We shouldn't fear negative assessment

0 15
Avatar for ideallife
2 years ago

People are sometimes ironic, weird, and hard to understand.

We tell them good things and they feel like we are having a good time teasing. We tell them bad things, then they retort. We don't give comment, and they wonder why we are so quiet. And so on... This is not excluding myself.

If we are not careful, we might find ourselves at a loss for this reality of life. It's not a single person's fault why this happens. We collectively create this kind of reality.

Therefore, it is up to each individual to brace himself for life's funny realities.

But most of all, we shouldn't fear negative evaluation of our characters, performances, and the like.

We should feel grateful if someone tells us what they notice about us. But warning is to not let the negativities get to us. We have to take them as challenges to improve ourselves.

On the other hand, we as evaluators of others shouldn't just say what we ought to say. We also have to be polite and courteous. We never know how our words impact others. It is always best to be an inspiration rather than a source of depression or sadness of others.

Ultimately, we really shouldn't take negative assessments negatively. It should be a tool for us to continue reflecting on ourselves. So that in the future, we become improved version of ourselves.

I remember one time before when we decided to collaborate for a research study. I was partnered with someone and I guess she was the one who did most of the work. My contributions, I postponed giving it until such time I felt like I never contributed a single thing.

Why didn't I contribute? It must be because of the fear of receiving criticisms for what I have contributed. I super lacked confidence. Thinking back. I shouldn't just have joined that collaboration in the first place if I wasn't contributing.

I contributed but it was mostly on the sorting of questionnaires and giving a comment or two when our leader asked questions. Well, let's just be good with that. At least we did not have absolute zero contribution. So that would be more than enough.

That research was published and it was searchable over the net. Whenever I look at it, I don't quite know what to feel. Should I be proud or not?

It's true, if you were not able to do your best, you aren't very much proud of something. I should have given my contributions even if those were to be questioned. Who knows, they may not have been. They may have had made the paper even better.

But no point talking about spilled milk, just the lesson from such experience.

Still, it is really a hard thing to deal with negative criticisms. There are stages to acceptance.

Very hopeful that society will promote positivity instead of retorting immediately to negative assessments.

It will be our collective effort that will bring forth goodness into this world.

So cheer up and don't let negativity get to you. It's time to rise and shine! Don't you think so, my friend?

Have a nice day!

4
$ 6.59
$ 6.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ideallife
2 years ago

Comments