fear nothing, I see no risks. I can give my mom a heart attack if she sees how high I can climb the tree. And how I can play tag with my cousins on a tree. I can also hang like a monkey on the tree so that they won't catch me.

There's also a river near home and my guy cousins put a hanging rod on a tree so that we can hang in there then we will let go and let ourselves drop in the water. And my mom don't want me swimming on the river so that when she caught me, I'm preparing to run as fast as I can or else she will whip me with her stick.

There's also this one time when me and my cousin who's also my best friend are following our other cousins on where they are but it's slightly far so that when we saw a hand tractor passing by, we rode it and when we are about to get off, we have to jump since it won't stop. So my cousin jumped first and her landing is fine. And when it's already my turn, I ended up landing with my both knees. As I get up, both of my knees are bleeding and I got a huge wound on it.

I was on my 4th grade that time. It was also the time when I joined the girl scout. We have to sleep on tent and I want to cry as I wake up because my wound stick to my pajamas. Then I had to go hiking on the mud, and that includes crawling to pass the obstacles and I had to do it with my wound, but funny thing is, it didn't even hurt.

So yeah, a story behind my scars.

There's this also one time where I tripped my cousin and so he did the same to me and there, another wound on my knees. I went home crying that time with bleeding knees. Lol

I also had a near death experience when I was electrocuted by holding the electric wire. It was lunch time when we are playing jackstone on the terrace of my grandma's house. Then my cousin throw the ball of the jackstone too hard and it went to the roof of their house. The elf of my uncle was parked near the house so we climbed its roof trying to look where did the ball went. So I moved and I moved on the roof of the elf until I didn't notice that I was already on the edge of it. I almost fell down on the elf but I mistook the electric wire as a rope so I held on it. The moment I touched it, my other cousins jumped off the elf but while my other cousin, the best friend, is trying to get off the elf, my feet touches her shoulder so both of our bodies wiggled like we're having convulsions or like a seizure.

Good thing is that what I accidentally hold wasn't the live wire so I'm still healthy, alive and kicking by now.

I also have this scar on my right hand and that's the result of my laziness. It was lunch time, my mom is cooking fried rice (I don't know why we're having friend rice at lunch) when she asked me to buy an ice at the store. But I'm lazy so I told her to buy the ice instead and I will continue what she's doing. So mom, being so obedient to me (jk) followed what I said. I was mixing the rice when my hand accidentally stick on the pan. Ouchy. Then mom went home carrying the ice. Maybe my mom saw it coming eh? Because we used the ice to ease the pain on my hand.

One afternoon, I saw an ice bag and I thought I'll play with it but it's oily because what they put there is cooking oil. To remove the oiliness, I put boiled water in it, then I shake it and guess what happened next? It exploded in my arms. Burnt arm for me that time. I'm a genius, yeah?

I also have these fighting moments with none other that my brother who was also my mortal enemy. I was playing with my brick game when I saw him eating my big chunk of cheese. I was mad at him so I throw the brick game on his face and it broke. Then what he did is to throw the cheese to me. It his my eyes so I had a blackeye. Not from him, but from my cheese. Lol

I grew up close to my cousins and I am also one of the boys. I feel like if they can do it, I can too. So I do whatever they do and I go wherever they go. There's still a lot of memories I can remember but it's already too long so I had to cut it for now. Also, apologies for such an unorganized articles as this. I' just writing this based on whatever memories that is flashing through my mind right now.


These days, at a young age, kids already know how to use different gadgets and many of them already owns a phone. They grew up with YouTube and with different online games. Most of them doesn't even do physical games and activities and their only focus is on their mobile phones.

We only had a keypad phone when I was a kid and I can only play space impact and snake with it. Then there are brick games that we used to play too. I was also able to play with my cousin's PSP, gameboy and play station. But aside from those, we mostly played street games that is really enjoyable.

Back then, we were such a headache to our parents because of playing too much outside home. At lunch time, that's when we can hear our parents voice calling us to eat already. That's when their rapping skills would be revealed as they nag us about how we can't feel hunger as long as we are playing.

So here are some of the games that I made my childhood so fun and unforgettable.

Street Games

  1. Patintero

I have known this game as "harang-taga/harangang-taga" but it is more well known as patintero. If you didn't know this game, above video is the example of how this game can be played. Only that, we play on wider space because it's literally on the street. And we play more harder than the kids on the video because nobody wants to lose. At the end of the game, the losing team will have crawl on the ground and pass through the legs of the winning team.

  1. Marbles/Jolens

Photo from Anthony freely available at Pexels

We play this on the ground. Each of us that is part of the game will place an equal bet/equal number of marbles. Then we'll draw a circle then a box outside it. On the circle, that's where we'll place the bets and then we'll take turns on hitting the marbles with our pamato. If we successfully hit the marbles outside the circle, then it's already ours. We can also hit the pamato of our opponents and when we did that, their already out of the game and we can get the marbles that they already get from the game. (I suck at explaining this. Hope you somehow get it.)

We used to compete who got more marbles and we put it on an empty bottle of brandy.

  1. Teks/Cards

Photo from Everything Eric - WordPress.com

Its just cards with different characters from anime printed on it. There's a lot of ways to play this one and we used to brag if we have lots of it. We usually store it on a shoe box and it's truly something to be proud of when we were able to fill the box with lots of teks.

  1. Rubber bands

Photo from Kindel Media freely available at Pexels

We used to play "shoot the buwan" with it. There's one rubber band that we make the buwan (moon), then we go far away from it, then we just have to throw the rubber band and try to shoot it at the moon. We can also shoot it on other rubber bands and the rubber band will became ours if we do that. And if we successfully shoot it to the moon, then all the rubber bands that was thrown there will became ours.

Then we'll braid the rubber bands and that's what we use to play Chinese garter and we also treat it as jumping ropes.

  1. Hopscotch/Piko

Photo from Filipino Culture - WordPress.com

There's different kind or types of piko that we can play. We have this so-called Pikong Palda, Pikong Simbahan (the one on the photo) Pikong Posporo, Pikong Talisod and so on and so forth. This is really a fun game and quite challenging to play for it requires the player to have nice balance.


There are still lots of street games that we used to play like tumbang preso, luksong baka, luksong tink, baseball, doctor quack, tatsing, habulan, and so many games that I can't that I forgot to mention but it'll took me forever if I'll share all of it. So I guess I have to cut this off for now. I'm aware that this is already too long. Nevertheless, I enjoyed writing this article and I was just smiling the whole time remembering all the things that I have done and all the games I used to play when I was still a child.

For those that can relate, we had the best childhood right? I do hope that you enjoyed reading this article as you also reminisce to your memories.

Thanks for reading, and as always, take care! :)


Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Also, I just want to post my sponsor's block in here. They're already 10, just one more and the top 11 will be completed!

Thanks for the support, dear sponsors.

12
$ 14.87
$ 14.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 5
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago
Topics: Childhood, Memories

Comments

Nalaro ko lahat ng yun.hihihi..Natakot ako sa near death experience mo. Hindi naman ako ganun kaadventurous nung kabataan ko. Though may mga scars din ako na makapagpapaalala sa kakulitan ko noon.hihi..medyo boyish ako noon eh..haisst..sarap talaga balikan ang mga memories noon.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nangisay kami ng pinsan ko ih tapos biglang may pumutok doon sa poste nagspark spark tas nagfireworks pero matibay to, pumasok pa sa school nung hapon.

Boyish din kasi ako haha. Puro lalaki kasi pinsan ko tapos 2 lang kami na babae lagi kaming sumasama sa kanila. Ang saya magreminisce diba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haahha. Astig. Grabe nagawa mo pa ring pumasok sa school after nun? Siguro ako, ginawa ko nang excuse yun para makaabsent.haha. Same pala tayo boyish. Nagsusuot pa nga ako nun ng mga six pocket shorts.haha..nakakamiss talaga noon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grade 3 lang ako non. Di pa uso ang delikado hahahaha

Hanggang ngayon mahilig ako sa oversized shirts. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay same tayu..kakamiss ung competitiveness ng mga kaibigan at kapitbahay namin before..sa tabing dagat kami naglalaro before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awwe. ang nice siguro tumira malapit sa dagat. pero ayos din samin puro puno naman. nagfefeeling unggoy tuloy ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pit sa dagat. pero ayos din samin puro puno naman. nagfefeeling unggoy tuloy ako haha

hehe malapit kami both sa dagat at sa may ricefields so pag summer nasa ricefields and mga puno kami..pag di summer, sa dagat..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ayos. Ang saya lang talaga balikan ng kabataan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true ka jan sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best talaga childhood memoriessss wuhoooo. Hahaha. I can still remember kung ilang beses ako nahulog sa puno, nadapa(dami peklat ko sa tuhod patong patong 😂), sumemplang sa bike, nambaril ng kalaro, natusok ng pako yung paa, nasabit yun kilikili sa matulis na bakod, nasubsob at kung ano ano pa. HAHAHA. Elementary days, tiga capture pa ako ng teks, sakin na yon 😂 yung pag pose mo pag magjojolens hhaha, yung pag hampas ng malakas sa kalaro pag isa ka sa taya sa harang taga 😂, yung pag balance pag nagpipiko. Hays. Ang saya. Hahaha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nako pangbardagulan din pala to haha. Odiba ang saya lang balikan ng mga kautuan natin nung bata tayo. Lol

Ako din jusme apakadami ko peklat. Puro tuhod napupuruhan e haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa pa yung luksong baka kamo, natatamaan yung mukha nung tatalunan 😆😆 .. Saya talagaaa huhu..

Hahaha. Minsan kamo, may sugat pa ako sa tuhod, nadapa na ulit 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa luksong baka magaling ako dyan. kayang kaya hanggang ulo na nila hahahaha.

solid mga sugat sa tuhod talaga. mga malalaki pa haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patintero lang ang hindi ko nalaro diyan maree. Makitid lang kasi ang harap dito samin kapag sa kalsada naman maraming nadaan kaya hindi ko nalaro iyan . Pero sa teks ,jolen, rubber bonds magaling ako diyan hahaha pinagkakakitaan ko yan nung kabataan ko🤣 makikipah laban ako then kapag nanalo ako ibebenta ko sakanila hahaha. Sa piko hmmm hindi ko madalas laruin yan pero masaya 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako lagi tagabili kamo hahaha mauutak mga pinsan kong lalaki e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha mapera ka naman kaya okay kang sayo na bumili ng bumili 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoy hahaha we're not rich kaya. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah talo kita lahat jan! Hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tanggap ko yan. U the best e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wow. Salamat. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta ikaw ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay huwow. haha marunong na. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

konti pa, matututo din haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha cge. Libre naman training mo eh. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga ih. haha. magaling pa nagtuturo. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy xmpree... dapat galingan. Para d mapahiya hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magaling, magaling. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaa alam mo yan. Hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi maitatanggi. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wag na kasi itanggi. hahaaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi naman tumatanggi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako marunong maglaro ng teks🤣. Ang kaya ko lang sa teks yung mag aapir haha kasi madali pero yung parang ipapalipad Yung teks di ko kaya 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Magaling ako don, sa pagpapalipad lang pero lagi ako talo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha pero sana all magaling🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iseminar na ba kita? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sige🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are the good old days ❤. Nothing can really beat the fun that street games can give to the children. Natawa ako dun sa "jojombagin kita" HAHAHAHA.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hindi ko nga din alam yang jombag nayan pero lagi kinekwento sakin ni ate ang siga ko daw nung bata hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang kyuutt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako lamang ito. Charot haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

one time threatening my playmate that I'll hit her if she won't follow me. I had a fight with my classmate and I choked her.

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA 😭 ang hilig mo sa bardagulan ng bata. Kayo yung masarap pag awayin tas papanuorin lang kayo ng matatanda HAHAHHAHA I–

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hanggang ngayon pangbardagulan ako charot hahaha. Yung kuya ko saka ako ayon lagi kami nagbabatuhan or paluan ng kung ano ano. Lol

Pero ngayon kasi hanggang words nalang ako tapos pag asar sila ayon nababatukan ako. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMO! Akong ako 'nung maliit pa ako. Well, maliit pa din naman ako until now. HAHAHA! But, unlike you, masipag akong bumili ng yelo. Lagi kasing may pasukli si Mother Earth na piso. Saka wala pa si lil sis 'nun na pagpapasahan ko ng mga inuutos sa'ken. Hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Di kasi ako mautusan noon e at napakasipag ko ba hahaha. Lakas ng loob mambully ha kala mo malaking tao. Charot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ace player ako ng Dampa sa bisaya or rubber bands nong bata ako kaya marami akong rubber bands na braided. Hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Iba yung achievement pag mahaba na yung rubber bands tapos by 5 pa yung pagkatirintas hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw leader ng grupo pag nangyari yan. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leader talaga ko. Sunod sila sakin ih hahaha. Hala kaloko ko pala nung bata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have same games.. I say climbing is really dangerous but it give your muscles strength. I play your Marbles games as Benta game in our region and last one is Shend in my region we played with our neighbor girls.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I see no danger in climbing back then. There's a lot of trees in the neigborhold and it's normal for us to climb. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is nostalgic. I was also a bully when I was a kid but cried when get bullied to (laughs). I even got shocked by 220VAC too. Then I don't remember how many times I fell by climbing tall trees.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha! I never fall on trees tho. Good climber eh? Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well deserved scar for being a bully. Hahahaha 😂😂😂😂 But we had a very wonderful 👏 childhood. Memories upon Memories.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lol! On my defense, i'm not the bully who really hurts people. Actually, until now I am being called a bully but that's only for teasing. I guess bullying is my love language. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Oh I see. Did I just read your lines... bullying is your love language? Hahahaha. I love you already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You love bullies huh? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I do. Not the harmful ones though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep. definitely! haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago