An early bird is a dead bird

4 17
Avatar for ichiiicarps
2 years ago

Time check: 4:56 am
I was asked to report at five in the morning sharp, no more and no less. Strictly 5:00:00, or else do not enter the office.


Of course, I was wiser than that. My boss needs to see how punctual I am.

image from pond5

The office was empty. Among all departments, I was the only one around, nobody on sight. I was expecting the productions team to be here but I guess I was wrong about the info.

My phone received a wifi signal, this is unusual. After that vibration that notified me, two telephones rang. 

I shrugged it off and did not answer. Who would call this early anyway? It's still dark outside. Daylight saving time, as they call it. The guards in the hallway are just probably checking stuff out. I was hearing weird noise but then I thought, maybe it was just my stomach, actually I ate at home but maybe there's something wrong with my metabolism. I look at the time, 4:58am.

*screech*
It's the third time that I heard that screeching sound, first coming from the back, now far in front of me.

Since I'm doing an internship in film production, props and mannequins are everywhere but mostly they were placed at the productions department. It's just now that I noticed we have one here, staring right at me.

image from fashiondaily


I was ignoring the frightening feeling I was having at the moment. "No, the stories aren't real.."

*screech*

I lift my head up, looking at the prop that seemed to be facing me. I stood up, "Hello?"...

I sat back down, with goosebumps all over me, I grabbed my backpack,"Okay!...I...I.... I'm leaving!" *screech*

The mannequin.

It's moving. It's walking, no, dragging. It's making a creepy sound I've heard before, yes, of course, the screeching sound was made by it. It's now half away from me. *screech*

I can't move a muscle.

*screech*

I'm going to be taken...

image from wallpaperflare

A flash of light pointed at my face suddenly, it's the guard, I almost thought the rumors about this office are real. I let out a sigh of relief.

I followed her and we went to the productions storage, the room was full of interns, "Wait, what?"

I didn't even expect I'd fit in there, she asked me to enter, looking at her decaying face I didn't notice she pushed me in and with a grin, she locked me up with the others.

I heard someone uttered from behind,
"We connected to your cellphone."
"We tried calling you, twice."
"We whispered from your back."
"The mannequin was our last resort."

The main door flew open, it's 5:00am at last. My boss was looking for me, and I saw him put on a grimace when he failed to see me.

We're here but nobody sees us. What is this trance? How can we escape from here? We have to wait for another intern to come and free us.

image from shutterstock

Don't be scared. Get us out of here.

______________________-end-________________________

Note:

Hello, read.cash writers and readers. I noticed most content creators here interact and engage with their audience by including personal remarks before or after their articles. Trying this out too I guess.

This was actually an unfinished piece of mine way back my internship days in college. This platform inspired me to finish some of my creative work. Looking at posting non-fiction content too, probably in the coming days or weeks. I'm liking it here so far.

Do comment down below your own fictional compositions, would love to read and start a conversation. <3

2
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for ichiiicarps
2 years ago

Comments

Reminded me of a lot of movies I watched with mannequins. Where is that company? I want to apply as an intern lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To tell you honestly, there is a hint of truth in this short story. I was really an intern there who came into the office too early. Let my imagination ran free is what happened next. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

got me imagining the mannequins! haha ..done well!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, in this case, your wild imagination did most of the work! hahaha :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago