No choice? You always have one!

17 38

“Life is a matter of choices, and every choice you make makes you.” —John Maxwell

I bet that we have already heard of this quote, or of this phrase, that life is a matter of choices. As I think about it, truly the things that are happening to us is a result from the choices that we have made. Indeed, just like John Maxwell has said, every choice we make makes us.

But what if we are left with no choice? What if we lost our liberty of making a choice because we don't have one? What can we do then? What will happen to us? Should we just go with the waves and let it takes us anywhere?

Is it true that sometimes we just don't have a choice? Have you been in a situation where you don't really have a choice but to do that thing? What if I tell you now that what you think didn't actually happen. You think that you have no choice but i'm telling you now, you have a choice, you had a choice, and you will always have one.


Photo from Pinterest

Personally, I have come to a situation in my life where I think that I was left with no choice.

To tell you a short story, I already mentioned before that I am a Business Administration student, but this is really not my first choice. What I wanted in the first place is to take up Accountancy but I wasn't able to pass the qualifying exam so I felt like what choice do I have but to study a course that is business related so that my 2 years that I spent in Senior High School specializing in Accountancy, Business and Management won't go to waste.

But as I think through it, as I look back, I saw that I did have a choice. If I really wanted Accountancy that much then I can go study at a different university. If I really want to study at my current university I still have my second course choice that is Psychology. To cut the story short, the point in here is that there is always a choice, it's just that the choices that I had are not the choices that I wanted.


Going back to my topic, do you see the photo that is attached above?

At first glance, what we can see is a way. Only one way. There is no other way but to go straight. There is no left or right. No A and B. No choice at all.

But if we will only look closely, perhaps deeply, I can tell you that there is other way. There is a choice.

Look at it again. The view is to move forward, to go straight, but we always have the choice to go back, only that going back means giving up.

For me, that road signifies our choices whether we are going to move forward or backwards. But who would want to give up right? So what we usually do is to follow the road and to just move forward thinking that it's our only option.

So now, let me tell you, going to that road means that you are fighting. And i'm glad that you chose to fight. I'm glad that you continue to move forward without even considering the idea of going back, of giving up.

I am proud that despite all the uncertainties, doubts and worries, you still chose to move forward. You gathered up your courage to move forward to that scary road without even having the idea of where you are going.

But look at the photo again, did you see the curve? It means that there are times that we feel like we are just walking to a pointless direction, but then we are wrong. We have yet to discover what's with that road unless we keep on going.

Maybe as we keep on going more choices will unveil. Maybe we just have to walk, and walk, discover the road, enjoy our journey, and see what's that road can offer to us.


May you be reminded through this article that we always have a choice. It is to give up or to keep going. But I am hoping that you will keep on going and won't give up. Let us move forward and not backwards. And I assure you, as we move forward, we made the right choice, that is yet to unfold.

=)

10
$ 5.33
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 1
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Oh, I thought you were going to say, "If you look closely, you can see that you can get off the road and make your own path." 😂😂 However, your metaphor was good too! Motivational!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thanks for dropping by. I haven't really thought about what you though but it makes a lot of sense. I actually love it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah tama we have always a choice, at iniisip ko na nagayon kung nagpapatuloy pa ba ako sa read cash o hindi na, and dahil dahil siguro feeling ko walang pumapansin sa mga sinusulat ko kasi nga di siguro sila interesado oh dahil di rin ako nadadalaw ng ramdom givers or WALA man lang nagbabasa nito , pero sabi ko sa una Lang naman siguro ganito since bago pa lang aq at nagsasanay pang magsulat at sana nga di tuluyang maging spam para naman magpatuloy kayo aq sa tuwid na daan.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Hope you'll keep going. Medyo yung simula ko dito wala din talagang pumapansin sa mga sinusulat ko. but ayon, sulat lang and I think im getteing better day by day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Luhh, nahihiya ako mag comment masyadong seryos ang topic dito 🙈. Hindi kasi ako seryosong tao at saka choice kong hindk magseryoso para happy lang.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

ahahahhahahahaha o ayan basta napasok choice hahahaha. wag ka mag alala ate parot, dehins din ako seryoso chour hahahaha panlinlang yan lang artikols ko hahahhdsga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We always have a choice. As I also read in a book, "Promises are meant to be broken. But everyone has a choice for not breaking it." Also my professor says "If you fail to plan, you plan to fail." We all have a choice. To do nothing or to do something. Let me do an article about my whole comment about this. 😁 Hopefully I was able to share some thoughts that I have 😅 it's just that I don't know how to create an article and manage my ideas in a writing 😅

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Please do so! Sure, write an article about this too. If you need help or have any question, drop me a dm at telegram or twitter, or you can ask me here or at noise. Anywhere! I'll be happy to help. I have the same username in here as to all those socmed accts that I mentioned. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Another good one from Mary the Wise. I like the positive outlook this article and you have. I'm glad that you can look at such things with affirmative attitude.

Looking at it from a pessimistic point of view, you may have a choice in every situation, maybe 2 choices as you indicated, it may seem that the choices are just there and the decision is all on you, but what if those choices laid in front of you are not the ones you would like to make? What's the point of having choices if neither of them would make you glad that you chose one? Or are the choices even real? Or it's just the illusion our mind creates?

Lol and before I spiral deeper into misery let me say I agree with you. I believe we always have a choice. As we say in programming, the outcome may be the same but there is always another way to get there.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Just like what I experienced, I had the choices, but those are the choices that I don't want or like at all. But having choices like that doesn't mean it's a wrong choice or a bad choice. I think part of life is that not all the good and right choices are the choices that we like. So it is possible that we will choose a path that we don't really like but we have to continue to move forward. Until the choice that we chose finally made sense to us. Or I am not making any sense at all? Lols I don't even know what i'm saying anymore. Hope you'll get me haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. No worries. I get you. :) I understand what you're trying to say and everything you've said made sense to me. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahahaha thank God you get me. I just can't explain what's on my mind most of the mine. Maybe that's because I do have a lot in mind. lols

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha yeeep. Understandable. Especially girls. You really do have a lot in your minds. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, we have choices in our lives, and moving back is afterall a choice. May we be guided by the Lord for our choice, for it to be the best one.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Amen to that! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is a phrase that says: "if lemons fall from the sky you learn to make lemonade" while you have no other way, continue on the same path. The farther you go the more chance you will have to find another direction to go.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I haven't heard of that phrase yet, and it's nice. Thank you for sharing it! And yes, I agree with you. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago