Mistaken Intention

17 53
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

I spent almost half of my childhood at the custody of my sister and my brother in law. Ever since I was a child, I remember spending every summer vacations, Christmas break and every break that I can get from school with them.

They are basically the one that raise me up. They are a big part of my childhood and what I am today, they have a big contribution on it.

Specially my brother in law. This article is all about him anyway.

Photo courtesy to ParentMap

We are not really close but today, I just realized how I am so blessed because of him.

He's kind of strict. He's also choleric so when he said to this, we should obey quickly. He's also loud, it makes me irritated so many times. He's impatient. These are all negative because he's not perfect.

Before, I fear his word. I obey what he says but I obey out of fear. I don't really like what I do. What I know is just I have to obey him.

I remember that when my friends asks me about my brother I always answer that "he's nice but he's strict".

Since I am living with them, I have to obey. We don't have an officially written house rules but we do have a lot of spoken house rules. So so many that it makes me so angry at him so many times.

But as I grow older, I slowly realized that what he's doing is just for my own benefit. My fear for him slowly turned into respect. Now, I obey because I believe in him and I respect him.

He now gained my respect, the respect that he deserves.

Before, at such a young age I wonder why do I have to always do the dishes. Why do I need to clean the house? Why do I need to cook the rice? Why do I need to wake up early? There are so many why's that I don't know the answer.

At a very young age I was taught to do household chores. I was never a morning person but I have to get up early. And like any other kid, I was always forced to sleep during afternoon.

It made me cry when every time I have to eat vegetables, it made me to almost vomit because I can't even swallow those veggies.

But what happened from before are slowly making sense now that i'm older.

Now, household chores are so easy to do for me. And whenever I go to different places or have a sleepover or visit to a different house, I have the proper etiquette.

I know how to show courtesy. Until now I still don't like vegetables but I can eat whatever it is that is on my plate.

Before, we need to eat whatever it is on our plate. When our foods is vegetables, I have to get that on my own or else my brother will give me so many vegetables. Whatever food it is, as long as it's on our plate, no matter how full we are, we have to finish it.

And until now I have that in me. Whenever I go, whenever I eat, I make sure to finish my foods. We shouldn't waste food after all. There are so many people who starve, it's tattooed in my mind so I was always reminded to finish my foods.

As for the part where I had to wake up early, it's because it is required for us to tale meals together. And I now realized how important it is for a family.

We have such fun time having meals together. It is so essential for better communication. Through meals, we were able to talk about things. To look for the well being of each other. We have so much bonding during meal time.

I think my narration is quite vague so here are my final thoughts.

As a child, we may think negatively of thinks that the elders are are trying to make us do. Sometimes we don't like those things. We don't get the reason for it but as I grow older, as we grow older, slowly we'll realize that it is for us. It is for our own benefit.

Because that's life. Sometimes, we may think that what's happening is so unfair, but let us remember that all those things happen for a reason.

As for my own experience, maybe I learned the hard way from my brother in law but I still learned. And without him, I wouldn't be the person that I am today.

Through him I learned to value foods, to value quality time, I learned to be independent, to give courtesy, to give respect for others, to do things my own, to do household chores, and so many things. Too many that I can't list them all.

So, some things might not make sense now, but in time, all will get clearer and you'll see the purpose for everything.

I don't really talk much with my brother in law but I really appreciate him. Now, everything makes sense and I can't thank him enough for that. I am now more than ready and prepared to go outside our home, to go out of my comfort zone because I was trained by the best. He's more like a father figure rather than a brother for me and I really really thankful for him.

-

So hey guys! I don't know if what I've written above make sense but that's just my realizations.

So lately, I think @TheRandomRewarder is offline. We are not getting tips from him and I have seen some user here that loses their motivation to write because of the absence of the bot.

I don't really have much but I decided to have a mini giveaway hoping that I can cheer up even a small number of people.

So here's what you have to do to join the giveaway.

  • Just comment some of your realizations wherein what you think that doesn't make sense before has made it sense now. (Just like how I shared how I hate my brother's way of disciplining me from before but I now realized that it's for my own benefit).

  • I'll give $0.20 to the first 1o who'll share their realizations on the comment section.

  • I'll still give token of appreciation after the first 10 comment until I have something left to give.

-

I hope that you get what i'm trying to say here. Cheer up, people! :))

12
$ 5.97
$ 5.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.01 from @MicroReylatos
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Comments

Noon, palagi akong nagdadrama pag pagagalitan kami or when my parents spank us. Iniisip pa nga na lumayas ihhh pero hanggang imagination lang yon HAHAHAHAHA. Tapos na realize ko lang ngayon na it's for our own good. That's how our parents show their love and concern. They discipline us so we won't grow with bad attitude, so we will learn that what we did was bad. I'm so thankful ❤

$ 0.20
3 years ago

diko naman naexperience mapalo hahahah pero ayon ganon siguro talaga. they know better, maging masunurin lang tayo. In the first place, God told us in Ephesians 6:1 to obey our parents for it is the right thing to do. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Napaka walang kwenta ng comment ko kasi ayoko mag drama ngayon🤣🤣🤣🤣 Alam mo ba, I can still remember how my childhood life to become like this now, we always got hit on the butt using the bamboo stick. My father always making one because one of my favourite hobbies is to hide every single stick he can use to hit us. We are also one call away, in a simple whistle of him, we need to gather in one place as fast as we can. I really didn't enjoy playing with my neighbours because we are not allowed to go outside🤣 That's why I'm a really introverted person before🤣 Like you, sleeping in the afternoon but it is really hard to sleep right?😂 The Househoold chores uhm, if u can go to school at ur own in the age of 7 you must know how to cook rice using the kalang de-kahoy🤣 and before you graduate at elem you must master how to cook different simple dishes like shinigami, adobo, prito, paksiw, binagoongan at pinakbet. I'm the best chef now and a very responsible and independent person. Thanks for their guidance

$ 0.20
3 years ago

hahaha I was like that with Kuya naman. josmeyo naririnig ko palang busina ng sasakyan napapatakbo nako para magbukas ng gate. pero ayon sa pag uurong lang ata ako naging expert kasi halos puro prito lang kaya ko iluto. and ayon salamat talaga sa paggabay nila. kahit ang hard minsan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Letting go of my dream to be an accountant. During my freshman year, I was trying too hard to stop myself from being envious of my friends who are taking that course. It is because I thought when I choose a different course, I might not be on the same ground where they are standing. Thank God, I have various learnings from that. This opened the door to my real purpose at this age, and I found my authentic self.

$ 0.20
3 years ago

I'm glad that you already found your purpose. I actually had the same dream and I must say that it's not easy to let go of that. But yeah, i'm happy on where I am now. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember that my mom grounded us to use phone every noon and now, it makes sense even I can't understand her true intentions. Of course, I cried (until now) but I realized that it's for the sake of our health even I can't still move on. But because I'm a bad example, I still use my phone every night ahahahha

$ 0.20
3 years ago

Haha nako bahala ka. I always use gadget dati ayon, anlabo ng mata ko ngayon. Actually mas malala pa nga paggamit ko ng gadget ngayon haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am angry!!! Two whom??? Is it a person?? An animal?? Guess it!!!!!

I fell bad for my son, I thought he have still a milk!!!

Im confident because i know theirs still one pack left!!!

But suddenly, i was shock!!!

What happened???

I was angry!!!

Knowing that the milk i am talking. .. Was ....

Biten by the mouse 🐀🐀😡😡😡😡

That milk wasn't ordinary!!

Thats why ai am very angry!!

How i wish i can get that mouse and kill it😡

Huhu i wasted money again!!

I need to buy for another one😥😥

Im sorry for being over reacting Buy if u know my story or if u read about it already

You will understand that i don't have that much money anymore!!

Thats why i was really furious!!!

I wish that would not happen again 😥

Maybe i will put the milk on a box that the mouse cant open or bite anymore!!

Lesson learned again for me😥😥

I hope u wont get angry to me!!

Thats realy a lot to me!!

Then i came up to my mind its all my mistake i was not careful enough I dont mind of those things i keep On using cellphone Thats why now im careful enough Having time to my child to our thing s or our needs..

I dont know if it make any s mce but still i learned a lot in here...

Thank you and Godbless dear ..Im MissGenerous i hope u still remember when i let u read my article abot scam🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good that you have had the guidance of your brother who taught you discipline because that today leads you to be more organized in the things you do.I wish I had a brother who will support me in these things, or sister.

I can tell you that the greatest achievement I have had is that being alone in this world without family or siblings, and without having any profession for not having an academic degree, he managed to survive since more than 20 years ago, even though my parents passed away about 8 years ago.I dedicated myself to finding the means through the digital world to learn how to earn money. And after living many experiences that of course I will tell in my publications, it has reached where am I, found this magnificent platform or meeting people as great as you and connecting with the people of the Philippines and the great # Club1BCH. They are very great people and it changed my way of seeing and the opinion I had about the people of the Philippines 😍.

This is a summary of my experiences and what I can tell, because if I start to detail each one of them, I think I'm going to make a book of more than 1000 pages 🤣, and the truth is I don't want to bore to nobody.

$ 0.20
3 years ago

My dad actually passed away when I was still young. I have four older brothers but this brother in law of mine is the one who really taught me a lot of lessons. He was hard, yes. But if he's not that hard I guess I won't learn a thing because all of my siblings including my mom spoils me. Haha

Anyway, what a great comment you leave here, sir. You have been surviving for such a long time now and you nailed it. It was also nice meeting you in this platform. Indeed, I agree with you. There are so many amazing people in this amazing platform. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

while you had this experience with your bro in law, the same thing happened to me with my mother. I didn't understand why I have to wash all our clothes and do household chores by myself, she was actually training me to become a better person and to be a good wife someday.

$ 0.20
3 years ago

When we were young maybe it's just like that. We are so sensitive with everything and we feel like being punished with all those household chores. And when we got older, that's when we appreciate all of that. And really, thanks to all those people who trained us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kuya din po ako ng isang lalaki at dalawang babae na nakakababata kong mga kapatid. Masasabibko na medyo strict din talaga ako sa kanila na katulad din po sa kuya mo, and I think I have the mindset that your kuya has po kasi gusto ko din talaga matutunan ng nga kapatid ko ang nga pagkakamali at mga mali na napapansin natin; na kahit hindi ko man magawa at maibintang man nila sa akin ang mga ito atleast nalaman ko na nalaman nila ang mga maling iyon. Sapat na po sa akin yon bilang kuya. 🥰✨

$ 0.20
3 years ago

Salamat sa pagbabahagi ng karanasan mo. I may be older than you pero bunso kasi ako samin kaya hindi ko talaga naexperience yang bagay na yan. And hanga ako sa mga kuya/ate na katulod niyo. Hindi madaling magguide ng mga nakababatang kapatid saka minsan pa nga, talagang pakiramdam ng mga nakababata e pinagmamalupitan sila. :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True ate HAHAHAHA, lalo na po yung susunod sa akin na 2 years lang po ang agwat namin tapos lalaki pa. Madalas nakakalimutan nya na pong may kuya syang cute char HAHAHAHA, Btw, Thanks po sa pa-giveaway. Keep safe ate! 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahahah lmao. you're welcome! haha diko talaga naexperience yan. yung age gap namin ng kuya ko na sinnundan ko more than 6 years ata haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago