Overcoming the Battle Within

12 39

This thing is for sure, that we all have our own battles from within. We all have these things that we are facing alone, things that only us knows. At some point in our lives, our enemy is ourselves. There are instances that our own selves is keeping us from accomplishing or achieving something so that we will reach a certain point where we have to fight our selves. And we have to win this battle.

This happened to me these past few days, or weeks rather. Actually it started during last week of March. I mean, I don't even know and I didn't even notice how am I fighting this battle within me.

I have lost interest to things and my procrastination worsen. I lose focus. I don't know how it happens but for some reason, I haven't been accomplishing my to do tasks, and I feel so unproductive. Then become more unproductive when I stopped making my checklist.

I feel so tired when in fact, i'm not really making anything.

But anyway, I have already overcome that period so allow me to share to you some tips on how we can win the battle within ourselves.

Just this week, I have attended a webinar about empowering through self ringing. That's actually related to our course but the word self-ringing hit me. A message wherein how we, in our course should think, study and act, but allow me to share to you my own version of it in relation on how we are going to overcome our battles from within.

How we should think?

I have listed here some of the things that I did, which I think is worth sharing and can be useful to you too.

  • It starts with you. This should be on our mindset. It is so hard to fight with ourselves, it is so hard to resist ourselves. I know how hard it is. And of course, it is so much easier to just sleep or lay in your bed all day than to do any tasks at all. But if keep on letting our lazy selves win, then nothing will work out for us. We can have support systems who can remind us to do the things that we need to do but unless we do it, unless we have the willingness to do it and enough willpower to actually start, we cannot accomplish anything. It has to start with us. Let's push ourselves forward.

  • Be your own motivator. It's actually related with the first thing that I mentioned above. It's good to know that we have our people in our back but if we don't have enough confidence with ourselves,'s if we don't trust ourselves, their efforts will go to waste. Because the moment that we stopped believing in ourselves, the support of others won't matter to us. So let us be our own motivator. We have people at our back who trusts us and supports us, let's not fail them just because we stopped believing in ourselves.

  • Remind yourself about your motivation, about why you are doing and why do you need to do those things. It is so easy to be demotivated when things ate not going the way we want it to be. And it is just hard to move forward when you feel no motivation at all. So whenever we feel this, we just have to remind ourselves about our motivation. We always have a purpose on why we want to achieve things, there's always a motivation behind it, so if ever that on our way to achieving those things, we've come to stumble on the ground, let's get up, remember our motivation, then just keep on going.

  • Small progress is still a progress. I know how frustrating it is to be unproductive, to have no progress at all. But sometimes, it's not always the case. There are times that our progress is so small that we failed to notice it. So let us pay more attention on the things we do and every progress, every accomplishments, even just crossing out the easiest thing to do on our to do list, know that it is still a progress, and it's a big and nice thing, to know that you are having a progress.

How we should study?

For professionals out there who happened to read this article of mine, well you can call this "how we should work?" Lol.

  • Make your to do list/checklist. I don't know if it's just for me but having to do lists or checklist, and as you check everything written on it one by one, it just hits differently. It gave me sense of accomplishment. Plus, in this way, i'm not missing anything. And by doing this, you can also include some time for yourself, not just pure study or work of course. If you think that every hour or two you need to rest, to watch a vlog, a kdrama episode, take a nap, whatever it is, you can include it on your checklist. This can help us track down our progress.

  • Finish what you have started. Another thing that's contributing on our piled up work is when we start something, then stop doing that something to start doing another thing. If this is working well and okay with you then fine. It's just that for me, I should finish the thing that I am doing first before moving on to another thing.

  • Avoid distractions. For instance, in my case, if I study in my room, seeing my bed, it makes me wanna sleep so if I really need to focus, I go to other places at home. noisecash and readcash can also be a distraction for me when i'm studying so as much as possible, i'm really trying hard to stop myself from opening the said two platforms. Distractions won't go away from us so let's be the one to adjust and move away from whatever and whichever thing that distracts us.

  • Don't forget to take a break. This is the most important thing. Always take a break. Non-stop work and studying can only worn us out. Let's not abuse our brains and body, take a break. We deserve it. But do note that work first, before rest, okay?

How we should act?

  • Self-discipline. Winning the battle with ourselves requires discipline. Accomplishing everything requires discipline. Doing things from our to do list requires so much discipline. We have to discipline ourselves so that our plans can be made possible. If we tolerate ourselves, our laziness, and if we keep on procrastinating, it will surely keep us from winning our battle.

  • Clear your priorities. Focus on goals, focus on priorities. There's a time for everything so it is important to set our priorities clear so that we would know what to do first.

  • Redirection. If you're also on a phase in your life right now where you just stopped doing anything or where you feel like you are on the wrong path, then do know that it's still not too late to take a redirection. Gather up yourselves then prepare walking again to find the right path for you.

  • Reward yourself. We deserve it, you deserve it. Let's reward our every efforts on our own ways. If buying foods or goods is what we want, then give it to yourself. If watching is enough, then reward yourself with time for watching. Whatever it is, let's not forget to reward ourselves for our hardwork.


And I see, this is too long already. It's been a while since I last wrote an article and i'm kind of a bit lost tonight. I guess a few days of absence made me Rusty, lol. Hopefully i'll once again find my niche in writing here.

Remember that fighting with our own self is hard but we have to try. To begin, and to be disciplined enough to keep on going until we have finally overcome what's going in our deep within.

Thank you for reading. Have a good day. :)

14
$ 0.94
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 7
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I have this line from The Purpose driven life posted in noise. "the truth will set us free, but first it will make us miserable," like you said it is a battle within, redirecting, correcting, and exposing our flaws. Great points you got here!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. I haven't really read the The Purpose Driven life book, but I was able to do the 40 days of purpose devotional, well, it was inspired by the book. I really did learn a lot from there and from Pastor Rick.

Anyway, thanks for dropping by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:((((((((

it feels like this article was made for me :(( hmmm?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it'll work. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I've experienced lately I'm so unproductive, I always felt tired even not doing anything and its not good on my studies. That's why I like your article because it gives me an idea on how should fight those kinds of problems .Thank you so much for writing this kind of topic I learned a lot from it. Keep writing

$ 0.02
3 years ago

i'm glad you find this helpful. I can see that you can relate coz i'm also a student. it's just really hard but we have to move and fight ourselves. yes, you can do the above things to fight whatever that's within you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And finally your here at keat nalampasan mo mga pagsubok na yan at muling nanumbakik ang kaligayanahan mong gawin ang mga bagay bagay na ito ,naway ipagoatukoy mo lamang ang anumang nasimulan mo at naway matupad .mo din lahat ng mag mithiin mo sa buhay. Ako hindi ko alam kung magpapatuloy pa ako since hindi naman ako naaalis sa spam section at si napapansin mga article ko siguro hindi ito para sa akin kaya ikaw magpatuloy ka kang kasi nakikita ko mamn na para sayo talaga ito.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

thank you Ma'am. :)) well, it depends sayo. the platform won't go anywhere naman. just try writing when you feel like writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice. Its really hard to fight our own battle. Recognizing what our battles are will make it easier for us to motivate ourselves. This is quite a nice advice and the list keeps me motivated to be more active in self improvements. Everything that is happening within our insides is our own responsibilities. Fighting!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

thank uu! yes, fighting! hahaha, eme eme laang talaga to e katamaran lang talaga kalaban ko tapos hirap paglabanan uwu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fighting with self is one of the hardest thing to do, but it will always be a choice, meaning you have a control on it. I am glad that you have attended a seminar that enables you to go back to track again. Really, support system is needed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly! Thank you so much for your insight. And yes, the webinar has really given me a self-ringing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago