Holy Week Special: A Recap

18 25
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Hey there folks! Greetings to all of you.

How was your holy week? Anyway, this is just a life update on what happens during my holy week. You are free to leave this article if personal experiences doesn't interest you. :)


Before the pandemic, nothing that much really happens to my holy week. I'll just probably enjoy it and treat it as a break from all the academic stuffs. During holy week, my sister and her husband will probably attend the International Cell Leaders Summit (ICLS, a convention from our church) so I will have to take care of my nephew during those days.

My holy week this year was so different from my previous ones. Let's get into it now.

I searched on the net and it turns out that holy week started last March 28, 2021, Sunday, and it ended on April 3, 2021, Saturday. I didn't actually know that. Honestly, all these years, I thought it's Monday-Sunday.

Anyway, we had a Holy Week Break on our University from March 31, 2021 - April 2, 2021. Classes just resumed today, April 5, 2021.

We may have our break but I don't think it's really a break. During Monday-Thursday, I still have to work on my requirements for I will be left behind if I won't. They are just too much and overwhelming that's why despite the given break, I wasn't able to actually use that. It buys me time, yes. But not really a break.

Good Friday came and it's finally time for a little relaxation. It was just a simple chill day for our family. All of us just stayed at home the whole day. On morning, we had our breakfast then we just cleaned the backyard and did some gardening. On the other hand, while cleaning, my brother in law set up our inflatable pool so by after lunch, we just enjoyed swimming in there.

We finished swimming at 4 pm then we had burger and iced tea as our snacks for that day. Simple yet relaxing. That's how I can express how my Friday went.

Saturday came and it's back to normal. Our store was open again and since it's weekend, like any regular weekend, I did go to work at our store and it's kind of a busy Saturday for me.

And here comes Easter Sunday! As a Christian, we are celebrating this as the most important holiday. We sometimes refer to that as a second Christmas because it's the time when Jesus Christ was resurrected from the dead.

Anyway, this is the most enjoyable part of our holy week.

I woke up very early in the morning that day. Before 6 am, I am already prepared. We have our plan no plan that day. By plan no plan, I mean we did plan to travel but we don't know yet where we are going.

So before 7 am, we already left home. The initial plan was to go to a tourist destination on a different municipality just here in our province. Before we actually proceed there, we stopped by at the house of a relative on that area and we had our breakfast in there. We also watched the online worship service from our church in there.

At 10 am, we are again ready to go so we then proceed to the tourist destination. It was at the top of the mountain so the view was really breath taking and refreshing despite the heat.

just our group photo. and yeah, we bring our dog with us hehe

We just stayed there for almost an hour. We took a lot of photos and we just enjoyed the relaxing view from above.

At 11 am, we leave the place and move on to our next destination.

What's next anyway? Well, what we did next was unplanned. We just found an open resort at the other municipality. It's unplanned in a way that we don't really know if it's open. But we are still prepared since we were able to bring our swimming clothes with us.

By 11:30 am, we were able to arrive at the resort. And because it's unplanned, we don't really have food with us. What we managed to bring was a portable gas stove from the house of a relative where we ate our breakfast. We also bring rice from there. We just bough lechon manok for lunch then a lot of chips, bread and softfrinks for our snacks.

We had our lunch on the resort, then we enjoyed swimming for the rest of the day.

What I enjoyed there the most is the place itself. It was located between mountains and the water on the swimming pools is a fresh water coming from the mountain. It was so cold, so fresh and so clean. The water just falls continuously.

Sadly, I can't share a photo of the resort because I just enjoyed in there and I didn't really bother to use my phone at that moment.

But anyway, the plan no plan we have that day worked for us. Easter Sunday was a blast!


Closing thoughts...

I don't know if you can feel my happiness as you read this article of mine.

It was a holy week well spent, I must say. We didn't really have a long vacation but it was still enjoyable. During the holy week, I did take a break from writing an article and I tried to disconnect myself from my classmates and requirements.

I have been busy the past few weeks, good thing, I used the holy week as an opportunity to rest, to have a break and to find my inner peace.

What we did during holy week was just so simple. It's nothing much really. But we did enjoy it. Another proof that we don't need a luxury to be happy. Just a quality time with the people closest to your heart is enough already.

This year's holy week was indeed special. It was a blast and I did enjoy a lot. I hope that you also enjoy your holy week. Whether you spend it at home or elsewhere. I hope that you were able to relax during the past week. I hope that you were also able to take your break that we all deserve.

I guess I have to end it here. Thank you for reading this. I did enjoy a lot writing this for the memories are flashing on my mind. I hope you enjoyed reading it too.

Take care always, see you on my next article.

=)

7
$ 0.84
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 5
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Comments

Minsan talaga ung mga unplanned trips ang hindi drawing hahah! Ang dami nyo gumala ang saya. A blast indeed!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

aynako dyan kami magaling. basta may driver g lang, nakakarating sa kung saan. pero dati yun seympre before covid.

ang dami nga namin! puno yung van hahahha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah! Sarap talaga mag roadtrip ano.. Haayyy nkaka miss din sana matapos na ang pandemic 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes sana nga! pray lang. claiming 2 Chronicles 7:14!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hope all nakakalabas ng bahay Kahit quarantine, ako sick na sick na sa bahay. Kapag holy week sa amin Kahit wala kami non, pumupunta kami sa beach sa Pangasinan para I enjoy yung bakasyon. Sayang lang, kasi pandemic but it's okay though. Luckily, I can still enjoy the break.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And that's what's important. You, enjoying the break! Kahit saan naman magpunta basta ang mahalaga e nag enjoy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya pala president late ka nagsend ng video (pero mas late ako dahil sa manok)🤣🤣🤣🤣 hope lahat talaga nakakalabas hahhahahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahhahahahaha inserting peyk lap

$ 0.00
3 years ago

binili nga namin SM kamo diba

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you were able to enjoy your break, you deserved it, as you say. Moments where you just enjoy and forget about your phone is rare nowadays. If a moment is worthy of capturing it's never captured because you are busy indulging yourself, that's what I believe. :)

Cheers!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

If a moment is worthy of capturing it's never captured because you are busy indulging yourself, that's what I believe. :)

Indeed!

Anyway, thank you! hehe. I really did enjoy (minus the sakit ng katawan and pagod sa byahe lol)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha ayos na yun. Importante nag enjoy! Alaxan at Biogesic lang katapat nun eh. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is very pleasant to read the pleasant experiences of our fellow authors. Yes, as Christians, the holidays of Holy Week are used to rest and share with the family. They fill us with beautiful memories in childhood.

Once you become an adult and have walked a long way, if you are lucky, you will begin to question the traditions, seeing them from another perspective that can shake faith.

Everyone has the opportunity to make a wonderful trip, just be careful not to go wrong on the course of the road, hampered by futile but effective distractions. He seeks happiness in you, not outside of God's hand.

This is another way to be intimate with God on special days. Doubt what the world teaches you and seek the truth in it.

May Elohim bless you and keep your family together.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you so much for dropping by and for your insightful comment. May God bless you too and your family. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti ka pa talaga nakalabas at naka pag enjoy haha kame kasi wala eh since naka GCQ kame sayang naman kumain lng kame sa likod bahay then wala na hehe kagaya lng last year di rin nakalabas para makapag enjoy huhu

$ 0.02
3 years ago

As i've said, simple celebrations is enough. We celebrated last friday and that's enough enjoyment. Bonus nalang yung nung Sunday hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha tama ka jan sana kame dun maging ok na kahit late at leat makapag relax man lng gusto ko kasi mag swimming ulit😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all na lang me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mag two summers, one reason ka nalang dyan. lol hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago