Render me a song

0 24
Avatar for ideallife
1 year ago

It is early morning but, for some reason, I suddenly remembered a part of the past when someone sang me a song.

My kids aren't fussy as of writing time and are in a good mood. I, on the other hand, am quite nostalgic.

I was pregnant at that time. I was having headaches and was feeling sluggish. I was too tired and looked haggard.

My then-student volunteered to cheer me up. She promised she'll make me smile.

"I'll send you a song tonight, Ma'am. You'll be cheered," she added.

"Oh, I would love that!" I told her.

Then she sent me a recording of her playing the guitar and singing. The song wasn't familiar back then but I liked her rendition.

I wasn't so sure of the lyrics but it was after months after that that I searched for it.

  • 🔣 So when I'm all choked up
    And I can't find the words...
    Every time we say goodbye
    Baby, it hurts...
    When the sun goes down
    And the band won't play...
    I'll always remember us this way... 🔣

I listened to the original song and was surprised that it was sung differently by my student. I liked her song better. Though of course, the original is also a good one.

This has become very sentimental for me and the lines above are the ones that I remembered the most.

I would sing it when I feel a little down.

How time flies and Charene is now a college student. She was quite good with academics in her time with me at the senior high. She has now entered a BIG university and one that has a great reputation.

Whenever I see her on Facebook, I would think of her song and her rendition.

It will be long before I will be able to see her again. Hoping someday, we'll have a chance to cross paths and I would ask her to sing once more.

There were a lot of songs for me before but this one is different. It was all made special just because of someone trying to make me feel good when I was having it bad.

And do you remember those times in elementary higher grades or high school? We would have those slam notebooks or whatchamacallits.

I am already pretty old for that but I am thinking of writing out the song in a special notebook and keeping it on the bedside along with other sentimental notes, songs, or lines.

I guess we always have to find reasons in this stressful world to smile, be happy, and contentedly joyous.

We can always rummage into the past and see what we can remember they would make us feel good.

3
$ 2.61
$ 2.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ideallife
1 year ago

Comments